Blink-182
Enema of the State


1.0
awful

Review

by blinkgreyhope USER (2 Reviews)
October 4th, 2009 | 115 replies


Release Date: 1999 | Tracklist

Review Summary: The holy grail of pop-punk explains a lot about an increasingly disappointing genre.

Pop punk is a genre that has continually annoyed people for over a decade now. Starting off, as the ethos goes, with Green Day's Dookie, the genre quickly became stale, with only a few tricks and no real opportunity for advancement or creativity as a genre. But whatever standing Dookie may have as the first real pop punk album, there's no doubt that the genre's holy grail is blink-182's Enema of the State, a juvenile, repetitive album that expresses mostly nothing.

It's all fun and games. Maybe I'm just too serious of a guy. For whatever reason, I don't find the refrain "I need a girl that I can train" ("Dumpweed") funny. Nor do I find the jokes about humping dogs and making prank calls from payphones particularly funny, either. It's not because these things are offensive; after all, blink is only letting out the inner adolescent boy. It's because they just aren't funny, and especially in the context of an album featuring some of the most obnoxious vocals (from co-lead vocalist Tom Delonge) you'll ever hear and constant misfired attempts at catchy songwriting.

Take the song's most popular single, "All The Small Things." It features a simplistic pop hook that comes close to working, a simple "na na na na na na na na na na." The problem is that it doesn't function as a pop hook, because there's nothing there to be hooked in for. The verse for the most part features four different notes sung in vocalist Delonge's ear piercing nasal whine. The chorus is essentially non-existent, a five second buildup to another "na na na na". By the time the song is done, you really don't care anymore about whatever it is Delonge is incoherently trying to say. You just want the na's to end already.

Other songs ("Don't Leave Me," "Mutt," "Anthem") don't even feature a pop hook, which sort of takes out the "pop" in pop punk. Factor in the fact that that this isn't punk either, and you start to wonder what exactly this is, anyway. And all the faceless, nameless scene bean pop-punk bands sprouting up all over God's green earth? This is where they got it from in case you were wondering. Also, minus points for featuring a random attempt at writing a real bummer of a song ("Adam's Song") in the middle of what is supposedly a party album.


user ratings (2503)
Chart.
3.8
excellent
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
blinkgreyhope
October 4th 2009


16 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

hope everyone liked my first shot at a review! let me know what you think, criticism constructive or not is invited.

heavykevlarsuit
October 4th 2009


151 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

This album is way too fun to be a 1.

qwe3
October 4th 2009


21362 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i don't like how you criticize it for a lack of pop hooks, and the whole business about this not being punk either. i think it's more down to bad genre classification, not a fault of blink's.

and adam's song is amazing.

heavykevlarsuit
October 4th 2009


151 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Yeahhh if this wasn't a first time I'd neg you. Hope you improve.

blinkgreyhope
October 4th 2009


16 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

well thanks for the suggestions guys i'm working on an afi review right now that i think will be a big improvement.

heavykevlarsuit
October 4th 2009


151 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I must say there is some potential in your writing, at least you're concise and don't feel a need to write about every little detail of every single song on the album. But research more and try to be more accurate.

heavykevlarsuit
October 4th 2009


151 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

There's no need to be a dick to the guy, it was his first review.

heavykevlarsuit
October 4th 2009


151 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Would you care if you got banned like people have in the past for antagonizing new reviewers?

heavykevlarsuit
October 4th 2009


151 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

"Oh this is gonna be fun" isn't pointing out a flaw so far as I can see. But you know, it's whatever, if being rude online brings you fulfillment, by all means knock yourself out.

heavykevlarsuit
October 4th 2009


151 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

So badass.

Mordecai.
October 4th 2009


8279 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Oh know you fuCking didn't. I'ma track you down and ounch you in the dick caus yous are a b!tch

bloc
October 4th 2009


34872 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

c'mon, the album wasn't that bad.

mvdu
October 4th 2009


605 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Album is kind of juvenile, but irresistibly fun at least to me.

Mordecai.
October 4th 2009


8279 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

i KnoW waT a FaggOt am i riGht?

south_of_heaven 11
October 4th 2009


5433 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

album rules

qwe3
October 4th 2009


21362 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

never thought id see a guy with the name south of heaven say that ahahaha awesome

Romulus
October 4th 2009


8437 Comments


Since I'm not all over Blink like many people here, I will pos because its a good first review

Meatplow
October 4th 2009


5524 Comments


Other songs ("Don't Leave Me," "Mutt," "Anthem") don't even feature a pop hook, which sort of takes out the "pop" in pop punk.


Yeah, this doesn't sit well with me.

I find it amazing how the idea of a "pop hook" can differ so strongly from person to person. To me there are plenty of hooks on this album, everything is logically structured in a clear presentation. I don't understand this.

KILL
October 4th 2009


71856 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

album is good but not as good as dude ranch so no point in it lolol

Digging: A Guy Called Gerald - Black Secret Technology

Tulannical
October 4th 2009


2051 Comments


dude ranch doesn't have travis barker so no point in it lolol



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy