Dead Letter Circus
Next In Line


4.0
excellent

Review

by doug USER (78 Reviews)
August 23rd, 2009 | 203 replies | 14,573 views


Release Date: 2008 | Tracklist

Review Summary: How much better can the Australian Prog scene get? Apparently a lot better.

1 of 1 thought this review was well written

This year Dead Letter Circus has been in the process of writing their first full length album. Just to tease their fans, last year they released this 3 track EP titled Next In Line. It included some of the fastest and heaviest songs the band had written to date, as well as being technically apt Next In Line is a great little glimpse from what to expect with the upcoming full length release.

The EP opens with the almost frenetic paced title track, ‘Next In Line’. Rob Marics guitar riffage is fantastic, while the drums and bass follow its syncopation giving an odd time felt main riff. Also Kim Benzies vocals are beyond fabulous, filling the track with hooks galore. ‘Reaction’ follows the incredible ‘Next In Line’ and continues at a similar pace, but gives a greater look into the overall makeup of the band, with each member having some sort of highlight moment, be it the intricate guitar work, the bass guitar fills before the choruses, the cleverly syncopated drum part or the once again, soaring voice of Kim Benzies. The lyrics aren’t too shabby either:

Stop holding it down
Stop thinking it over
Decide and you'll live your life awake
Your body's the seeker
Emotion will lead you
Provided you live your life awake


‘Next In Line’ finishes with the song that got the band some attention a couple of years ago in, ‘Tremors’ and you can see why this is so. ‘Tremors’ is a much more mid tempo song, giving you a break from the relentless onslaught of the previous two tracks. While ‘Tremors’ might not include the hooks that the previous two did, it definitely is a very listenable track, with its slower verses and laid back chorus which all build towards a nice ambient section before the closing.

Dead Letter Circus have successfully made their fans more than happy with this little teaser before the bands first major release. Plus with the release of the Dead Letter Circus full length the Australian troupe of prog/rock bands is just going to get stronger and stronger.



Recent reviews by this author
Flume and Chet Faker LockjawThe Naked and Famous In Rolling Waves
James Blake OvergrownTaylor Swift Red
Macklemore and Ryan Lewis The HeistChet Faker Thinking in Textures
user ratings (119)
Chart.
3.9
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
Douglas
August 23rd 2009



9093 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Short review, for extremely short EP

Digging: James Vincent McMorrow - Post Tropical

Jim
August 23rd 2009



5110 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yeah i can't give this any more than a 4 considering its length

nice review dougie. can't wait for the album

Douglas
August 23rd 2009



9093 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Thanks man.

Yeah a 4 is good and I can't wait for the new album, seems to be shaping up nicely!

Douglas
August 23rd 2009



9093 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Arghh Double post.

Vooligan
August 23rd 2009



3541 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Good review, you better do the other EP as well. Next in Line rules.
And dudes, two things.
1. get on iTunes and download mammal's remix of Disconnect and Apply ft. Zeke, its totally awesome.
2. Get on DLC's myspace and watch the video for The Space on the Wall, guaranteed laughs.

Douglas
August 23rd 2009



9093 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

On it Billy.

We shall see, depends on time! Though shall check those thingy's out.

Jim
August 23rd 2009



5110 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

will do both of those things billy

dougie you seemed to get too excited with the comments button

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
August 23rd 2009



20856 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

You know why he is excited Jim-Bob.

All together now: "Join in the chorus & sing it one and all, join in the chorus, North Melbourne's on the ball..."

Jim
August 23rd 2009



5110 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

lol. still, 19-2 ain't nothing to scoff at.

but seriously dougie your team's in trouble juz saying

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
August 23rd 2009



20856 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

You might want to read over this review Dougie as there are grammatical errors. There are 2 in this sentence alone: "It included some of the most fastest and heaviest songs the band had written to date, as well being technically..." get rid of 'most' & put an 'as' after 'as well'.



Jim
August 23rd 2009



5110 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

video for space on the wall gave some lolz

his bread roll broke lol

Douglas
August 23rd 2009



9093 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

So now my server has stopped being a total dick, thanks Billy ill check that out.. How can we be in trouble at 19-2? Yeah, some re working needs to be done there, On it Davey!

AtavanHalen
August 23rd 2009



17927 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

WILL YOU REACT TO ME

Jim
August 23rd 2009



5110 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

billy i can't find this remix for the life of me. help me out man

dougie, dougie, dougie. the doggies and the pies are timing their run into the finals nicely, while the saint's are simply ran out. still, let's hope they go all the way for all our sakes - because i'll be buggered if the wobbles win the premiership!

Douglas
August 23rd 2009



9093 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Meh, I know what you mean, though we shall see come September time!

Oh Davey, I think you might actually enjoy this, and as well as this, try Closure In Moscow - First Temple. Album rules and similar to this.

Jim
August 23rd 2009



5110 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

davey's things to do list:

-watch black books
-listen to dead letter circus
-be a cunt at least once in his life

Vooligan
August 23rd 2009



3541 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

I think i wanna cry, Essendon were inspid. Farking disgraceful. Well done roo's though, just remember, we did it first.
Jim, i bought it off itunes cos i couldn't find it anywhere else, its called Inferiority Complex.

Douglas
August 23rd 2009



9093 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

... but how stuffed in the cricket are we!

Ponting can bat, but Clarke needs to take captaincy now!

Jim
August 23rd 2009



5110 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

the remix isn't bad billy. some pretty cool bits. glad you let me know it existed lol

Vooligan
August 23rd 2009



3541 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

ugh, just shit weekend of sport all round.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy