Kreator
Pleasure to Kill


4.5
superb

Review

by sonictheplumber STAFF USER (107 Reviews)
July 17th, 2009 | 40 replies | 4,662 views


Release Date: 1986 | Tracklist


4 of 10 thought this review was well written

Kreator is pretty much the biggest German thrash band, and for a good reason too. They're awesome. Even nowadays, their music is just as heavy as it was in the 80's. And the production's better too. But the album that established Kreator as one of the head-honchos of thrash was 1986's Pleasure to Kill.

This album, for lack of a better word, rules. These guys know how to thrash. The riffs are fast, the lyrics are brutal; it's like Germany's answer to Reign in Blood.

The only bad thing is, it's not as good as Reign in Blood. The only problem with Pleasure to Kill is its vocals. And that's only when their drummer is singing. He's basically Governor Arnie singing thrash metal. But when their guitarist is singing, it's simply thrash perfection.

If you like thrash in the slightest, acquire Pleasure to Kill right now. It's pretty brutal. And awesome. If you can get past the bad production (it's like Kill 'Em All) and the drummer's Hitler-esque vocals on some of the songs, you'll love this album. If you like thrash, that is.



Recent reviews by this author
Sieges Even Life CycleKorpiklaani Ukon Wacka
Thergothon Stream From The HeavensThe Obsessed Lunar Womb
Saint Vitus Mournful CriesKate Bush The Kick Inside
user ratings (614)
Chart.
4.2
excellent
other reviews of this album
therealkerryking (2)
In what world......

ImTheOnlyThugInTheBuildin (3.5)
A supposed Classic........ Yeah, right....

Matthijs van der Lee (3.5)
CHAOS....

Dethtrasher (3.5)
...


Comments:Add a Comment 
Hawks
July 17th 2009



35623 Comments


Probably the shortest review I've seen on the site.

Digging: Engraved - Before The Tales

foreverendeared
July 17th 2009



14678 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

usually i'm ok with short reviews, but this is definitely Soundoff short

illmitch
July 17th 2009



5429 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

...what?

this album rules though

Zip
July 17th 2009



5312 Comments


Delite

KILL
July 17th 2009



71454 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

pos coz album rules

Digging: Invisible - El jardin de los presentes

Zip
July 17th 2009



5312 Comments


lol wut

KILL
July 17th 2009



71454 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

u erd

Meatplow
July 18th 2009



5524 Comments


still my favourite Kreator

Dethtrasher
July 18th 2009



2211 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Killer band, ripping album, super sound off.

RippingCorpse
September 17th 2010



1086 Comments


RIPPING CORPSE
ATTAAAAAAAAAAAAACK

KILL
December 1st 2011



71454 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

great review

BigHans
December 1st 2011



26455 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

thrashes hard

AngelofDeath
Staff Reviewer
December 1st 2011



16135 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Top three thrash.

KILL
December 1st 2011



71454 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

this is almost like a dethtrasher review it rules

BigHans
December 1st 2011



26455 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I like Sodom better.

linguist2011
Contributing Reviewer
January 22nd 2012



1860 Comments


This album is a beast. The trnasition from the rawness of their debut to this was very differential. The drums and riffs are so fast its as if kreator almost created blastbeats.

Digging: Pallbearer - Foundations of Burden

ValeriusTheImmortal
January 22nd 2012



1237 Comments


this album is so god damn brutal it took a while for it to sink in, but once it did it fit like a glove. i preferred their debut for a while over this. this album is one of, if not the most brutal album of the 80s, and it's still uncompromising today. as far as "not as good as Reign in Blood", at this moment I am going to have to disagree.

KILL
January 22nd 2012



71454 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i'm the only one who pos'd this review lol

ValeriusTheImmortal
January 22nd 2012



1237 Comments


have another m/

KILL
January 22nd 2012



71454 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

dude 1 out of 8 i dont get it



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy