Cyanotic
Transhuman 2.0


4.0
excellent

Review

by Marko Polovina USER (90 Reviews)
August 18th, 2009 | 24 replies


Release Date: 2007 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Dating back as far as the first writings in ancient Mesopotamia, the concept remains on thoughts of many and some believe it may be realized with the form of future science and technology.

It's been a great while since I've had the pleasure of listening to heavy industrial destroy my ears. While the most notable industrial band of its genre (Nine Inch Nails) may have an accessible appeal there are fantastic depths of any genre to explore and despite many people's lack of discipline, including mine on the genre it would feel unjust to just listen to Reznor. Cyanotic's debut Transhuman would leave an imprint large enough to garner praise and even selling out the entire stock by the end of August of 2006. To show their thanks they released Transhuman 2.0, which in many ways than one is superior album then its source. Almost entirely new, Transhuman 2.0 adds remixes, well-known industrial artists such as Front Line Assembly and new tracks. Despite being pigeonholed because of their sound, Cyanotic would be traditional enough to garner industrial fans, while adding new elements of glitch and drum and bass to adding more accessibility for other enthusiasts.

Transhuman 2.0 in many respects breeds tons of malice and liveliness throughout it's journey. The album's brooding and heart-pounding atmosphere is marked in various tracks with conceptual samples, hard hitting vocals, and more importantly the type of industrial feeling that most wish was embodied by more bands. "Resurgance" could be categorized as exactly the sentiment I wish most bands approach their work with. Although "Resurgance" may be driving and sometimes tiresome, it still leaves the listener impressed. As expected some of this material, if not all is not for the faint of heart as it continuously never backs down for a moments notice. The programming and synths done by a collective effort used throughout the album is fantastic; the scarce instrumental tracks "Frequency (Recycled)" and "Altered States of Consciousness" (small sample piece) remain to be the perfect precursor and closer for the original album. While the concept of Transhuman 2.0 remains (the better of the human condition with the use of science and technology), the aspects underneath the lyricism are truly important. Payne seems to embrace the concept of co-existing with improved status, without illness or disease, but the underlying idea seems cold and harsh. This type of dualism mentality Payne exhibits is essentially what makes this Transhuman 2.0 worthy in the first place.

The machine may be running exceptionally well in Transhuman 2.0 because of its dark frame of mind, but the cog is most definitely the concept of transhumanism. While the search for immortality has been a story for quite some time, the entire concept could be either be embraced or remarkably dreadful. Payne basically is torn between the two. While the thoughts of living as an immortal has its benefits: never becoming sick or bedridden, the entire fixation of immortality feels like a sad state of affairs to him. Transhuman 2.0 discusses (in a matter of speaking) the fears of a man who has nothing to panic about and nothing to be worrisome of. While this may seem to be fantastic think of it? Would you grow so callous and dead from your years of livelihood on the inside you would care for nothing or would you eventually become paranoid to the state of insanity as "(Paranoid) Disbelief" would suggest. And although one side of the coin may be terrible in every circumstance, the other is what philosophers and scientists such as Benjamin Franklin and Charles Darwin could believe be plausible. Although these renowned philosophers, scientists, and stories (most notably the Epic of Gilgamesh, one of the earliest works of literary merit) aren't exactly what they thought transhumanism would be, they all had one goal of immortality. Despite the overall theme of the album, Transhuman 2.0 discusses in tiny measures an integral part of many people's lives, religion. If you would remain to be an immortal does that not refute the countless questions of God's existence and even without the discovery of immortality in a form of a wondrous potion or even scientific rebuilding it still remains to a void evidence and God himself. Yes, very anti-religious rhetoric, but the question is raised because of the overall concept of this album, which is why its remarkably effective in so many ways.



Recent reviews by this author
Mission of Burma UnsoundClark Iradelphic
Doomtree No KingsJane's Addiction The Great Escape Artist
Gang of Four ContentNine Inch Nails Pretty Hate Machine: 2010 Remaster
user ratings (27)
Chart.
4.1
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
MassiveAttack
August 18th 2009


2688 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I'm going to sleep so leave any comments and stuff, thanks. If there are any questions or hurtful comments I won't be able to get to them until tonight so...!

Willie
Moderator
August 18th 2009


15972 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Glad you liked this band. They have a new album coming soon, too (although I can't find much info on it).

Digging: Necropoli - I

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
August 18th 2009


8357 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

this needed a review so kudos, but I will be honest, this imo is nowhere near the best you have done, the whole 2-nd paragraph seems a bit awkward and needs some proofreading/fixing. Your review has a nice buildup/concept, but the flow is almost nonexsistent

Waior
August 18th 2009


11451 Comments


I thought this review was excellent. I would not like this at all though, thank you.

MassiveAttack
August 18th 2009


2688 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

See Metal you should take after Waior, but I see the first sentence in the 2nd paragraph is pretty horrid.

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
August 18th 2009


8357 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

the whole 2nd paragraph could do some proofreading :/

MassiveAttack
August 18th 2009


2688 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

You lie.

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
August 18th 2009


8357 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I do not

MassiveAttack
August 18th 2009


2688 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I know so I cleaned it up, hope it flows better to YOUR liking, see I emphasize the YOUR part because its just YOU.

































(Sarcasm not detected?)

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
August 18th 2009


8357 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

As expected some of this material, if not all is not for the faint of heart, it doesn't stop for a moment and never backs down. The programming and synths done by collective effort of the band used throughout the album is fantastic;
this is awkward

Willie
Moderator
August 19th 2009


15972 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I know so I cleaned it up, hope it flows better to YOUR liking, see I emphasize the YOUR part because its just YOU.
I agree with metalstyles, but you had told me that you were aware of issues and were going to fix them when you woke up, so I kept it to myself. Also, so many reviews were posted yesterday that this dropped off the main page way too fast. There are a few people that would have probably liked this.

MassiveAttack
August 19th 2009


2688 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I was being sarcastic (miss the ending?) and I fixed it last night if you didn't notice.

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
August 19th 2009


8357 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I am going to write down all the sentences that feel awkward just so you know. I'll put my versions instead them, if you wan't to use them then please do, if not, it's your decision.

While the most notable industrial band of its genre, Nine Inch Nails may have an accessible appeal there are fantastic depths of any genre to explore and despite many people's lack of discipline, including mine on the genre it would feel unjust to just listen to Reznor.
While Nine Inch Nails may be the most notable band in the industrial genre due to it's accessible appeal, there are fantastic depths in any genre to be explored and it would feel unjust to only listen to Reznor
To show their thanks they released Transhuman 2.0, which in many ways than one is superior album then its source
To show their gratitude, the band released Transhuman 2.0 which in more ways then one is superior to it's original source
Almost entirely new, Transhuman 2.0 adding remixes, well-known industrial artists such as Front Line Assembly and new tracks.
Transhuman 2.0 is almost an entirely new album that contains remixes done with well-know industrial artists (such as Fron Line Assembly) but also includes new songs as well.

Zip
August 19th 2009


5312 Comments


You have been editified by the stylez

MassiveAttack
August 19th 2009


2688 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

As usual.

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
August 19th 2009


8357 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

yeah actually you have no idea how I hate doing stuff like this, makes me look like a prick sometimes, but believe me, that is not my intention. My intention is that users capitalize on the skills they already have and push the maximum out of themselves to make this site's reviews as good as they can be.

MassiveAttack
August 19th 2009


2688 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I'm fucking around, you know me as well as the few other users I communicate with on here so you know I'm not being serious.

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
August 19th 2009


8357 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I know, I just pointed it out :-)

MassiveAttack
August 19th 2009


2688 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

No need to feel a bit embarassed for your corrections it helps, but I was talking to Willie about it (he sometimes has the same problem) I tend to write on paper whats going on in my head. Like I can't stop my train on of thought without pausing and making corrections, which what makes it difficult to correct my reviews, sounds great on paper, but if I look at it objectively parts of it aren't as good as I hoped. Eventually I'll get it down as I did in my william Basinski, M83, and Biosphere review. I suppose I rush the process because of my impatience.

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
August 19th 2009


8357 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I understand where you are coming from. Sometimes I also have that, except I never write on paper. It seems great to me, but when I look at it a hour later, mistakes start to pop up. Anyway I am glad you think that my corrections help.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy