Asking Alexandria
Stand Up and Scream


3.5
great

Review

by ANewTypeOfPunk USER (12 Reviews)
September 16th, 2009 | 52 replies | 9,407 views


Release Date: 2009 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Another band from the post-hardcore/metalcore scene, this band sets itself apart by being good, albeit generic.

1 of 4 thought this review was well written

So I'm going to assume you've heard their name somewhere, possibly from a myspace blog, or a youtube video. Their fan base is quickly growing, and their debut album "Stand Up and Scream" dropped September 15, which only dramatically increased their renown.

Basically this band is as close to (old) Bring Me The Horizon as it gets without the drama, the image, and the screams are much different.

With singer Danny leading the band with his well ranged screams, and clean vocals (which aren't too shabby), Asking Alexandria, are actually good. Now don't get me wrong, they do sometimes sound like Attack Attack! in some parts, with the synth and all, but in my opinion, they are much much better. The guitar work and bass work are acceptable, chug-chug-chug breakdowns do exist, but they aren't exceeding, and they aren't annoying. To be honest, the breakdowns are especially quite good, with lyrics like "Get on your knees, oh!" you can imagine that the breakdowns are around 7.5-8 on the epic scale.

The lyrics however, are where this band falls short. Bring Me The Horizon anger inspired lyrics do get tiresome, and the listener will eventually start to wish they were listening to bands with deeper lyrics. But overall it's not dragging the album down, just the way it's listened to. Do note however that you shouldn't listen to this band if you're only interested in lyrics, and their meanings, for they aren't the deepest lyrics I've heard, but every song has it's moments.

The drums are above average in the genre, if you watch their studio updates, you see the drummer playing, and he is actually quite good. The drums provide good sound, and unlike most bands, they aren't too loud, or too quiet (like in the Fall of Troy's album: Phantom on the Horizon)

Anyways back to the review, this band is quite generic, the breakdowns are generic, and most of the sound is generic. But what sets this band apart from others, is the fact that they sound quite good. Now before you slam this band and say "I won't give it the light of day", check them out. You'll be pleasantly surprised with them. Albeit generic, they excel in their genre.

I apologize for the short-ish review and the style I wrote it in, I just wanted to do one because I noticed their new album lacked one.

Overall, the band is great with their sound, they just need to mature with lyrics and work on being less generic.

Pros: Screams, drums, basically their sound.

Cons: Lyrics, lacking maturity, generic sound



Recent reviews by this author
My Ticket Home The Opportunity To BeTom Caruana Enter the Magical Mystery Chambers
Bring Me The Horizon There Is A Hell, Believe Me I've Seen ItScarlett O'Hara Lost In Existence
The Word Alive EmpireAddison Closer To Home
user ratings (1326)
Chart.
2.5
average
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
elephantREVOLUTION
September 16th 2009



2701 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

pretty good review, though i would say that the chugging is a little excessive.

Digging: IDYLLS - Prayer For Terrene

ANewTypeOfPunk
September 16th 2009



736 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I can identify with why you gave it a low score, but this genre is a guilty pleasure for me. Anything with catchy breakdowns that pump me up is good in my books, but when I review I try to not be biased. I do fail sometimes though.

elephantREVOLUTION
September 17th 2009



2701 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

i know what you mean. the devil wears prada is a guilty pleasure of mine but this band never did that much for me.

catsinflats
September 17th 2009



129 Comments


good review, although probably wont be checking this out considering the bmth and attack attack comparison

fromtheinside
September 17th 2009



16352 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5 | Sound Off

i don't get the summary. is it contradicting itself? who knows. but its got me flustered.

Digging: Bast - Spectres

Comatorium.
September 17th 2009



4007 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

You convinced me to check this out, and i must say, damn, im impressed. Good for metalcore. Definitely better than Attack Attack! Also, Count Your Blessings was and still is a guilty pleasure of mine, so i like this quite a bit. Pos.

Douglas
September 17th 2009



8984 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

This is a pretty horrible album tbh, I am being nice with a 2. May put a review up soon.

Douglas
September 17th 2009



8984 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Also. This doesn't makes sense:

Pros: Basically their sound
Cons: Generic sound

wtf

promiseswept
September 17th 2009



846 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

okay i have to completely disagree that they sound like old BMTH. listen to, say, "liquor and love lost" by BMTH, now listen to "hey there mr. brooks" by AA. are you fucking high? have to say this is a bad review. and bands like this aren't necissarily going for a mature sound. that is what "trancecore" is.

promiseswept
September 17th 2009



846 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

necessarily*

Douglas
September 17th 2009



8984 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Both bands are pretty crap... I mean trancecore.. c'mon

promiseswept
September 17th 2009



846 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

are you talking about BMTH and AA, or Attack Attack! and AA? because I do agree that Attack Attack! brings nothing new to the table musically. however, I would argue that Asking Alexandria does their genre a lot of justice on this record. I was not disappointed.

Douglas
September 17th 2009



8984 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

I find all 3 bands quite average/poor. Though I can see how this can gain more respect within the genre, since they are slightly different. Its still the same old chug/verse/clean vocals/chug/verse/bridge/monster chug/outro recipe though, which gets really boring.

promiseswept
September 17th 2009



846 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

i agree with that. but this album just came off as a good piece of work. its good for those lighthearted moods. But, to each his own i guess

promiseswept
September 17th 2009



846 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

the drumming is also MILES ahead of most of these shitty bands. being a drummer i really do respect this guy.

Douglas
September 17th 2009



8984 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Yeah mate, ive been drumming for 12/13 years, and yeah I agree he is a bit better then the rest, though its just very generic still. For me Matt Greiner is the only drummer in this genre that gains any respect from me.

promiseswept
September 17th 2009



846 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

yeah this guy has great foot speed. and i do respect matt greiner, sometimes he is the only interesting thing to listen to in ABR. i also like shannon lucas of TBDM, alexgrind of despised icon, dusty boles of rose funeral, etc.

LisbonGirls
September 17th 2009



832 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I like this album except for Shawns cleans on hey there Mr.Brooks, fucking horrible.

Douglas
September 17th 2009



8984 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

I just read this review proper. It's okay/average mate, you have a lot of improving to do.

shortone323
September 17th 2009



883 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Review is a little eh. I was thinking about reviewing this yesterday. It's pretty good but it's so generic and it just seems like an attempt to cash in on the latest trends. They're good when they're not playing a breakdown every 3 seconds, which happens way too often.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy