The Cat Empire
Two Shoes


3.5
great

Review

by doug USER (78 Reviews)
September 11th, 2009 | 22 replies | 7,726 views


Release Date: 2005 | Tracklist


3 of 3 thought this review was well written

The Cat Empire, a band that embraces multiculturalism, and turn it into a varying array of funk, jazz, rock and pop music. The six piece band hailing from Melbourne Australia, already have a large home crowd draw, though their reputation is slowly spreading across the USA, Europe and the UK. Two Shoes is heavily laid with salsa felt rhythms, and Latin tinged chorus’s that get you up dancing, though as the album roles on, it lacks consistency.

The opening track, also being the lead single, ‘Sly’ gives us the typical Cat Empire sound. It’s a fast paced reggae tune that makes it extremely catchy and the added vocals of Felix Reibl’s bring a sexy, but almost pub like feel, making it quite home-y, while the lyrics depict the bands atmosphere so well:

‘It’s a pleasure to meet you
You look like one incredible creature
Wanna treat you fine
Lets dance and grind
Get so funk-inflicted it’s a crime
You’re divine you’re sublime
And well you blow my mind’


Speaking of vocals, the band consists of two vocalists, both having extremely different sounds and range. Felix Riebl brings the gruff, and jazz vocal to the fore in songs like, ‘Miserere’ and ‘Lullaby’ while Harry Angus (also on trumpet) has a higher pitched voice which slip into the rockier or upbeat tunes like, ‘The Car Song’ ‘Party Started’ and ‘Protons, Neutrons, Electrons.’

The Cat Empire may be able to cover many diverse sounds and genres, though Two Shoes suffers from a lack of consistency and catchiness that may have non jazz/reggae fans bored by their efforts. The end tracks drag with no variation, or fail at trying to be different like ‘Protons, Neutrons, Electrons’ which is an almost a Broadway like tune that lacks a serious punch, even if they include the line ‘Zipadoda Zipadadee’.

Two Shoes is an album that lacks a serious punch, though gets you moving and grooving to a fair few of their tracks. You can see how they are an effect festival band, and fans of Jazz/Reggae will love their music, though for the average pop/reggae listener, they can get bored easily and lose interest quite quickly.

Recommended Tracks:
Sly
The Car Song
Lullaby



Recent reviews by this author
Flume and Chet Faker LockjawThe Naked and Famous In Rolling Waves
James Blake OvergrownTaylor Swift Red
Macklemore and Ryan Lewis The HeistChet Faker Thinking in Textures
user ratings (66)
Chart.
3.8
excellent
other reviews of this album
hutchison707 (5)
Two Shoes is an album which truly exhibits what The Cat Empire is all about. Fusions of music from a...


Comments:Add a Comment 
Douglas
September 11th 2009



9049 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

I seem to be doing a lot of reviews corresponding to the Pyramid Festival lineup... odd.

Yeah it's a short review.

Jim
September 11th 2009



5110 Comments


nice mang

i've only got their self-titled, but that's really cool. they rock live, i'm told.

Douglas
September 11th 2009



9049 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Thanks dude, yeah my sis caught them live and said they were swell. Pretty pumped to see them at pyramid.

Jim
September 11th 2009



5110 Comments


you should check out jackson jackson, specifically the album tools for survival.

it's harry angus's other project. really cool pop

Douglas
September 11th 2009



9049 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Cool shall add it to the list. I think I might of heard some of their stuff before...

Jim
September 11th 2009



5110 Comments


there's a review for it here actually. i guess it would have got some play on triple j.

anyways it great is all =)

Douglas
September 11th 2009



9049 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Yeah man I just went and read it... sounds swell.

Vooligan
September 11th 2009



3541 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Sweet review, Dougie. The Car Song is awesome.

AtavanHalen
September 11th 2009



17927 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

You're getting there, Manny

Douglas
September 11th 2009



9049 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Thanks guys.

sgrevs
September 11th 2009



698 Comments


I like what I've heard from this album (about half), really catchy I reckon. Sly and In My Pocket are excellent songs, and Lullaby and Sol y Sombra are really good too. Nice review.

Douglas
September 12th 2009



9049 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Yeah Sly is pretty swell

Streetvulture
September 12th 2009



361 Comments


I love these guys, insanely fun catchy music. they did sly on letterman once. he called them a rock'n'roll band

Douglas
September 12th 2009



9049 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

haha youtubeing that now

Douglas
September 12th 2009



9049 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

"some great music from a rocknroll band"

AtavanHalen
September 12th 2009



17927 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Paul Schaffer called them an amazing show band.
Also, guys, it's tradition on Letterman for him to call the musical guests "a wonderful rock'n'roll band from [X], and this is their new album [X]".

Jim
September 12th 2009



5110 Comments


i like it when paul schaffer goes "AAAHHHHH!" which is like all the time.

Douglas
September 12th 2009



9049 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

All he does is AHHHHHHHHHH

Streetvulture
September 12th 2009



361 Comments


"Also, guys, it's tradition on Letterman for him to call the musical guests "a wonderful rock'n'roll band from [X], and this is their new album [X]"."
agreed, doesnt make it any less wrong though

Jim
September 12th 2009



5110 Comments


IN MY PANTS

AHHHHHH!!!!



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy