Evermore
Real Life


2.0
poor

Review

by Davey Boy STAFF
August 21st, 2009 | 152 replies | 9,283 views


Release Date: 2008 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Three hit singles and pretty much nothing else on this lazy, uninspired & disappointing follow-up.

There is a nice interplay between the titles of Evermore’s first two full-length releases; ‘Dreams‘ and ‘Real Life’. When starting out, it is indeed a “dream” for a band to become successful. When they finally do, they must settle into the “real life” of building a career out of their chosen vocation. Unfortunately for this pop-rock trio from New Zealand, the meanings of their album titles run deeper than that, with the debut being an ambitious & interesting offering, while the follow-up is a lazy single-centric LP that is full of short-cuts.

While achieving mild critical acclaim and respectable sales figures, ‘Dreams’ obviously was not enough for Evermore and/or their record label. And the best way for a young band to establish a larger fanbase is to have a smash hit single that becomes over-played to tedious levels. In the case of ‘Real Life’, all that energy is put into three differing tracks, which are clearly the highlights of the album.

With its hooky opening guitar chord, lead single ‘Running’ is a song that U2 would be proud to call their own. Including subtle background strings and deceptively catchy vocals, there is something alluringly atmospheric about this mid-tempo cut that makes it a winner. 3rd single ‘Unbreakable’ is the rockiest track on the LP, with its straight-forward up-tempo vibe recalling another British band in Snow Patrol. Sandwiched in between is the Australasian #1 hit ballad ‘Light Surrounding You’, which was seemingly whored out to every television series imaginable at the time of its release. A rather stock-standard polished pop-rock ballad, it is likeable & inoffensive without setting the world on fire. Think Snow Patrol’s ‘Chasing Cars’ and you wouldn’t be too far away.

And then there is the rest of the album… In a word, it can be summed up as “lazy”. For an up and coming band that showed almost too much ambition on debut, the lack of anything even approaching interesting on the remaining nine tracks is extremely disappointing. Whether the track is of the by-the-numbers mid-tempo variety, or of the slow-motion piano-ballad kind, everything is uninspired and rather boring. The only other song that shows any hint of ambition is the strange & theatrical acoustic opener, which ill-fittingly suggests a concept album.

Evermore’s ‘Real Life’ is one of those releases that has simply been manufactured for mass consumption and establishing a greater fanbase for the band. With its three hit singles, it was no surprise that it sold strongly and charted highly. However, even fans of the band would have to be disappointed with the end results. Lazy and uninspiring, it is a genuine disappointment from a band that is capable of much better.

Recommended Tracks: Running & Unbreakable.



Recent reviews by this author
Emmure Eternal EnemiesThe Pretty Reckless Going to Hell
Broods BroodsThe Jezabels The Brink
Fanfarlo Let's Go ExtinctAbandon All Ships Malocchio
user ratings (22)
Chart.
2.8
good

Comments:Add a Comment 
DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
August 21st 2009



20855 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

This is one of those albums where you hear the singles and then don't believe the negative reviews you are reading. However, on subsequently listening to the album, you totally agree with those reviews.

PuddlesPuddles
August 21st 2009



4767 Comments


Sounds like something I'd stay away from :/
But I am looking for new music, so maybe I'll check out their first album

Great review, Davey my Boy

marksellsuswallets
August 21st 2009



4848 Comments


So for two seconds I was like "what Davey did a Nevermore review?!" but alas, I was mistaken.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
August 21st 2009



20855 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Yeah Puddles, from what I have gleamed from your reviews, I don't think this would be your thing. And don't call me boy... SON! :-)

Brent, that was exactly what Trey said on my previous review. I should start a book of who will be first to be mistaken on album #3. Haha.

fromtheinside
August 21st 2009



17714 Comments


this sounds interesting based on what you recommended, but then the reviews totally puts a downer on things haha. enjoyable review.

Digging: Fallujah - The Flesh Prevails

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
August 21st 2009



20855 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

The Radiohead comparison is a bit of a reach actually. The sound is similar to the artists I list to a certain extent, although this particular album also has the blandness of bands such as The Fray.

Waior
August 21st 2009



11425 Comments


I like The Fray.

PuddlesPuddles
August 21st 2009



4767 Comments


I think we all have a little Fray and Creed inside us all. Most of us are ashamed to show that side to world. It's what society demands

Waior
August 21st 2009



11425 Comments


Wow, okay. But it's obvious The Fray > Creed.

PuddlesPuddles
August 21st 2009



4767 Comments


I like the drummer from Creed but the Fray's voice better.
Maybe said drummer should join said...Fray

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
August 21st 2009



20855 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

I'm not necessarily a Fray hater Caleb, but I was trying to convey the more simpler sound & song structures. And the fact that once you have heard a few of their songs, that's pretty much it.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
August 21st 2009



20855 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

"Maybe said drummer should join said...Fray"

Throw in Nickelback's guitarist & that's one hell of a supergroup! Haha.


Douglas
August 21st 2009



9061 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5 | Sound Off

COZ I SEE THE LIGHT SURROUNDING YOU!

The only good song this band has produced.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
August 21st 2009



20855 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

It looks like someone has been watching too many mediocre soaps!

Are you serious Dougie? It isn't even the best song on this album!

Jim
August 21st 2009



5110 Comments


i agree that light surrounding you follows a very generic formula, and it got played everywhere way too much.

i actually don't like the singles here as much as the first album's. they seemed more natural and less mainstream on the debut if you get me? or maybe it's just the OC thing again.

good review as well davey, boy.

Waior
August 21st 2009



11425 Comments


I made a DaveyBoy reference in my Jet review, bro

Jim
August 21st 2009



5110 Comments


where is that review, mang?

Waior
August 21st 2009



11425 Comments


It's waiting 'til 12:00 PT (aka 2 minutes)

Douglas
August 21st 2009



9061 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5 | Sound Off

Nah, only song I could stand

Douglas
August 21st 2009



9061 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5 | Sound Off

You can buy the album in Aus, so just post.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy