David Guetta
One Love


3.0
good

Review

by Davey Boy STAFF
September 3rd, 2009 | 390 replies | 22,300 views


Release Date: 2009 | Tracklist

Review Summary: House music aiming for the charts with the help of an all-star cast.

Those wanting proof of how much one or two hit singles can do for an artist need only compare the vocalists used on French DJ David Guetta's two most recent releases. Where 2007's 'Pop Life' carried the likes of Chris Willis, Cozi Costi, JD Davis, Juliet & Tara McDonald, new album 'One Love' upgrades to the all-star cast of Akon, will.i.am, Estelle, Ne-Yo & Kelly Rowland. All this on the back of a couple of U.K top 10 hits, the more successful of which was arguably an unintended accident when a mash-up of Guetta's 2002 song 'Love Don't Let Me Go' and The Egg's 'Walking Away' took the world by storm.

Of course, having the best players on your team does not necessarily result in victory and 'One Love' highlights this by being a rather hit and miss affair. In fact, such a finding can best be proven by simply looking at Rowland's three contributions to the LP. Opener 'When Love Takes Over' has already been a deserved worldwide smash hit, with its memorable and euphoric melody perfectly combining the piano hook from Coldplay's 'Clocks', swirling synths, an insistent beat and the former Destiny's Child songstress' splendid vocals. Elsewhere however, 'It's The Way You Love Me' is merely by-the-numbers, while her duet with Ne-Yo ('Choose') is a disappointing attempt at a darker up-tempo cut that gets mighty close to embarrassing for all those concerned.

Those after something truly embarrassing need not fear though as will.i.am also contributes three performances to Guetta's 4th album. And boy, does he justify the haters with his vocals here! His exaggerated pronunciations on 'On The Dancefloor' plummet it to low depths, yet even that is surpassed by the migraine-inducing posturing evident on 'I Wanna Go Crazy', a song so bad that it could only be served up to the drunk and horny. Also earning a redundant place on 'One Love' is a remixed electro version of The Black Eyed Pea's 'I Gotta Feeling'. Why? Because Guetta produced the worldwide #1, that's why. The other stinker of the LP is penultimate track 'Toyfriend', where Wynter Gordon fails to convey a sexy middle-eastern vibe amongst annoying siren-like synths that sound akin to a never-ending car alarm.

It is not all doom and gloom thankfully, and Guetta showcases his talents on a number of tracks by masterfully fusing differing vocal techniques to house music. Long-time collaborator and gospel singer Chris Willis ('Gettin' Over') and hip-hopper Novel ('Missing You') come out sounding fantastic, as does the smooth Julie McKnight ('How Soon Is Now') and the always reliable Estelle, who delivers a multi-faceted performance on the title track. It is a testament to Guetta's skill that he can successfully combine this many variety of singers to a background of squiggly synth stabs and heart-pounding bass drum beats, many of which will have your speakers vibrating if the volume is turned above half-way. Although, there are also occasions when Guetta realizes that less is more, as can be heard on closer 'If We Ever'. With the pace slowed down, Makeba Riddick's (predominantly auto-tuned) harmonies atop sparse electronics and strings are a mini-revelation.

In continuing his obsession to bring house music to the mainstream masses, Guetta is always going to hit a few hurdles that will have the naysayers laughing hysterically in his direction. Such atrocities do exist on 'One Love', however it will still undoubtedly find an audience on the strength of its highlight tracks. While sounding more like a compilation of singles than a fully cohesive album, 'One Love' could in fact be the release that finally wins over both the dedicated weekend club-goers, as well as the stay-at-home older generation looking to revisit their youth.

Recommended Tracks: When Love Takes Over, One Love & Gettin' Over.



Recent reviews by this author
Emmure Eternal EnemiesThe Pretty Reckless Going to Hell
Broods BroodsThe Jezabels The Brink
Fanfarlo Let's Go ExtinctAbandon All Ships Malocchio
user ratings (117)
Chart.
2.5
average

Comments:Add a Comment 
DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
September 3rd 2009



20855 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

4 alternate summaries were:

- House; music best served when drunk and horny
- Where the f*ck did Sputnik's house music reviewer go?
- The things I do for Sputnik.
- House > Metal. Just kidding, they both suck equally.

PanasonicYouth
September 3rd 2009



7411 Comments


all 4 of those rule in comparison to what you have now.
how dry.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
September 3rd 2009



20855 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

It's this staff thing... It's making me act all professional and whatnot.

Vooligan
September 3rd 2009



3541 Comments


eww house music

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
September 3rd 2009



20855 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Doof doof doof.

I was gonna put a line in the review about a convertible bouncing up & down, but couldn't quite get it to work. I thought the lines about the speakers & car alarm was more than enough.

PanasonicYouth
September 3rd 2009



7411 Comments


you can be fun staff. like chan. he's fun.
no need to be all blunt and to the point.
live a little.
jeez.
also LOL HOUSE MUSIC

essplode
September 3rd 2009



92 Comments


House > Metal. Just kidding, they both suck equally.

my vote

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
September 3rd 2009



20855 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I prefer Lord Wurm over Chan any day of the week.

BTW, has Sputnik ever had a dance music specialist? Not that I am in any way putting my hand up for the job!

PanasonicYouth
September 3rd 2009



7411 Comments


put your hand up.
or else.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
September 3rd 2009



20855 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

"House > Metal. Just kidding, they both suck equally... my vote"

Maybe I can have some kind of poll right here... Or just have the 5 summaries get a day's worth of time each. Hmmmmm.


DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
September 3rd 2009



20855 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

"put your hand up."

... for Detroit!?

Arggghhhhh, what's happening to me?


Gyromania
September 3rd 2009



15197 Comments


this looks awful... good review though.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
September 3rd 2009



20855 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Thanks gyro.

Something tells me there isn't going to be much of an audience around here for this kind of music. Oh well, gotta branch out & test the reviewing skills I guess.

Streetvulture
September 3rd 2009



361 Comments


mm i dunno about this. guetta is good when he's remixed but in my experience his songs have kinda
sucked except for a few great ones

great review davey, and i know its belated but congrats on staff

you're just churning out reviews at the moment arent you

Gyromania
September 3rd 2009



15197 Comments


i meant to ask if you're going to be staff reviewing new muse... are you? lol

Kiran
Emeritus
September 3rd 2009



6000 Comments


I quite like Memories although I'll be staying away from this

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
September 3rd 2009



20855 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Thanks for the belated congrats Streetvulture. Really appreciated. I will be very much slowing down my reviewing from here on in. I should have another one up next week some time though, so who knows.

You pretty much summed Guetta up actually. Along with some great remixes, he has the ability to really churn out something special (I think the opener here classifies). The problem is that he can't keep his bottom of the barrel stuff from being woeful.

You liked 'Memories' Kirgasm? I was neither here nor there on that track. I'm sort of impartial on Kid Cudi full stop actually.

LOL gyro. I walked into the staff dibbing thread & found pretty much every album until next June taken. Well, all but the occasional house music album. Haha. Nah, I'm exaggerating, but Muse had already been dibbed by someone, so no, it won't be me reviewing it. I will do a sound-off for it after it comes out though... just for you.

Streetvulture
September 3rd 2009



361 Comments


Alright I'll check out the opener then, thanks. There's always that insanely catchy song by him surrounded by 10 copycats that are dreadful

Vooligan
September 3rd 2009



3541 Comments


There's plenty of Aussie bands that need some lovin' Davey!

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
September 3rd 2009



20855 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

You haven't heard the opener StreetVulture? I envy your ability to stay completely away from the radio and any music video show!

Come on Billy, in the past couple of months alone, I've given the Aussie bands a huge run. Even the likes of Wes Carr & The Galvatrons have got a run! Speaking of, did you notice that one of the network's footy coverage is using The Temper Trap constantly?



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy