Oasis
Familiar To Millions


3.5
great

Review

by Senor_Whippy USER (22 Reviews)
August 14th, 2005 | 17 replies


Release Date: 2001 | Tracklist


In 2000 one of Britain's most adored band Oasis,seemed lost.Their last two albums (1997's 'Be Here Now' and 1999's 'Standing On The Shoulders Of Giants') had been slated by crictics and they had departed from long-term drummer Alan White.Everything seemed to be going downhill.Even if they didn't have the same attitude and spirit as Oasis 94/95..Their fan base was stronger than ever.

This live album shows a fired up and cocky Oasis.Struting their stuff in front of 100,000 people at Wembley stadium on July 21st 2000.But it also could work quite nicely as a mini greatest hits package.

There's the classics 'Wonderwall' and 'Live Forever' which sound incredible.The same goes for the fantasic 'Cigarettes & Alcohol ' and 'Rock 'N' Roll Star'.The trademark Liam Gallagher drawl is here in full force on every track.As well as a band who make playing stadiums seem easy.

But then there's also the grim reminder of Oasis's not so great achivements like 'Gas Panic' and 'Acquiesce' which sound...well just plain ***.There is no life or passion just bloated dull indie rock.But still the crowd love it.But saying that,if Oasis farted on a CD it would still sell bucket loads.It's quite embrassing when you think about it.One of Britain's biggest bands who are still loved by millions.Have not released a decent album for over 11 years.'Familar to millions' does stand up well as a live album,but it also lacks depth and meaning.

If your already a hardcore Oasis fan you've probaly already got 'Familar To Million' so if your a new fan.Get 'Definitely Maybe' and 'What's the Story Morning Glory' and just download the rest.

Download:
Go Let It Out
Wonderwall
Cigarettes & Alcohol
Live Forever
Rock 'N' Roll Star

(***Listen to some of this album online at www.oasisinet.com now ***)

Thanks For Reading.



Recent reviews by this author
The Rapture EchoesArctic Monkeys Who The Fuck Are Arctic Monkeys?
Yeah Yeah Yeahs Show Your BonesThe Strokes Is This It
Kings of Leon Youth and Young ManhoodThe Prodigy Their Law:The Single 1990-2005
user ratings (112)
Chart.
3.5
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
Skinhead On The MBTA
August 14th 2005


24 Comments


Acquiesce is a great song, one of those ones that should have been an A-side, or at least put onto a proper album, not The Masterplan. Don't Believe the Truth is also a good album.

I really like this album, it shows what Oasis can do live, it shows the reaction that the songs have with the live crowd, and it has Helter Skelter at the end.

Senor_Whippy
August 14th 2005


367 Comments


I think this albums good it's got all the best stuff off the first two records.But it's just Who Feels Love?,Acquiesce and Gas Panic! what really put me off.Take them three off and you've got a 4 star rated album.I don't belive the truth (sorry i had to) i don't like any Oasis albums since mourning glory.Heathen Chemistry had some decent moments mind.
This Message Edited On 08.14.05

Meteora3255
August 14th 2005


194 Comments


I love Oasis, and this review doesn't do anything for anyone sorry for being so harsh. Every time you review a band I like it seems like you just put out the shortest quickest possible review with minimal if any details. Maybe if you took some time and wrote a thoughtful descriptive review and dint spend so much time giving information on the artist you might be able to write a decently well written and helpful review.

Senor_Whippy
September 29th 2005


367 Comments


I know it's not much but I have started to make improvements to some of my old reviews.This been one of them.

Knoxvillelives
September 29th 2005


342 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Shit review, good album though
They rock ass live, far too many chavs though

Storm In A Teacup
October 2nd 2005


13154 Comments


Not that good of a reveiw, but you've been improving lately.

LINK2K99
April 2nd 2006


48 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I disagree completly on Acquiesce being one of Oasis's worst songs. Noel's vocals really shine in said song.This Message Edited On 04.02.06

Nandrucu
April 10th 2006


61 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

i believe that Acquiesce is one of Oasis's best song, and I reckon that Gas Panic! is their best song, although I haven't heard Definitely Maybe yet (i have 4 other albums), so that doesn't really say much i suppose

morrissey
Moderator
April 10th 2006


1688 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Definitely Maybe is my favourite album of theirs, you should check it out. Live Forever = ace.

morrissey
Moderator
April 10th 2006


1688 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

The good thing about getting the crap albums first is they probably make the others seem revolutionary by comparison.

Nandrucu
April 17th 2006


61 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

The reason i don't have Definitely Maybe was because i was interested in why i'd only heard of (What's The Story) Morning Glory?, which i already had, and Definitely Maybe when i went to the CD store about a year ago, and decided to chek out there other stuff (i'm only 13).

Nandrucu
April 17th 2006


61 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

by the way, is there a difference between the two Familiar to millions albums, besides an abbrieviated track list?

LINK2K99
June 25th 2006


48 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

The red version more tracks, including great covers of Hey, Hey, My, My(Into The Black)and Helter Skelter.

Isola
June 26th 2006


421 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Who Feels Love? Gas Panic and Acquiesce is the best ones on this.

Isola
April 21st 2007


421 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Isn't the solo's on Stand By Me awesome? The live version kicks the album version totally.

royscoop19
April 2nd 2010


137 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

"But then there's also the grim reminder of Oasis's not so great achivements like 'Gas Panic' and 'Acquiesce' which sound...well just plain ***.There is no life or passion just bloated dull indie rock.But still the crowd love it.But saying that,if Oasis farted on a CD it would still sell bucket loads.It's quite embrassing when you think about it.One of Britain's biggest bands who are still loved by millions.Have not released a decent album for over 11 years.'Familar to millions' does stand up well as a live album,but it also lacks depth and meaning"

Eh?

Gas Panic and Acquiesce are actually 2 of their best songs. If you're gonna try say something controversial at least use some actual crap songs to back it up.

The 'There and then' Dvd kicks this into the dirt though. Liam vocals were majestic 1994-1997, now he sounds like Kermit the bloody frog.

danrawkz
April 6th 2013


335 Comments


This is a really good live album, a lot of these songs sound great live on this/have a different flavour from the CD versions. A lot of live albums don't get this tbh and sound too much like the recordings.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy