Forest
Like a Blaze Above the Ashes


5.0
classic

Review

by BillEco USER (6 Reviews)
September 5th, 2009 | 57 replies


Release Date: 1997 | Tracklist

Review Summary: This little obscure album here makes Transilvanian Hunger sound like Playskool: My first atmospheric black metal music.

I admit the summary is actually stolen by some guy over the internet but it definitely sums up all this album is about. Most albums that fall into the atmospheric black metal genre favour simplicity, minimalism, lo-fi production and a lot of repetition. Like a Blaze Above the Ashes is no different. What is different with this album is that it doesn’t allow any thoughts like “boring” or “snoozefest” enter the listener’s mind. Instead it envelops the listener in a surprisingly “charming” soundscape.

Each track is different than the other and each stands as an example of excellent atmospheric BM. This album however is better served as a whole. Tremolos, chords, constant blast beats and a lone acoustic guitar on the last track is what the instrumental part of this album is. I’m not sure whether I can hear the bass or not. I think I can during the last track or in parts where a tremolo riff isn’t played but it could well be just the guitar.

The vocals are distant in the mix working more as one more instrument instead of driving the songs forward. Mid screams for the first three tracks and a chanting like voice which reminds me of Garm in Kveldssanger. The lyrics are all in Russian and I’ve got no idea what they are about.

In this album you will have an exact number of zero technical moments, zero fancy effects, zero face melting riffs and most importantly zero pretentiousness. What you get is an honest, atmospheric masterpiece.

Recommended as: Background music, relaxing music, music to sleep to.

Avoid: Before a match, or before wrestling with a bear.



Recent reviews by this author
Fauna RainGrotesque In the Embrace of Evil
Eucharist MirrorworldsAt the Gates The Red in the Sky Is Ours
Rotting Christ A Dead Poem
user ratings (48)
Chart.
4
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
BallsToTheWall
September 5th 2009


44805 Comments


Shit man....I wanted tor review this. Still might since this is too short. Otherwise a decent effort. But yes, completely fucking agree. Probaly my favorite black metal record.

Digging: Pink Turns Blue - If Two Worlds Kiss

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
September 5th 2009


16467 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Great album, Balls I think you should still review this.

BallsToTheWall
September 5th 2009


44805 Comments


The thing I love about this record is the atmosphere production. it's not frost ridden grim, the riffs instead of being hollow have feeling and rythmn. Album rules face. Either I will review this or Branikald's Frost Visions.

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
September 5th 2009


16467 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Hell, review both. I haven't heard Frost Visions yet but just checked the MA page for it and it looks pretty good.

BallsToTheWall
September 5th 2009


44805 Comments


We'll see. My computer is fucked up again. The blue screen has reared it's ugly head, soon i'll probaly have to reboot it again.

jingledeath
September 5th 2009


7104 Comments


Need this

BillEco
September 5th 2009


67 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I couldn't find something else to write and didnt want to write something like
A vast journey into the frozen woods of Russia..............

What is frost visions like compared to this?

BallsToTheWall
September 5th 2009


44805 Comments


Kind of like Hvis Lyset Tar Oss from Burzum, complete with a 14 minute ambient track of it's own but more engaging than Tomhet.

joshuatree
Emeritus
September 5th 2009


3742 Comments


album's pretty tight 5's pushing it tho

rasputin
September 5th 2009


14555 Comments


pushin ma tittiesss

iranscam
September 5th 2009


469 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

album's pretty tight 5's pushing it tho


McP3000
September 5th 2009


3941 Comments


grim frostbitten wintertunes

Athom
Staff Reviewer
September 5th 2009


17225 Comments


edit: Balls rec'd this to me a while back. I've only listened to it a couple times. I can't decide on giving it a 3.5 or a 4. Probably a 4.

rasputin
September 5th 2009


14555 Comments


what does that even maean

Athom
Staff Reviewer
September 5th 2009


17225 Comments


it means ily ; )

Iamthe Nightstars
September 5th 2009


2315 Comments


I think this is the first time I heard anything about black metal being "relaxing".

foreverendeared
September 5th 2009


14678 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

drudkh makes some pretty relaxing black metal

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
September 5th 2009


16467 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

drudkh makes some pretty relaxing black metal

This

BallsToTheWall
September 5th 2009


44805 Comments


This album isnt grim.

Wizard
September 5th 2009


19616 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I want this so bad. Review = Soundoff.

Digging: Hans Zimmer - Interstellar



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy