Swashbuckle
Back To The Noose


3.5
great

Review

by Kyle Ward STAFF
September 23rd, 2009 | 38 replies | 7,753 views


Release Date: 2009 | Tracklist


Contrary to what fellow self-proclaimed “Pirate Metal” band Alestorm do with their music, Swashbuckle take an entirely tongue-in-cheek approach to the concept of plundering, drinking ale, and murdering unsuspecting cruise ship vacationers. Their music itself is serious enough, blending comical interludes with a melodic, heavy, and oh-so satisfying thrash metal sound complete with raspy, yelled vocals and almost punk-like shouting. However, the beauty in New Jersey thrash band Swashbuckle’s second album Back To The Noose is its ability to make you have fun with their music, regardless of how serious you approach it.

Heavy, crushing power chords meets tropical, upbeat acoustic tracks, melted with a little bit of satire really make this album so downright enjoyable. This 21-track romp through all things pirate is certainly laughable, there is no doubt in that, but when you put all that aside the music is surprisingly good. There are epic moments, such as the last minute to “Scurvy Back” when a melodic guitar lead backs chanting and some downright awesome harsh vocals courtesy of their vocalist Admiral Nobeard, who looks a hell of a lot like film producer Peter Jackson. There are also plenty of heavier, more serious moments: there are multiple guitar solos throughout the album, a few breakdowns, and lots of heavy, chord-laden riffs which gets you up and headbanging.

In between the legitimate metal tracks there are numerous instrumentals and skits which set the mood, however goofy that may be, for the next track. The most memorable one is “Rime Of The Haggard Mariner”, an obvious play on the Iron Maiden song “Rime Of The Ancient Mariner”. It sets the stage for the single, “Cruise Ship Terror”, in a hilarious way, containing narrative which everyone should hear just for the laugh value. On the contrary, some instrumentals such as “The Tradewinds” take themselves rather seriously with respect to the rest of the album, and provide an enjoyable experience with an altogether different theme than any other metal you’ll listen to.

You can’t really talk about pretentiousness when you talk about Back To The Noose, because there simply is none. These guys aren’t really taking themselves seriously in the first place, and are just out to have some fun. They certainly achieve that and more with their latest album, which is an undeniably entertaining album. It’s musically solid, the atmosphere is about is awesome as it’s ever going to get with “Pirate Metal”, and it just a great album to put on with your buddies before subsequently getting drunk and causing mayhem.

When a band does a thrash metal cover of the Spongebob Sqaurepants theme (these guy really did on their last album “Crewed By The Damned”), you know that you’re in for something unique.



Recent reviews by this author
Panopticon Roads to the NorthEmpyrium The Turn of the Tides
Wolves in the Throne Room CelestiteAgalloch The Serpent and the Sphere
Insomnium Shadows of the Dying SunAinulindale Nevrast
user ratings (31)
Chart.
3.6
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
Crysis
Staff Reviewer
September 23rd 2009



16317 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Check out their video for "Cruise Ship Terror" on youtube.

Zoo
September 23rd 2009



3759 Comments


Good review but I can't listen to this horrifyingly corny, gimmick-laden garbage.

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
September 23rd 2009



16317 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I understand, it took my friends a lot of persuading before I even thought about listening to this.

Poet
September 23rd 2009



5926 Comments


I'll probably listen to this for the laughs. I'll probably enjoy something off of it

Ponton
Emeritus
September 23rd 2009



5791 Comments


Kinda like Ensiferum pirate style?

good review. pos'd

BallsToTheWall
September 23rd 2009



44197 Comments


NO! pIRATE THRASH METAL MU FUCKA. Good review, alright band. So...let's see, Viking/Heathen metal? Check. Anglo Saxon metal? Check. Pirate metal? Check. World War II Metal? Check? It's about time Ninja Metal, Samurai Metal, Hun Metal, Spartan Metal, Confederate metal, and Eastwood Metal comes to fruition.

Digging: My Chemical Romance - Three Cheers for Sweet Revenge

FistfulOfSteel
September 23rd 2009



894 Comments


Eastwood metal ftw. Likely won't check this out, but good review. I always get a semi whenever I see one of your reviews on the feed thingy.

Mordecai.
September 23rd 2009



8277 Comments


Woudn't you say that Desperados are Eastwood metal? Or at least Western Metal.

BallsToTheWall
September 23rd 2009



44197 Comments


Yah. That Desperados album is amazing. id like to review it but dont have much time anymore.

Mordecai.
September 23rd 2009



8277 Comments


Well i've been wanted to do another review all year but a haven't had the motivation. I'll give it a go.

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
September 23rd 2009



16317 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I'll probably listen to this for the laughs. I'll probably enjoy something off of it


I bet you will, it's really easy to get into because it's not too serious.

I always get a semi whenever I see one of your reviews on the feed thingy.


Good to hear? lol

Balls- I'm surprised you don't dig this more considering you're from Florida and this seems to be sutff you'd enjoy.

BallsToTheWall
September 23rd 2009



44197 Comments


Dont get me wrong, the tropical vibe is strong here but most of thsi is kind of bland

KYZAR
September 23rd 2009



513 Comments


sounds sick, (with scurvy)

pizzamachine
September 23rd 2009



12571 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Arrrrg I was going to review this!

HOLYCRAP5OUTOF5
September 24th 2009



43 Comments


http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZLsJyfN0ICU

Derkyle
January 13th 2010



184 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is awesome in a very silly way! As un-serious as i tried to take this, the thrash in here is just fantastic.

Ovrot
July 14th 2010



10490 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is what pirate metal should sound like.

Celimous
August 10th 2010



10 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

This is fucking shit terrible and they fucking blow way more live. Death to False shitty pirate metal. Want a good one listen to Alestorm or Running wild. Want shit listen to this.

DarkNoctus
Contributing Reviewer
August 14th 2010



8780 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

heard about 4 songs

decided i wouldn't look further into it

KILL
August 14th 2010



71530 Comments


i love this band

Digging: Invisible - El jardin de los presentes



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy