The Word Alive
Empire


4.0
excellent

Review

by asm1041 USER (1 Reviews)
July 19th, 2009 | 50 replies | 19,815 views


Release Date: 2009 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Shedding the last remains of Craig Mabbitt, Telle Smith takes helm of The Word Alive and helps create one, solid debut EP.

4 of 5 thought this review was well written

The Word Alive's debut EP is another post hardcore record that features both clean and screamed vocals, winding guitars, an abundance of double bass and a keyboard. Tons of bands follow this formula, but The Word Alive is able to create something catchy, heavy, fast, emotional and epic...all at the same time.

Empire is another one of those 'genre-bending' releases, except they do it right. This album truly sounds different with every song. How many other Post-Hardcore albums can claim this? "The Only Rule Is That There Are No Rules" is breakdown filled and heavy throughout, whereas "Quit While You're Ahead" sounds like a metalcore version of an Emerosa song. In a scene that is vastly overpopulated, The Word Alive brings us a handful of fresh sounds in this EP.

Tyler 'Telle' Smith is fantastic on vocals. A great singer and strong screamer (backed by guitarist Zack Hanson and Tony Pizzuti), Telle has finally found his home in a band. Guitars are amazing throughout, consisting of complex riffs and shredding solos, while also using some generic open-stringed breakdowns, which do not overpopulate the album. Excellent drumming by photographer Tony Aguilera, but a special mention to keyboardist Dusty Riach. Bands are finally starting to realize that keyboardists can actually add some strong elements to a song. Dusty's keys add that little extra spark to make this album stand out.

The standout track on the album is their new mix of Casanova Rodeo. I say this because it is clear that this song wasn't written at a different time, by a different person (being ex-vocalist Craig Mabbitt). The song is also the simpilist song on the EP, as well as being the most catchy. If you were a fan of TWA with Craig, this song will most likely disappoint. Although Telle does the best to make it his own, he shines on the other 5 tracks.

For a band who has put out only one, 6-tracked EP, The Word Alive has already made their way into the scene. Empire is an increabily strong first release for the band, which shows expetional promise for the future. Expect a stunning full length from these guys soon.


user ratings (359)
Chart.
3.5
great
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
ABlandLife
July 19th 2009



141 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

nice review. its about time these guys finally have a band that has stuck together (being a phoenix native I know this group of guys have gone through 3 bands/lineups).

LegendofPittman
July 19th 2009



2943 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I love all of the songs I have heard of this cd so far. Im very excited to hear it all,especially the new Casanova Rodeo.

atrink
Contributing Reviewer
July 19th 2009



2809 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

telle is a horrible vocalist. craig should have stayed here

bloc
July 19th 2009



34679 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

these dudes actually know how to play guitar yo. i was quite impressed with some of the leads.

Digging: Anberlin - Lowborn

Douglas
July 19th 2009



9061 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

Album blows. Review needs some work also

Douglas
July 19th 2009



9061 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

And apparently I wrote a sound off for this

ryanwraith
July 22nd 2009



2 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

great album

Comatorium.
July 23rd 2009



4090 Comments


im on first track now. telle's got a good singing and screaming voice. good guitars so far. if it keeps up, this is easily a 4-4.5. its sort of like blessthefall if they didnt suck now.

Douglas
July 23rd 2009



9061 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

Blows

Comatorium.
July 23rd 2009



4090 Comments


yeah i got all the way through. solid 3.5

ABlandLife
July 23rd 2009



141 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

well Zack is the younger brother to BTF's guitarist Mike and they used to local tour all the time in the old bands, so big influences there

atrink
Contributing Reviewer
July 23rd 2009



2809 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

they've got different last names

Douglas
July 23rd 2009



9061 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

Still blows, a friend convinced me to listen because 'they were the next big thing.' Cant see that anywhere in these dudes

ryanwraith
July 30th 2009



2 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

why do you keep commenting on it if you dont like it? lol seems kinda pointless

Douglas
July 30th 2009



9061 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

Since I am allowed to voice my opinion

zyphur
July 31st 2009



5 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I actually like this a lot, Inviting Eyes is great.

shortone323
August 8th 2009



883 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I'm going to see these guys tonight with We Came as Romans. I'm really loving this record, it's sick.

jamesiscake
August 15th 2009



14 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This album is quite good, the guitars are really well done, and this might just be me, but the competent keyboards/synth on this record blows a TON of other bands using synth out of the water

qdgyu
October 3rd 2009



34 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I am really liking this band, great songs, great musicianship, great vocals. I think these guys are gunna do very well when they realase an album.

on a sidenote, i hope the band Craig is gunna be starting up will be good, he seems to have bad luck with starting bands(and joining crappy ones)

Killmuffin
October 12th 2009



9 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Telle is ok, i don't think he is horrilbe. Although the band isn't anything spectactular the songs are catchy, loud, and listenable, so i like it. Fav song is Inviting Eyes.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy