Paramore
Brand New Eyes


3.0
good

Review

by David K. USER (1 Reviews)
October 7th, 2009 | 43 replies


Release Date: 2009 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Like finding gems in a coal mine, they are few and far, but they are gems after all.

The incredibly popular pop punk band Paramore is at it again, with their 3rd studio album. Floating on their cloud of popularity, they shower us with their catchy sound and lyrics that can really connect with their fan base.

The band was essentially formed in a private school where Hayley met brothers Josh and Zac Farro.
Bassist Jeremy Davis and Hayley Williams were part of a Funk cover band.

Here's the review.

"Misguided Ghosts" and "Careful" are among the best of the album. But for every good song, there is at least one song that can make you wonder about the musical integrity of the album. See "Playing God". The chorus for the song fails to impress, and it seems as if Hayley is trying to fill the time with saying the same thing twice. She spews anger and mixes it with poor lyrics, a very bad combination.

But others throughout the album have a nice personal touch to them. Songs like “The Only Exception”, paired with an acoustic guitar, are one of the best examples. The chorus is on the weak side though and dare I say it, is pretty darn cliché. But you can tell that Hayley is really trying to say something there.

"Misguided Ghosts", is a good example of what "The Only Exception" should have been. Fairly good songwriting makes it an easier listen than the aforementioned. The song is nice and simple, and really gets you. Everything about the song is right, the guitar flows with the song seamlessly, the vocals are soft and full of emotion.
Other notable tracks include, Feeling Sorry and Looking Up.
"Where The Lines Overlap" is a very upbeat and happy song, a song for when everything is going right.

"Turn It Off" basically points out how life works, and is worth a listen.
"Bring By Boring Brick" might as well have a title change, maybe just call it "Boring", don't even bother with this song. Again, the chorus is a huge part of the song for me, and this chorus ranks among the worst of the songs.

There's really nothing special as far as the instrumentation goes, with the exception of the drums. It doesn't mess with the songs, but it doesn't really make them stand out either. I guess I can't really complain, as long as they're better than that of Linkin Park's, then you're doing something right.

Overall, "Brand New Eyes" is definitely worth a listen, don't expect anything lyrically profound, but, expect to have a great time.



Recommendations:
Misguided Ghosts
Careful
Ignorance


Songs to skip:
Brick By Boring Brick
Playing God


user ratings (1149)
Chart.
3.5
great
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
MentalityOfA
October 7th 2009


1213 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I did notice that this is fairly short, but I will gladly take any suggestions into serious consideration, seeing as this is my first review.

Thanks.

mvdu
October 7th 2009


605 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

I think it's a much more consistent album than you do, but in regards to the review: it's good for a first. I think my first review was my worst one. The review is a little disjointed, but I get your main points.

IndieOut
October 7th 2009


498 Comments


i downloaded this by im not interested at all so it's just sitting on my ipod.

Douchebag
October 7th 2009


3624 Comments


I reckon Brick by boring brick is one of the better songs, but each to their own.

fromtheinside
October 8th 2009


18268 Comments


playing god is a good song, why do people hate it...

Digging: Tragedy - Vengeance

cirq
October 8th 2009


9264 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yep!

Thompsonhunt
October 8th 2009


279 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

decent review, especially for your first. meh album.

cirq
October 8th 2009


9264 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is a nice album bro!!

Asiatic667
October 8th 2009


4648 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

This album is like one of those toys that turn up in the cereal

ScorpionStan
October 8th 2009


1834 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

hayley's pretty lyrically profound bro. trust me...i have the special edition with the extended lyric sheets and liner notes about every single song. it's deeper that it sounds.

Asiatic667
October 8th 2009


4648 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I didn't mean they poor music or lyrics. I was simply pointing out that Paramore is like that kid at Blockbuster who can't find BRIDE OF CHUCKY

ScorpionStan
October 8th 2009


1834 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

nah i know, i was commenting on a statement in the review

AtavanHalen
October 8th 2009


17927 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This is pushing a four for me. Careful, The Only Exception and All I Wanted are really good.

taylormemer
October 8th 2009


4917 Comments


You could push 4 on your entire 3.5 section.

ScorpionStan
October 8th 2009


1834 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Yeah nice choices Atavan. Those are definitely the best tracks, along with Ignorance and BBBB. Too bad the rest of the album is so mediocre in comparison.

AtavanHalen
October 8th 2009


17927 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Not really. Most of them are like "yeah, this is pretty good" but this is like "man, I'm really starting to love this"

taylormemer
October 8th 2009


4917 Comments


Well, isn't that just convenient.

Douchebag
October 8th 2009


3624 Comments


I'd have to agree with atavan, starting to think this should be a 4, plus ignorance is just so damn fun.

ScorpionStan
October 8th 2009


1834 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

For me, the whole section from 'Turn It Off' to 'Misguided Ghosts' is like "Meh, this is really average." Fun, but average.

Idk...even if this record is more mature than Riot, it doesn't excite me like Riot did.

AtavanHalen
October 8th 2009


17927 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

=(, are you just picking on me for shits and giggles? I don't mind at all; just checking.

I like Misguided Ghosts a lot. I do agree it's a more mature record overall, though.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy