Disfear
Live the Storm


4.5
superb

Review

by Simon Harris (SCREAM!) USER (57 Reviews)
August 30th, 2009 | 38 replies


Release Date: 2008 | Tracklist

Review Summary: I don’t know what the d in d-beat means but judging by these guys I would guess something like DESTROY.

Disfear is a Swedish D-beat band that features Tomas Lindberg on vocals (ex vocalist of At The Gates). For those who are unfamiliar with the genre (as I was until I heard this), it is basically a mix of a lot of hardcore punk with a lot of metal to create a product that is simply loud, in your face and unrelenting.

Disfear fit that description perfectly. Live The Storm is a 35 minute assault of heavy power chords, pounding drums and bass, layered with southern sounding leads and throat wrenching yells.

Get It Off opens up with one of said leads that quickly turns into a speakerful of organized chaos. The chords are loud, the drums are fast, the leads are squealing all over the place and the singer is shrieking over everything. But it fits together seemlessly. Every crack in the wall of sound is filled and the result is a mind boggling attack on your ears that will either leave you wanting to hear it all over just to make sense of it all.
The band also manage to do all this with a certain degree of finesse to it. The mix of power chords with “regular” chords creates the basic crushing sound but allows for many variations in the heaviness and in the amount of different sounds available. The leads also don’t always try to push themselves forward. The guitarist really picks his moments to compliment the crushing rhythms.This is done flawlessly throughout The Furnace with the lead coming in and out over the various rhythms to give the sound another dimension.

The only complaint I have with this album is the drums. It sounds like he only plays slight variations on the same beat throughout the album. The beat does go well with all the songs and he can play it very fast and well but it gives the songs a repetitive feel that they avoid on all the other instruments. Fortunately,the other instruments deliver enough so that the listener doesn’t have to pay attention to the drums. He can put them in the back of the mix as a backbone to the heavyness which, from the sound of it, is what i think they were meant to be.

Overall, Disfear deliver one hell of an intense ride. Live The Storm doesn’t let up from the start of the southern tinged Get It Off until the end of the 7 minute explosion that is Phantom. The band leaves no cracks in their wall of sound and come out sounding powerful and extremely energizing. This is a must for anyone who loves intense and unrelenting music.



Recent reviews by this author
All Them Witches Lightning At The DoorAgalloch The Serpent and the Sphere
Forteresse / Chasse-Galerie / Monarque / Csejthe LégendesFuck the Facts Amer
Maneige Les PorchesDark Castle Spirited Migration
user ratings (97)
Chart.
3.8
excellent
other reviews of this album
ryallen (4)
35 minutes of d beat done right....


Comments:Add a Comment 
SCREAM!
August 30th 2009


10379 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Wrote it quickly, hope its alright

Digging: Svartidau?i - Flesh Cathedral

LisbonGirls
August 30th 2009


832 Comments


*It sounds like he only play slight variations*

Should be *Plays* other then that good review.

Essence
August 30th 2009


3595 Comments


hmmm

will check out this d-beat genre

SCREAM!
August 30th 2009


10379 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Good call lisbon, will fix.

I dunno about the rest of the d-beat genre, but these guys slay

illmitch
August 30th 2009


5429 Comments


the d in d-beat stands for discharge, who pretty much founded the genre; the "same-y" drum beat that you refer to is actually the "beat" part of d-beat. discharge popularized that drum beat, so "d-beat" = discharge beat.

good review, disfear are tight.

SCREAM!
August 30th 2009


10379 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

i figured it might be part of the genre but not being very informed i couldnt say for sure. Either way it does get kind of repetitive throughout an album.

And thanks for clearing up the name

illmitch
August 30th 2009


5429 Comments


no problem. discharge are the best place to start if you want to learn about d-beat (d-beat as a genre is basically bands ripping off discharge), but i made a post of some bands in Jacktiger's list if you want to get into some other bands.

SCREAM!
August 30th 2009


10379 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Would 108 be considered d beat? They always kinda reminded me of disfear

illmitch
August 30th 2009


5429 Comments


i've never listened to them so i couldn't say

Roach
August 30th 2009


2148 Comments


108 are pretty good.

SCREAM!
August 30th 2009


10379 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Review is going down the list pretty quick.

Listening to Why by Discharge

illmitch
August 30th 2009


5429 Comments


yeah i hate that feeling, when your review gets pushed out of the way by new reviews.

Why? is a classic, some people prefer their later material but i prefer Why? for its rawness.

DBlitz
August 30th 2009


1691 Comments


i found it funny that you didn't know what d-beat was and then complained about the drums

anyway i'm getting into stuff like this recently, so i probably will check this out

SCREAM!
August 30th 2009


10379 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Even now that i know what it is, i still find that the beat gets repetitive over the course of a whole album

Athom
Staff Reviewer
August 30th 2009


17230 Comments


I love this album. so good.

SCREAM!
August 30th 2009


10379 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Discharge is good but im up to song 15 and i dont even understand how D:

SCREAM!
August 30th 2009


10379 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Second last review and i jsut submitted it tonight D:

Roach
August 30th 2009


2148 Comments


I'm not a big Discharge fan personally.

SCREAM!
August 31st 2009


10379 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Btw, how do you get the image fixed? I tried adding it in the edit my reviews section but it never worked

SCREAM!
August 31st 2009


10379 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Its weird how a few of the leads have a southern tinge to them but these guys are from sweden



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy