Tim McGraw
Live Like You Were Dying


4.0
excellent

Review

by trev913 USER (4 Reviews)
August 12th, 2005 | 16 replies | 4,192 views


Release Date: 2004 | Tracklist


While browsing SputnikMuisc last night, I noticed something. It was a LACK of reviews. No, don't start worrying. It was a lack of reviews for a certain, commonly overlooked genre - one normally shunned by many, liked by few. This genre is country music.

Tim McGraw is one of country's prized artists. With Garth Brooks' steady decline in the mid-Nineties, Tim McGraw inherited country music's throne and has gone on to sell tens of millions of records since first hitting the scene in 1993. With about a dozen singles under his belt since his self-titled debut album, he's gone on to become one of the biggest, most powerful artists in the genre.

McGraw's 2004 release "Live Like You Were Dying" showcases Tim and his backing band, The Dancehall Doctors running the musical gamut - from heartfelt dedications (the disc's title track and first single, "Live Like You Were Dying") to the blues rock of "How Bad Do You Want It".

Most of the disc does, though, stick to Tim's softer side. He deals with subjects like suicide (the aptly titled "Kill Myself"), drugs (the second single, "Drugs or Jesus"), death ("Live Like You Were Dying", dedicated to his dad who died of brain cancer in early 2004), and of course the old country favorite, lost love ("Something's Broken"). There's no doubt that this is Tim's most emotional release yet.

Don't get him wrong, though. McGraw is no emo kid. Tunes like "How Bad Do You Want It", the conservative retrospect of "Back When", and "Everybody Hates Me" are combinations of country, blues, and rock.

For this disc, Tim McGraw has found balance. One minute he's doing the soulful crooning found in older songs of his, like "Don't Take the Girl", and the next he's doing straightforward good-times rock. He proves here that neither him nor his band are musically limited, which can be good or bad. It's most definitely good, because his approach allows him more fans, as he covers a variety of musical stylings. However, the downside is that some of his more traditionalist fans would call it selling out. Lads and lasses, Tim McGraw has NOT sold out...except maybe in the CD aisle at your local K-Mart. Even if you're not much of a country fan, there's something for everyone to love here. Give this disc a try!

Track Highlights:
Live Like You Were Dying
Back When
Kill Myself
How Bad Do You Want It


user ratings (23)
Chart.
2.5
average
related reviews

Set This Circus Down

Comments:Add a Comment 
trev913
August 12th 2005



10 Comments


Damn...I'm sorry about the random smilies, guys.

masada
August 12th 2005



2733 Comments


I've heard this album, and it's the same as every other pop-country album out today.This Message Edited On 08.12.05

Shadows
Moderator
August 12th 2005



2530 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

I agree that sputnik has a lack of reviews. I think to be truly comprehensive we should have a good selection of reviews for every genre.

But sadly, I strongly dislike country. I have friends who listen to nothing but country so I hear quite a bit. Modern country isn't even really country anymore - it's more like pop music with a twang. This guy in particular bugs me (unlike Alan Jackson or Brad Paisley who bug me less than this )

But either way, very good review.

Jawaharal
August 12th 2005



1832 Comments

Album Rating: 0.5

I live in nashville and I have to suffer his crap on the radio each day. :upset:

FauxApathy
August 12th 2005



98 Comments


This guy is bad even compared to other country....
I've heard the album, and all the songs sound alike to me.

(who knows, maybe to country fans, all music in the rock genres sound the same)

canadapantsman
August 13th 2005



236 Comments


yeah maybe it is shunned. country music that is. the reason i say that is because none of the ppl who listen to country actually listen to country. its pop with a redneck accent and guitars instead of keyboards.

go listen to some hank williams. or garth brooks for that matter, hes more country than timmy.

Captain_HumpYourFace
August 13th 2005



119 Comments


My mom is into country so I've actually heard this album more times than I'd like to. I just can't get into the genre and don't think I ever will but he seems to be writting some emotional songs which I can respect and he's clearly good at what he does.

I just can't enjoy what he does, but keep the country reviews coming this site needs to be as comprehensive as possible. (And with that I go off to review a Bay City Rollers album... I'm not kidding.)

beau99
October 8th 2006



60 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I'm not a fan of modern country music, but even Tim McGraw is more country than say, his wife.

MrKite
December 30th 2006



5020 Comments


Not too big on country (so far from what I've heard I only enjoy Johnny Cash) especially this fuckin' po country or whatever. It's all the same stuff and is horribley annoying and cheesey.

Eliminator
December 30th 2006



2067 Comments


yeah dude johnny cash IS THE MAN no good country besides him this pop country stuff sucks

mynameischan
Staff Reviewer
December 30th 2006



17920 Comments


the man IN BLACK

MrKite
December 30th 2006



5020 Comments


yeah dude johnny cash IS THE MAN no good country besides him this pop country stuff sucks

I can't tell whether you're mocking my opinion or not. I will just assumer you're mocking it.

JumpTheF**kUp
December 30th 2006



2710 Comments


The only country song I like is 'All My Exes Live in Texas' which was played on K-Rose on GTA: San Andreas. :p

JoelC
December 8th 2008



5 Comments


Country dosent sound the same to me..because i listen to it alot. but when i first was i thought it all sounded the same..as with rock.

But this album is awesome.

Storm In A Teacup
November 8th 2011



12701 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I like Drugs or Jesus and a couple others off this.

KjSwantko
December 10th 2011



9277 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

This album honestly just sucks compared to earlier releases. I think I may need to start helping to correct this lack of country reviews thing on the Sput



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy