Against Me!
Reinventing Axl Rose


5.0
classic

Review

by Adam Thomas STAFF
August 15th, 2009 | 125 replies


Release Date: 2002 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Dear mother, this is just survival

This review in its original incarnation was a long-winded pile of bullshit. A contrived narrative about the state of punk rock and my reasonings as to why I believe that Against Me!'s Reinventing Axl Rose is the genre's finest moment. Luckily, a beer and another run through the album later, I managed to get my head out of my ass long enough to scrap that idea. Reinventing Axl Rose wasn't meant to be taken apart brick by brick and over-analyzed. It is a cathartic release of Tom Gabel's frustrations and fervor. A perfectly packaged smorgasbord of political manifesto, personal struggle, and freewheeling world view set to the tune of towering sing-alongs.

From Warren Oakes' militant snare that ushers in the album on the galloping "Pints of Guinness Make You Strong" to the distant and solitary feedback that closes it on "8 Full Hours of Sleep", Reinventing Axl Rose is a powder-keg of incendiary ideals and do it yourself ethic. While Gabel's anarchist call to arms may seem shallow in misguided at first glance, his blistering howls soar on the power of his (at the time) deep rooted convictions. At its most uproarious, Reinventing Axl Rose hits with the youthfully optimistic "We Laugh At Danger (And Break All the Rules)" and the scathingly accusatory "Walking is Still Honest", all complimenting the more subdued emotional family narrative of "Pints of Guinness Make You Strong" and the dogmatic "Baby, I'm An Anarchist". The album's namesake song ends with it's most important sentiment: "We all are stronger than everything they taught us that we should fear."



Recent reviews by this author
At the Gates At War with RealityWeezer Everything Will Be Alright in the End
YOB Clearing The Path To AscendUnited Nations The Next Four Years
Matter TeraphimThe Hotelier Home, Like NoPlace Is There
user ratings (905)
Chart.
4.2
excellent
other reviews of this album
zach (3.5)
...

pedro durruti (5)
...


Comments:Add a Comment 
Athom
Staff Reviewer
August 15th 2009


17224 Comments


I fucking love this

charlesfishowitz
August 15th 2009


1794 Comments


wtf

WHO POSd

klap
Staff Reviewer
August 15th 2009


10545 Comments


SOUNDOFF

but seriously, short reviews rule

Digging: Jessie Ware - Tough Love

Transient
August 15th 2009


1461 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

but when it came time to throw bricks through that starbucks window you left me all alone


all alone :'(

Kiran
Emeritus
August 15th 2009


6002 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

reminds me that i haven't listened to this enough

Digging: Harry Nilsson - Nilsson Schmilsson

Captain Civic
August 15th 2009


280 Comments


Sounds interesting.

Gyromania
August 15th 2009


15967 Comments


Amazing! I am glad to see a well written 5 review for this. You like it slightly more than I do but I may eventually bump it to a 5. Good job man! pos

PanasonicYouth
August 15th 2009


7412 Comments


album FUCKING RULES.
review is short, sweet, and to the point. pos'd.

Captain North
August 15th 2009


6791 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Holy shit, thank you for reviewing. Second listening now and it's fucking amazing.

Athom
Staff Reviewer
August 15th 2009


17224 Comments


glad you liked it.

Tulannical
August 15th 2009


2051 Comments


i've never heard this but i think i'll listen to it right now. nice review btw

scyther
August 15th 2009


1606 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

It's good but some parts of this thing are so. damn. boring.

tom79
August 15th 2009


3380 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Maybe the best album ever

Digging: Nai Harvest - Whatever

ryan42138
August 15th 2009


65 Comments


i dont see anything all that special in this. everything ive heard from it is pretty average. then
again, ive only heard a few songs (no more than one listen through each) so my opinion may change.

Captain North
August 15th 2009


6791 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Maybe you just don't get punk.

ryan42138
August 15th 2009


65 Comments


no i actually love punk. like i said though, i still have to give it a good listen

Captain North
August 17th 2009


6791 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

okay, I've been spinning this constantly for the past few days. And the weather is so perfect. Amazing combination. Love, love, love this album. First time I've felt content in ages.

Captain North
August 20th 2009


6791 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Album is now officially classic in my opinion.

Athom
Staff Reviewer
August 20th 2009


17224 Comments


that was quick


Captain North
August 20th 2009


6791 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I can always take it away if it doesn't stand the test of time. But at the moment, I'm playing it near constantly and it's managing to have an impact every single time I hear it. That's a rare thing.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy