Capsule (US)
Blue


4.5
superb

Review

by dch528 USER (1 Reviews)
July 30th, 2009 | 32 replies | 8,535 views


Release Date: 2008 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Extremely melodic, technical, and emotional Hardcore that will break your conceptions of Hardcore Punk, and music in general.

1 of 1 thought this review was well written

Capsule's Blue is a superb album coming from former members of Tunes for Bears to Dance To, Colin Smith and Erik Hernandez. Out of all the great bands spawning off the currently on hiatus TFBTDT (***storm, Torche, Monarcs, Mehkago N.T., Osceola), Capsule's Blue is, in my opinion the most in depth and musically satisfying.

The album has a great balance of technical and melodic hardcore riffage, to downright heavy chugs on their E Strings to break the tension caused by their insanely virtuous playing, and slow, dehydrating drones.

The start with True Blue and Cobalt Connection set the mood for the entire record, truly letting you feel the emotion with furious gang vocals chanting behind cutting guitar passages. To most this may seem like pure chaos, hence their use of odd rhythms, but the album, in my opinion is based on emotion, not structure.

This album does not have the standard verse/chorus/verse structure of a pop album, which may deter some listeners, but to true fans of Hardcore, Post-Hardcore and even Metal can come to enjoy this album, feeding off its energy and the bands outstanding display of musicianship.

Highlight Tracks:

Title Track
Cobalt Connection
Sepsis
Flowerpower
True Blue


user ratings (69)
Chart.
4
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
mynameischan
Staff Reviewer
July 30th 2009



17920 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

album rules

thomasj12e34
July 30th 2009



195 Comments


nice short review

Iluvatar
Staff Reviewer
July 31st 2009



16083 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This shit is bomb cool dudes too

essplode
July 31st 2009



92 Comments


dig

accompliceofmydeath
September 9th 2009



4192 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I can't believe I've never heard of these guys. Checking now.

Digging: Devo - Freedom of Choice

ffs
April 27th 2010



4856 Comments


this cd came free in the post with my cannabis corpse tshirt what the hell

SrightryEpic
April 27th 2010



1197 Comments


never really got into these dudes that's pretty awesome though

auraasylumwall
April 28th 2010



51 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Incredible album. It's really something that they've managed to craft a really worthwhile album whilst the majority of the "heavy" music world regurgitates the same song over and over.

PatchworkNeurology
March 24th 2011



352 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Man I still loveeeeeeeee this shizzz

accompliceofmydeath
April 12th 2011



4192 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Enjoying the Botch-y-ness of this.

ImpossibleInfluence2
April 28th 2011



2 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This album is so good, I just ordered the vinyl

Kris.
June 18th 2011



12230 Comments


fuck determinal is so fucking hevy

FilupLees
July 14th 2011



344 Comments


This vinyl looks so cool. It's just awesome.

coleba
July 17th 2011



788 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Album is awesome. Guitars are like armageddon.

coleba
July 18th 2011



788 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Oh and album cover is coolest non-Tool Tool album cover ever.

eternium
August 23rd 2011



16332 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

SO FUCKING good live.

BallsToTheWall
September 11th 2011



44164 Comments


Guess I should hear these guys before I see them.

Attis
September 11th 2011



333 Comments


you should, album rules pretty hard

SadAndHolyGlow
August 17th 2012



1510 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

This album was my jam for awhile, but I never thought of it is highly as most do. Still good, though.

Digging: Vallendusk - Black Clouds Gathering

eternium
August 17th 2012



16332 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

It's worth a lot more than a 3.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy