Hurt
Goodbye To The Machine


4.0
excellent

Review

by Super Grover USER (32 Reviews)
July 13th, 2009 | 27 replies | 12,215 views


Release Date: 2009 | Tracklist


2 of 2 thought this review was well written

Passing over the Pink Floyd reference in the album's title, there are several "machines" to whom Hurt may be wishing farewell on their third release of note (cause honestly, f*ck anything with "Consumation" in the title)--- Capitol Records for one, who parted ways with the band after the release of Vol. II, their entire rhythm section, or, most notably, their old sound. Gone, for the most part, are the progressive elements that fueled Machine's predecessors, leaving a fairly straightforward rock record in their wake. While this dumbing-down of sorts serves as a hindrance for parts of the record (longtime fans may need some time to adjust to the sexually-tinged opening twosome, or in more likelihood, the freaking Seether guy singing on a Hurt album), J. Loren's songwriting keeps the band consistently well above water. There are several tracks here that would’ve stood out like a sore thumb on the Volumes: "Pills" bubbles with the newfound catchiness of a band reborn, while “That (Such a Thing)” is more of a slow dancer than a band trademark slow burner. “Well” and “Wars” recall vintage ‘06 form, reminding listeners that even though stylistically the album may be lighter, on a whole Hurt remain as grim and yearning as ever. Goodbye to the Machine is a surprise, surely, but the record packs just enough punch to avoid being a disappointment. What it can’t avoid, however, is the reputation as the beginning of the crossroads between commercial and creative motives for the band. Time will tell on which road Hurt chooses.



Recent reviews by this author
Friendzone DXThe Twilight Singers Blackberry Belle
The National Trouble Will Find MeAlice In Chains The Devil Put Dinosaurs Here
The Airborne Toxic Event Such Hot BloodMeat Puppets Rat Farm
user ratings (140)
Chart.
3.7
great
other reviews of this album
Blswylde (5)
Rock music perfected, this is a must hear classic masterpiece....

tvol (2.5)
Definitely not the Hurt of old... nothing more than an average mainstream rock album....

related reviews

Volume 1

Vol. II

The Crux

Comments:Add a Comment 
jingledeath
July 13th 2009



7104 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Great review, fantastic album

shindip
July 13th 2009



3536 Comments


I dont really like this band, but if this is as good as it sounds i better check it out

Romulus
July 13th 2009



8373 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I'm a bit of a fanboy but I fully recommend it

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
July 14th 2009



20829 Comments


So if people who have heard this album were to compare it with any other particular band (Reco by reviewer section Ryan), who would that be...???

handoman
July 14th 2009



2380 Comments


korn

Lucid
Contributing Reviewer
July 14th 2009



6965 Comments


So if people who have heard this album were to compare it with any other particular band (Reco by reviewer section Ryan), who would that be...???

This band is like a MUCH improved Nickelback/Daughtry.


Digging: Perfume Genius - Learning

Zizzer
July 14th 2009



915 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Saw them live at pointfest but they only played like a half an hour.

My friend says this album is the shit so i think i might check it out

Romulus
July 14th 2009



8373 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

edit: damn this was a horrible comparison

EVedder27
September 22nd 2009



6088 Comments


Nice review man. This sounds great I'll be getting it in the next few days.

PayneTiger777
September 22nd 2009



4368 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Probably in my top 3 of favorite albums to come out this year.

ilovebabies
September 22nd 2009



76 Comments


This took so long to grow on me but now I love it.

Romulus
September 22nd 2009



8373 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Nice review man. This sounds great I'll be getting it in the next few days.


Judging from what you like (mainly what I like) I think you should like it.

And yeah, it's definitely up there for me.

Xenophanes
Emeritus
October 19th 2009



10556 Comments


I have no intention of listening to this, but the review was great so i'll pos!

Digging: Saintseneca - Dark Arc

Romulus
November 9th 2009



8373 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Well this grew off me a bit. It's really not as good as either Vol. 1 or Vol. II, but its still great. I keep having to edit reviews I wrote when I first joined Sputnik. This looks like another.

jrowa001
January 23rd 2010



8749 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

finally checked this band out and this album is really good. plan on getting Vol I and II soon

Romulus
January 23rd 2010



8373 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

You're in for two great listens, they're both a little better than this.

EVedder27
January 23rd 2010



6088 Comments


I need to get those. On an unrelated note however, Fighting Tao is awesome and made my top 30 songs list for 09.

Romulus
January 23rd 2010



8373 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

My favorite kind of switches around. I think 1331 has recently surpassed Well. And you definitely do, I think you'd enjoy them a lot. A lot more proggy then this.

EVedder27
January 23rd 2010



6088 Comments


sounds good, I've heard a few of their singles already from those albums

JWT155
January 23rd 2010



9184 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I prefer Volume I out of their catalouge but really like this as well.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy