The Galvatrons
Laser Graffiti


2.0
poor

Review

by Davey Boy STAFF
August 13th, 2009 | 83 replies | 10,090 views


Release Date: 2009 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Nope, it’s nothing to do with Transformers. This is Chee-za-eee Synth-Rock straight out of the 80s.

Have you ever had one of those experiences when someone states something and you instantly laugh thinking the person is either joking or at least exaggerating profusely? Their stunned reaction of silence, disgust or embarrassment immediately conveys to you that they were 100% serious and your response was inappropriate. It is the same feeling one feels when you listen to Australian quartet The Galvatrons’ debut full-length release ‘Laser Graffiti’… You simply have no idea whether the album is a serious endeavor, or one big prank for $hits and giggles!

Having only formed in mid 2007, The Galvatrons play a flamboyant & high-energy brand of synth-rock that is straight out of the 1980s. ‘Laser Graffiti’ also has a Queen-like sci-fi bent that is immediately shown on 70 second introductory track ‘And So They Invade…’, which includes more than a touch of the ‘2001: A Space Odyssey’ theme, before the band vocally declare “We’re here to save the world”! The Flash Gordon vibe then continues on follow-up ‘The First Starfighter’, on which lead vocalist Johnny Galvatron methodically informs “We’ve lost all power to main controls”!

Oh, but the fun does not stop there. It seems like our captain for this journey into space also has a disease which makes him over-enunciate certain words. On the album’s 2nd single, he somehow turns ‘Cassandra’ into a four syllable word. Band is “bund”, France is “Fruntz” and I seriously did a double-take on the title track when he said the word “can’t”. Although, that may have also had something to do with the fact that the song’s chorus is “Well I never ever knew that she was only 17”!

On the positive side of the ledger, The Galvatrons do pull out a few catchy cuts. The aforementioned ‘Cassandra’ wriggles its way into your mind like an infectious disease, while lead single ‘We Were Kids’ & ‘She’s In Love’ prove that the band are at their best when leaning towards the keys-heavy hard-rock of Van Halen. Unfortunately, it all gets too ridiculous & repetitive after a while, resulting in the album feeling front-loaded. Worse yet, ballads ‘Stella’ and closer ‘Galaxy Destroyer’ are rather boring, which is quite a feat for music which is so outlandish and in-your-face.

During a recent interview, David Lee Roth look-alike Johnny Galvatron declared “we tried to make every song as ridiculous as we could”. While even this statement is difficult to take entirely seriously, one almost feels like giving credit to the band for their dedication in meeting objectives. The fact that many songs are so outlandish & fun makes them memorable in a way that could earn the LP extra plays over passable albums. However, when all is said and done, ‘Laser Graffiti’ can only be recommended to those who like overblown power-chords, highly-mixed synths/keys, and trips into outer space.

Recommended Tracks: We Were Kids & Cassandra.



Recent reviews by this author
Emmure Eternal EnemiesThe Pretty Reckless Going to Hell
Broods BroodsThe Jezabels The Brink
Fanfarlo Let's Go ExtinctAbandon All Ships Malocchio
user ratings (7)
Chart.
1.8
poor

Comments:Add a Comment 
DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
August 13th 2009



20856 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

I really need to find out how to post pics here. These guys need to be seen to be believed.

Knott-
Emeritus
August 13th 2009



10195 Comments


Hahaha this review is fucking top.

‘Laser Graffiti’ can only be recommended to those who like overblown power-chords, highly-mixed synths/keys, and trips into outer space.

- strangely enough that sounds like me but I doubt I'll be checking this out.

lead vocalist Johnny Galvatron

- hahahahahahahahahahahaha

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
August 13th 2009



20856 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Adam, if this band turns out to be your thing, then I would totally give up on trying to peg down your musical tastes.

Waior
August 13th 2009



11451 Comments


Ballsy, Davey. Haha. You know, you calling everybody by their first names and you not actually having a real name is starting to irritate my weary soul.

But excellent review. But this: "$hits" is a bit disconcerting.

Knott-
Emeritus
August 13th 2009



10195 Comments


His voice is ridiculous but Cassandra and When We Were Young are win lol. Are they far and away the best songs here?

AtavanHalen
August 13th 2009



17927 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0 | Sound Off

Jesus Christ...

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
August 13th 2009



20856 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Yes DavID... You called me.

Haha, I thought you'd be a fan Mstr. Young. I think you secretly dress up like Johnny & you just won't admit it.

Hey Caleb, if you think about it real hard, you'll probably be able to work out my first name... And maybe even my surname!

Adam, you're really starting to worry me now. Umm, they are the 2 singles & 'She's In Love' is supposed to be next. I'd have that as my 3rd best song. BUT if you like Devo, you may be interested in 'Robots' Are Cool' which is a bit of a live favorite.

AtavanHalen
August 13th 2009



17927 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0 | Sound Off

Band makes me want to hang myself.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
August 13th 2009



20856 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Now now DavID... No need to go all suicidal on us.

Your main event of the evening is a Steel Cage Match between The Galvatrons vs Short Stack, with special guest referee Mstr. DavID Young.

Waior
August 13th 2009



11451 Comments


Hey Caleb, if you think about it real hard, you'll probably be able to work out my first name... And maybe even my surname!


I'm tempted to say Champ Kind. While I'll naively always call you Davey, at heart I know your name is Valamir Schleckolov.

Knott-
Emeritus
August 13th 2009



10195 Comments


Haha I just listened to Cassandra a second time, I'll pass thanks. WWWY is still kinda good though.

Does that mean I'm gay?

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
August 13th 2009



20856 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Close Caleb. It's Champ Schleckolov.

Adam, you mean "Cas-sand-errrr-raaaaaaaaa".

And no, that does not make you gay. It just states that you like to dress up in tight leather pants & put make-up on.

Douglas
August 13th 2009



9097 Comments


These guys are the epitome of shit

Digging: James Vincent McMorrow - Post Tropical

AtavanHalen
August 13th 2009



17927 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0 | Sound Off

I live for the day where Champ Kind gets his actual name legally changed to Champ Kind

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
August 13th 2009



20856 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Hey Dougie, correct me if I'm wrong, but they're from around your parts, aren't they?

Any chance you are secretly one of the members of The Galvatrons?

Douglas
August 13th 2009



9097 Comments


Unfortunately they are. And hell no.

Waior
August 13th 2009



11451 Comments


Dougie is absolutely part of this band. I've done my research. Dougie is also a chronic liar.

Douglas
August 13th 2009



9097 Comments


Being mentioned within the same sentence of this band makes me cringe.

Waior
August 13th 2009



11451 Comments


Dougie The Galvatrons Dougie The Galvatrons Dougie The Galvatrons

Douglas
August 13th 2009



9097 Comments


Ugh, hitting the nerve!

What happened to the Millionares review? Or did you find Coldplay more enticing? You chose well.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy