Living Colour
The Chair in the Doorway


3.5
great

Review

by Davey Boy STAFF
September 21st, 2009 | 126 replies | 17,889 views


Release Date: 2009 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Everyone’s favourite colour is back… With a song of '09 contender in tow!

As effective opener ‘Burned Bridges’ builds up over its three and a half minute duration, it gives off an exciting sense of an upcoming explosion. Climaxing with Vernon Reid’s frantic guitar-playing, one cannot help but feel that Living Colour’s first album in six years could be a return to the form which saw them storm on to the scene two decades ago, collecting Grammys along the way. It is a disappointing shame then that what follows are two short, sludgy and rather boring tracks (‘The Chair’ & ‘DecaDance’), the former of which contains amateurish forced rhymes. The funky ‘Young Man’ that follows is solid, but seems totally out of place with what has come before it. “Hey fellas, how about we start again?”

And start again the NYC quartet do, since fifth track ‘Method’ (pardon the pun) methodically builds up in a moody fashion not too unlike the opener. But this time, what comes next is thankfully all class. ‘Behind the Sun’ contains a super tight rhythm section, thrilling guitar-work, passionate vocals and meaningful lyrics. ‘Hard Times’ adds a fantastic solo, while ‘Out of Mind’ throws in screams, snarling vocals & thick riffs that remind why some classified Living Colour as a metal band when they were at their peak. Elsewhere, ‘That’s What You Taught Me’ and light-hearted hidden track ‘Asshole’ prove that hooky mainstream rock does not have to be so musically bland.

However, as strong as these cuts are, they pale into insignificance when compared to track 7; ‘Bless Those (Little Annie’s Prayers)’. Guitarist Reid is astounding here, seamlessly transitioning from a bluesy twang to a metallic riff, and then finally to a mind-blowing solo that will have you on your knees either playing air-guitar or proclaiming “we are not worthy”. The most amazing fact however, is how this virtuoso guitar performance does not overshadow the remainder of the band. The vibrant and well-defined bass-lines of Doug Wimbish, the punchy drums of Will Calhoun, and the character-adding vocals of Corey Glover all make this a real musician’s piece and a genuine song of the year contender.

Living Colour has always been a band willing to push boundaries and experiment with their technically proficient sound. It is arguably what resulted in the group’s 1995 disbanding and why it is probably unrealistic to expect them to release a consistent album of gems. However, what can be viewed as a weakness can also be seen as a strength, and for the most part one can conclude that ‘The Chair in the Doorway’ is a successful return to form. Sure, they are capable of better and could very well do with some advice on track ordering, but there is enough evidence on show here to remind us why an inconsistent Living Colour releasing two albums a decade is better than no Living Colour at all.

Recommended Tracks: Bless Those (Little Annie’s Prayers), That’s What You Taught Me, Behind the Sun & Hard Times.



Recent reviews by this author
Emmure Eternal EnemiesThe Pretty Reckless Going to Hell
Broods BroodsThe Jezabels The Brink
Fanfarlo Let's Go ExtinctAbandon All Ships Malocchio
user ratings (33)
Chart.
3.3
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
Waior
September 21st 2009



11451 Comments


You sold it for me.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
September 21st 2009



20856 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I'm ashamed of myself that the release of this album snuck up on me & caught me off guard.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
September 21st 2009



20856 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"You sold it for me."

This may be the shortest review I have ever written, but you Caleb are one hell of a quick reader.

Waior
September 21st 2009



11451 Comments


We are not worthy.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
September 21st 2009



20856 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"We are not worthy."

... of Vernon Reid's virtuoso guitar-work OR my virtuoso reviewing? ;-)


marksellsuswallets
September 21st 2009



4848 Comments


Best black metal album of '09

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
September 21st 2009



20856 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"who is living colour" Blasphemy. Mods, please ban. Seriously foxxxxy, find a copy of a song called 'Cult of Personality' & get ready to be blown away!

"Best black metal album of '09" My lack of knowledge on the sub-genres of heavy metal stop me from being entirely convinced that your comment is a joke Brent. Hope all has been well btw.


Waior
September 21st 2009



11451 Comments


"... of Vernon Reid's virtuoso guitar-work OR my virtuoso reviewing? ;-)"

I believe the term is virtuosic, Valamir. Haha.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
September 21st 2009



20856 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Caleb, your avatar is really a photo of you swallowing some dictionaries & thesaurus', isn't it?

Athom
Staff Reviewer
September 21st 2009



17204 Comments


needs to be skinnier

marksellsuswallets
September 21st 2009



4848 Comments


Nah it was a lame joke haha. Yeah all's been well...took some unintentional time off from reviewing since moving off to college was a wee bit more involved than I originally anticipated but I'm more or less back now.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
September 21st 2009



20856 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"i think becoming staff has made it so davey cant comprehend humor"

Firstly, "humor" isn't in my dictionary (although that may have something to do with the fact we spell it with an extra 'u' down under... Then again, so does this band).

And the second point is that it would not surprise me at all if there were a few users around here who did not know who Living Colour were. But I should never have doubted you foxxxxy... Or your classic humoUr.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
September 21st 2009



20856 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"Nah it was a lame joke haha. Yeah all's been well...took some unintentional time off from reviewing since moving off to college was a wee bit more involved than I originally anticipated but I'm more or less back now."

Good to hear. Here is my summary for your above comment Brent:

"EVERYONE'S FAVOURITE WALLET SELLER IS BACK... WITH AN UPCOMING REVIEW OF '09 CONTENTENDER IN TOW"

ohcleverhansyou
September 21st 2009



885 Comments


I hope the songs mentioned here are as good as you say. A really good Living Colour song is bliss.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
September 21st 2009



20856 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"I hope the songs mentioned here are as good as you say. A really good Living Colour song is bliss."

I couldn't agree with you more Michael. I can definitely vouch for 'Bless Those'. It tends to dwarf the others a little, but I really do feel that at the very least tracks 4-10 are solid. The opener & closer are also good. Sounds like you are keen to give this a listen, so let me know what you think when you do.


Waior
September 21st 2009



11451 Comments


australians say catsup?

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
September 21st 2009



20856 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"i'm in america, silly"

So are Living Colour. It didn't stop them from using proper English.

I would have rated this higher had they had an interlude that went "Aussie Aussie Aussie Oy Oy Oy"

Waior
September 21st 2009



11451 Comments


it's true, i abandoned my canadian spellings for american ones because of spell check

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
September 21st 2009



20856 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Caleb, you should be ashamed of yourself. Make Dr.Davey's prescription that you should listen to Bon Jovi for a full hour now!

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
September 21st 2009



20856 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Oh man, I just realised that this was my 149th review. If I had waited one more, Living Colour could have been both my 100th & 150th milestone reviews. Oh well.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy