Deadmau5
Random Album Title


4.0
excellent

Review

by Arucard USER (12 Reviews)
July 8th, 2009 | 104 replies


Release Date: 2008 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Holy cow - Canadian producer writes dance album containing some degree of quality. Now theres a headline for ya'.

I first heard Deadmau5 courtesy of one of the many mixtapes that hit our clubnights inbox every week in 2008, and i haven't looked back since. The track in question was the undeniabley house heavy 'The Reward Is Cheese,' and like most first time Deadmau5 listeners, i just went on to 'assume' he was a big European producer who liked to blend his House beats with Trance leads, throw his arms up in the air in front of forty thousand people and let the music play itself. How wrong i was.

If i had to describe 'Random Album Title' in two words, those two words would most certainly be 'a journey.' From the minimal sounds of opener 'Sometimes Things Get, Whatever' to the Electro fueled closer 'So There I Was,' Deadmau5 criss-crosses more electronic music genre's than most of you will probably have thought existed, and in the process sets a new standard for technical production masterery that most producers will fail to even scratch the surface of. Where most dance artists are currently failing in what many believe to be an extremely stale musical enviroment, Deadmau5 succeeds on almost every level. He has bought us an album that is not only full of club bangers but chilled out minimal songs that rip the definition of 'club only' dance music to shreds.

Despite all this, the album is not without its flaws - Deadmau5 has used the same drum sound on every track for the last five years, and occasionally his progressive mentality gets the better of him, with more than a few boring drops and extended sections. There also isn't a track heavy enough to rival [in my opinion his best] 'The Reward Is Cheese,' which is a big dissapointment for DJ's who can't play sets full of minimal and progressive house.

In conclusion, this is an album that breaks down a lot of barriers. A DJ who isn't from Europe has become a bonafied super-producer without having to rely on cheesey vocal tracks and Trance Energy headline shows, and has been showered with critical acclaim and awards in the process. He has managed to create an entire listenable dance record full of his own productions [a very rare occurence], and give the listener a lesson in genre switching to boot. Basically, this album is brilliant, and is a must own for any dance enthusiast.

Deadmau5 for president!

Tracks to check out -

Arguru
Slip
Brazil [2nd Edit]
The Reward Is Cheese + Club Mix [Not on the album]



Recent reviews by this author
Suicide Silence No Time to BleedElectric Six Senor Smoke
Agnostic Front Riot, Riot, Upstart!Pro Pain
The Filaments ...Whats Next?Van Halen Van Halen
user ratings (361)
Chart.
3.8
excellent
other reviews of this album
housegeek23 (4.5)
Sometimes things get complicated, but there's no complications here....

Simon Harris (SCREAM!) (4.5)
The mau5head may be the same, but Deadmau5 was a completely different artist 2 years ago...


Comments:Add a Comment 
Arucard
July 8th 2009


575 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I know this isn't brilliantly written [i haven't written anything serious for a year now, and i mean anything atall ahaha] but its just a great album. I hope people enjoy.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9wCTU8r9qtY&feature=channel_page

vote mau5

KILL
July 8th 2009


71750 Comments


stupid album name

Digging: Invisible - El jardin de los presentes

StreetlightRock
Emeritus
July 8th 2009


3768 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

hurrah! bout time this was reviewed. I really like the way he borders on all genres while still making just good, fun dance music. Like BT but better.

Digging: Interpol - El Pintor

HighandDriving
July 8th 2009


3288 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Whose BT?

Good review and this guy is a hero in Toronto and rightfully so.

StreetlightRock
Emeritus
July 8th 2009


3768 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

(gosish) Trance artist, but he has a 'heavier' beat than traditional trance.

Arucard
July 9th 2009


575 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks alot for the feedback. I'm not to great at reviewing but my dance music knowledge is relativley encyclopedic, so i'll continue writing reviews in this area.

FistfulOfSteel
July 11th 2009


894 Comments


love this guy. the reward is cheese kills.

matth789
July 16th 2009


3 Comments


OK, I've just realised this site is American.

Funny how a Canadian dance artist has come in, as is better than any other American dance artists possibly ever?

What an album! Cannot wait to see him live.

SuperDuck
July 16th 2009


327 Comments


Yeah because being Canadian is some sort of handicap that should have prevented him from being than American dance artists

Arucard
July 16th 2009


575 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Sorry guys i wasn't clear - i'm from England. I meant he was comparable to European dance artists. I personally don't believe that any American dance artists are good, they are all jokes. America just can't make dance music.

trilogique
August 7th 2009


246 Comments


Meh. Deadmau5 is decent. Faxing Berlin is great, but the rest of his music sounds the same. Very
generic house.

dragonaut
September 18th 2009


62 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

The music just seems to meander without a focus or a destination, but I guess a destination isn't all that necessary when the tunes flow like this. Not as good as hype promised but Brazil and I Remember are impressive, especially the latter. New album is better from what I've heard though.

qwe3
January 21st 2010


21362 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

just stopping by to say Arguru is the best thing ever

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
January 21st 2010


31161 Comments


I never understood why it matters so much to go on about him being from Canada

Digging: LV and Joshua Idehen - Islands

qwe3
January 21st 2010


21362 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

i think because he's the only good DJ ever from there, and he's probably the best in the world right now. well menno de jong is up there too i guess.

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
January 21st 2010


31161 Comments


#6 for top 100 of last year, sadly Guetta is higher at #3

qwe3
January 21st 2010


21362 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

wait WHAT

guetta sucks ass

lemme guess 1 was tiesto or armin

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
January 21st 2010


31161 Comments


http://www.djmag.com/top100

qwe3
January 21st 2010


21362 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

ew. top 3 is nasty

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
January 21st 2010


31161 Comments


Tell me about it, good guessing though.

Random, everytime I try and link it, it links to the main page only



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy