Goatwhore
Carving Out The Eyes Of God


3.0
good

Review

by Karl V.H. USER (85 Reviews)
July 6th, 2009 | 58 replies


Release Date: 2009 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Goatwhore.

Coming straight out of the New Orleans ‘somewhat’ thriving music scene, which was sadly destroyed by Hurricane Katrina in 2005 and left many great bands scattered throughout the US Midwest, Goatwhore hold very few affiliations with their contemporaries in the mostly blues dominated scene. However, with most of the famous city’s metal scene destroyed, Goatwhore prevailed through hard times and gave us the well executed blackened thrash metal of A Haunting Curse. Upon listening to Goatwhore’s fourth album Carving Out the Eyes of God, be forewarned that you know what you’re getting yourself into with names/ titles such as these. The name ‘Goatwhore’ and ‘Carving Out the Eyes of God’ not only scream generic metal names/ titles, but they also carry a sense of “you’ve-heard-this-a-million-times-before”. As accurate as this statement is to any seasoned metalhead, Goatwhore still pull out a valiant effort through their Slayer/Exodus-esque brand of blackened thrash metal.

Comparing this to the bands last effort A Haunting Curse, Carving Out… is a nice transition from one album to another as the band tightens up their sledgehammer song writing and war torn atmosphere. Right off the bat, “Apocalyptic Havoc” opens up in a fine thrashy punk attitude before climaxing into a classic Slayer interlude. “Carving Out the Eyes of God” is an obvious album highlight featuring a familiar icy tremelo picked guitar line that transforms into an interestingly twisty melody. While this is a guitar-riff heavy album that is a pleasure to listen to courtesy of Sammy Duet, it seems as if the rest of the instruments kind of fall of the map and produce nothing more than anything you’ve heard before in the aforementioned sub-genres.

For starters, it’s mostly the monotone growls of Louis B. Falgoust II (of the awesome southern influenced, blackened death-metal Soilent Green fame) that really sinks the album into repetitive territory with little to know variation. The rhythmic attack of Zack Simmons is effective and keeps the album in a nice tight focus. However, the problem lies with his lack of variation that he brings to the table through his simple punky rhythms and blast beat assaults. Finally, like most albums that feature anything related to black metal, the bass in non-existent. This would be more of a fault if their were more breaks in the music for the bass to open up, but this should be forgotten once the listener realizes that the album is a non-stop aural assault on the ears.

As straightforward sounding as Carving Out the Eyes of God can sound to an elitist of the genre, there is still plenty of meat and potatoes type of stuff to be found here, acting as a gateway album into more unique blackened death-metal. For those seeking out what the New Orleans bluesy metal scene has to offer, your best bet would be to just search out Eyehategod, Down, and Soilent Green considering Goatwhore want no common ground with any of their contemporaries. They would rather just play it safe.



Recent reviews by this author
The Austerity Program Beyond CalculationGodflesh Pure
Sun Worship Elder GiantsLord Mantis Death Mask
Horseback Piedmont ApocryphaCarcass Surgical Steel
user ratings (94)
Chart.
3.4
great
other reviews of this album
Darion Paone (3.5)
Goatwhore smash God to pieces, praise the devil, and blaspheme better than ever, all the while playi...


Comments:Add a Comment 
Wizard
July 6th 2009


19644 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Not my best review but I felt it had to be done. Comments and constructive criticism are always appreciated.

Digging: Ash Borer - Cold of Ages

Phantom
July 6th 2009


8930 Comments


you are a lady

Willie
Moderator
July 6th 2009


16149 Comments


Not a bad review, but I'll never listen to this.

Upon listening to Goatwhore’s fourth album Carving Out the Eyes of God, be for warned that you know what you’re getting yourself into with names/ titles such as these.
It's "forewarned".

Digging: Mors Principium Est - Dawn Of The 5th Era

Wizard
July 6th 2009


19644 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

you are a lady

High again?

Thanks for the quick feedback peeps. Countorus, post your review too dude (or I will fight you).

Thanks Willie for the pointer. This was a weak review tbqh. Had to get done though. Hopefully Contourus can help out with this.

marksellsuswallets
July 6th 2009


4848 Comments


I'm guessing this combines my least favorite aspects of black metal (poopty production and such) with my least favorite aspects of death metal (generic instrumentation)...would I be correct in these assumptions?

Wizard
July 6th 2009


19644 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

The production is excellent. You're bang on about the death metal though. You would probably hate this mark.

combustion07
July 6th 2009


5420 Comments


Just started a review for this too. Good review though pos'd

Phantom
July 6th 2009


8930 Comments



High again?


I was merely offering my constructive criticism. Review is good. I'd probably give this a 3 if/when I hear it, based on what A Haunting Curse was like (ok).

Also, Soilent Green are sweet meat.

marksellsuswallets
July 6th 2009


4848 Comments


Unless you neglected to mention how they incorporate the atmospheric/neo-folk elements of some black metal into their sound (which I doubt they do), then yeah, I'd probably hate this. Haha.

fireaboveicebelow
July 6th 2009


6837 Comments


sick of this band but hey the summary says it all really

quality of the review fits the album how about that ;)

mynameischan
Staff Reviewer
July 6th 2009


17945 Comments


probably the most brutal album name ever

Phantom
July 6th 2009


8930 Comments


chan wishes he was a goat whore

Wizard
July 6th 2009


19644 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Unless you neglected to mention how they incorporate the atmospheric/neo-folk elements of some black metal into their sound (which I doubt they do), then yeah, I'd probably hate this

Dude, you have no idea how many neo folk influences are incorporated into their black metal......../sarcasm.

sick of this band but hey the summary says it all really
quality of the review fits the album how about that ;)


Sick of my shitty reviews eh? Sorry I can't write like you review junkies do. I usually just go straight-to-the-point because I can't tie in a metaphor if my life depended on it hahaha. Also, glad someone got the summary.

probably the most brutal album name ever

Hence summary hahaha.

Thanks again people for the kind words.

fireaboveicebelow
July 6th 2009


6837 Comments


Sick of my shitty reviews eh? Sorry I can't write like you review junkies do. I usually just go straight-to-the-point because I can't tie in a metaphor if my life depended on it hahaha. Also, glad someone got the summary.
it's not a shitty review but you've done better. It was rushed is all but really it doesnt matter because it's goatwhore

Wizard
July 6th 2009


19644 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

All of my reviews feel rushed hahaha.

Anthracks
July 6th 2009


3796 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

this album is soooo boring, but there a few good moments

Digging: The Decemberists - What A Terrible World, What A Beautiful World

BallsToTheWall
July 6th 2009


44805 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Cool band, even cooler band name, and even cooler than that is the awesomely evil album title. This is BallsToTheFuckingWall. Nice album/review/

jingledeath
July 6th 2009


7104 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

the most I can say about this is that it's a fun listen.

BallsToTheWall
July 6th 2009


44805 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Seconded. Satan>>>>God.

fireaboveicebelow
July 6th 2009


6837 Comments


big boy brownie sundaes >>>>> religion



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy