Moneen
The World I Want To Leave Behind


3.0
good

Review

by Davey Boy STAFF
September 9th, 2009 | 81 replies


Release Date: 2009 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Moneen grow up… And fans are unlikely to be happy.

While not unheard of, making an EP available just three months prior to the release of a new album is not exactly common practice. One cannot help but get the feeling that such a move has an underlying reason behind it, and in the case of Canadian quartet Moneen (technically .moneen.), that reason is to soften the blow for its loyal fans. What’s the blow we are talking about here? It is the evolution of maturing… Or put simpler; growing up!

The June-released ‘Hold That Sound’ EP hinted at a more straight-forward (dare I use the word “mainstream”) sound from the band, and ‘The World I Want To Leave Behind’ essentially follows through on the new direction. Predominantly gone are the whiney vocals, experimental song structures and tempo-switching for which Moneen has become known for. In their place are smooth melodies and soaring harmonies that could very well expose the band to a larger audience. See immediate cuts such as ‘Hold That Sound’ and ‘Great Escape’ as perfect examples, the latter of which may not be the same song which Boys Like Girls recorded three years ago, but could easily be a track from the Boston pop-punkers due to its contagiously nature.

Also carried over from the EP are ballads ‘The Way’ and ‘’Waterfalls’, both of which have been given an effective infusion of strings. The real surprise however - and what will be a disappointment to many fans - is the over-abundance of not too dissimilar slower to mid-tempo cuts that populate the remainder of the LP. In isolation, nothing is at all bad and each track is solid enough, yet as a grouping they are unremarkable and largely fade off into the background. This is a fact that is not helped by the recurring lyrical theme of self-belief, which tends to reduce the effectiveness of each subsequent piece.

There are a few signs that the more unpredictable side of Moneen is lurking in the background waiting to be unleashed. The incomplete sounding ‘The Monument’ has an exciting and recitable chorus, ‘Lighters’ builds up well, while ‘The Long Count’ contains some suitable guitar histrionics. However, nothing seems to hit the mark perfectly until the very end of the album. Thankfully, six minute closer ‘The Glasshouse’, best represents what the band may, or at least should, have been aiming for. Containing dual vocals and a melodic sing-along, its combination of Moneen’s raucous rockier past and calming new sound sends the album off on a high note that will hopefully bode well for the future.

With ‘The World I Want To Leave Behind’, Moneen have grown up and taken a turn towards a more mainstream sound. The concern has to be whether they have turned too far and become just another run-of-the-mill radio rock outfit. Since it could be argued that there was a significant maturation process that occurred on previous LP ‘The Red Tree’, one would have to suggest the shift has indeed been too dramatic. That does not necessarily make ‘The World I Want To Leave Behind’ a sub-par album, just one which is unlikely to win too many new devotees and could disappoint their current fanbase.

Recommended Tracks: Hold That Sound, The Glasshouse & The Way.



Recent reviews by this author
Alessia Cara Know-It-AllBe The Wolf Imago
Marianas Trench AstoriaState Champs Around the World and Back
Editors In DreamMeg Myers Sorry
user ratings (42)
Chart.
3.2
good

Comments:Add a Comment 
Waior
September 9th 2009


11630 Comments


Ugh, was hoping this would be good.

Athom
Emeritus
September 9th 2009


17241 Comments


the only moneed album I've heard is Are we Really Happy with who we are Right Now? I guess I'll keep it that way.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
September 9th 2009


22453 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I hope the review doesn't come off sounding too negative, as it's really not that bad... Just a little (for want of a better word) safer.



I'd appreciate other opinions whenever you get the chance to hear the album.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
September 9th 2009


22453 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Adam, if you liked 'Are We Really happy...', definitely give 'The Red Tree' a listen.



I'd still like to know what you think of this Caleb.

YouAreMySilence
September 9th 2009


3727 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

The Red Tree was fantastic,

I'm still expecting good things.

Waior
September 9th 2009


11630 Comments


I'll listen to it when I have my computer back, promise.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
September 9th 2009


22453 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I'm with you Brandon. 'The Red Tree' was a solid 4 rating.



Some time in the next few hours, I will be posting sound-offs for Moneen's last 3 releases.



And remember, 3 of these songs (in some version or another) have been available on the 'Hold That Sound' EP for 3 months.



Cool Caleb. I hate it when computers run away.

YouAreMySilence
September 9th 2009


3727 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Believe has some really shitty lyrics..

Wallpaper
September 9th 2009


68 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

lol moneen's lyrics were always

YouAreMySilence
September 9th 2009


3727 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Not really, they can just get too inspirational sometimes.

This still is really good so far though, just the corniness of Believe kind of throws me off.

Wallpaper
September 9th 2009


68 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

didnt they do a stint with 'lexis

YouAreMySilence
September 9th 2009


3727 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yah, the Switcharoo or something I think it was called.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
September 9th 2009


22453 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

When I wrote the following in the review: "This is a fact that is not helped by the recurring lyrical theme of self-belief, which tends to reduce the effectiveness of each subsequent piece."



I was going to elaborate by quoting the following lyrics:



From 'Great Escape': "What are you searching for? What are you waiting for? Tell me what you're living for today?"



From 'Believe': "You gotta believe in your own way"



From 'The Way': "Coz it's the way I am, mixed with the way I should be"



'Redefine' also isn't too dissimilar, although I have no lyrics in my notes.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
September 9th 2009


22453 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

"Yah, the Switcharoo or something I think it was called."



From memory, they did a split EP where one band performed 3-4 songs of the other band.



YouAreMySilence
September 9th 2009


3727 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I just remember Alexisonfire doing Passing Out In America and something about Hippies and Moneen did Accidents amd Sharks And Danger.

I know there was more though.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
September 9th 2009


22453 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

You can't be liking this as much as 'The Red Tree', can you Brandon?

Wallpaper
September 9th 2009


68 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

it was a rhetorical question

YouAreMySilence
September 9th 2009


3727 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I really wanted too, but no way..

I'm thinking about 3.5.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
September 9th 2009


22453 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

"I'm thinking about 3.5."



Another concern I had with this album was that with the band's prior releases, they tended to grow on you as you uncovered extra musical layers and/or lyrics that initially didn't sink in. With this album, it's going to grow off you, if anything. 'Hold That Sound' & 'Great Escape' are extrememly immediate (not necessarily a bad thing), while the more simplistic nature of most other songs also won't allow them to grow significantly.

Mordecai.
September 9th 2009


8348 Comments


I've only heard their song that goes something like: "If tragedy is appealing, then disaster's an addiction..."

It was a good song, had a JEW vibe

That is all.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy