Infest
No Man's Slave


4.5
superb

Review

by thebbqshrimp USER (1 Reviews)
September 9th, 2009 | 103 replies


Release Date: 2002 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Infest managed to both pioneer a genre and produce some of said genre's greatest offerings. This album is no different. Give No Man's Slave a spin and it'll be the best 16 minutes you've spent in a long, long time.

Formed in the midst of the hardcore punk movement of 1980s Los Angeles, Infest was a band that did things a little differently. By combining the aggression and anger of hardcore punk with the noisier, sludgier sounds of grindcore and thrashcore, this four-piece gave birth to powerviolence. While the band did not coin the term, never before had these elements truly been combined in such a successful way, to create such a different sound. In 1988 Infest produced the landmark album, Slave, which set the bar quite high for all acts to come and still stands out today as a fantastic powerviolence release. In addition to Slave the group put out several demos and splits, however none of these truly captured the greatness of their debut LP. After about 10 years Infest finally called it quits, each member moving on to different projects. It was always rumored that they had produced another full-length album, recorded in 1995, that had never seen the light of day. In August of 2002 that album was finally allowed to see the Sun. It's name – No Man's Slave: an album that not only matched it's predecessor, but surpassed it.

The album begins as fittingly as one could possibly imagine – with a broad, sweeping description of hardcore punk music itself.

“Punk music generally (that is, hardcore punk) is characterized by its speed; it has a lot of 'fuzz,' as musicians call it, cranked into the music; it's high volume, high speed, characterized by protest-type lyrics” (From the opening track, “Cold Inside”).

When referring to Infest (and more specifically to this review, No Man's Slave), this is the understatement of the century. High volume? Ear-bleeding. High speed? Average song length = 51 seconds (A number that is certainly thrown off by the 5 minute finale) with a full running time of approx. 16 minutes. Infest takes what what we know as hardcore punk and pushes it to its extreme.

Within the first 18 songs of the album there are truly no “standout” tracks. All of them are equally assaulting on the senses, with pummeling drums and ultra-fast, distorted guitar and bass and shouted vocals, and follow a similar song structure (as we all know, if one wants variety, the subdivisions of punk are not the places to look). However, I don't see this as a bad thing. All of the songs work together and flow together to form a complete work, devoid of weaker or stronger points. While the recording is a little cleaner and has clearly been mastered a little better than that of Slave, it does not at all detract from the energy and raw emotion that is poured out in every song. However, it is the final track, “My World... My Way” that truly brings the work together. Shifting from the brutal assault of the previous tracks, the finale brings out a sludgier sound, with a slow, driving tempo that clocks in at 5:25, almost certainly Infest's longest recorded song. The track was originally performed as an instrumental live in 1991, but it is singer Joe Denunzio's vocal addition to the recorded track that truly makes the song. While most of the vocals are hardly decipherable on the album, lyrically Denunzio remains fairly similar to most of the scene, with songs often speaking to socio-political issues such as war and poverty.

With this, their final release, Infest managed to refine and perfect their sound. It is a fitting finale to the legacy they leave behind in punk music. Give No Man's Slave a spin and it'll be the best 16 minutes you've spent in a long, long time.


user ratings (138)
Chart.
4.2
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
thebbqshrimp
September 9th 2009


1207 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

First review. Show no mercy.

charlesfishowitz
September 9th 2009


1794 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

yr tags are sticking out in yr summary

thebbqshrimp
September 9th 2009


1207 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I know... I'm not sure how to fix it. They're the right tags, so I don't know what's wrong.

charlesfishowitz
September 9th 2009


1794 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

just get rid of em

thebbqshrimp
September 9th 2009


1207 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Fixed. Any comments on the review itself? (I have a feeling that you and maybe only a select few others are even going to know about this band, so I'ma milk you for all the feedback I can get haha)

charlesfishowitz
September 9th 2009


1794 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

"Fixed. Any comments on the review itself? (I have a feeling that you and maybe only a select few others are even going to know about this band, so I'ma milk you for all the feedback I can get haha)"

hang on lemme read it

thebbqshrimp
September 9th 2009


1207 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Hahahaha well said. And ty.

charlesfishowitz
September 9th 2009


1794 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

"this four-piece gave birth to a new genre. Powerviolence, this extreme..."

would prolly be better as

"this four-piece gave birth to Powerviolence."

and just get rid of

"this extreme subdivision of hardcore punk, was a groundbreaking sound in 1986 when Infest first came together. "

what else?

"Slave, which set the bar for all acts to come and stands out as one of the greatest powerviolence releases ever. "

many would argue with you.

“Punk music generally (that is, hardcore punk) is characterized by its speed; it has a lot of 'fuzz,' as musicians call it, cranked into the music; it's high volume, high speed, characterized by protest-type lyrics”

Separate this from the sentence before it and the paragraph that follows.

“Within the first 18 songs of the album there are truly no “standout” tracks”

Not true.

“Infest managed to both pioneer a genre and produce some of said genre's greatest offerings. This album is no different. Give No Man's Slave a spin and it'll be the best 16 minutes you've spent in a long, long time.”


Maybe work on this some more. Make sure it fits with the rest of the review



also i im pretty sure slave is just a compilation of thier self titled releases.

charlesfishowitz
September 9th 2009


1794 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

there's probably some stuff im missing but other than that, great work.

charlesfishowitz
September 9th 2009


1794 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

oh just noticed. you prob dont want your summary to be the same as your conclusion


edit: im done now

thebbqshrimp
September 9th 2009


1207 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Haha thanks a lot, man. I'll get on those corrections.

And, I know... It's 5:00am and I'm tired and got lazy at the end lol. I'll fix it.

EDIT: Fixed a lot of the stuff you mentioned.

EDIT EDIT: 1,000 posts!

accompliceofmydeath
September 9th 2009


4227 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

You're super for reviewing this. Now, I just need to get a hold of a copy. Review was awesome btw. Not that it matters but, do these guys use double bass drums/pedals? I like it when old school bands are super fast without using double bass.

Digging: Cruel Hand - The Negatives

foreverendeared
September 9th 2009


14678 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

great band. i almost forgot about these guys

gaslightanthem
September 9th 2009


5209 Comments


got a super boner for infest

devsol
September 9th 2009


347 Comments


album rules

accompliceofmydeath
September 9th 2009


4227 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This is getting way more attention than I thought it would.

MassiveAttack
September 9th 2009


2688 Comments


This sounds interesting. The cover art is really good and I enjoyed the 80s hardcore movement, just not sure about the addition of sludgy grindcore/thrashcore would be like.

Tits McGee
September 9th 2009


1876 Comments


band is pretty fucking intense

Waior
September 9th 2009


11452 Comments


Sublime first review.

thebbqshrimp
September 9th 2009


1207 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Thanks for the love, everybody!

@ all those commenting on the awesomeness of Infest: AGREED.

@ MassiveAttack: I say you just go for it and give it a shot. Considering Infest was the first of their kind, they're relatively mild considering some of the powerviolence bands out there today.

@ accomplice: I'm pretty sure that they do just use a single pedal. And I'm also surprised at the amount of attention lol.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy