Emancipator
Soon It Will Be Cold Enough


4.5
superb

Review

by irishmanshibby USER (3 Reviews)
July 2nd, 2009 | 37 replies


Release Date: 2006 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Extremely promising debut from a young artist coming seemingly out of nowhere.

Emancipator escaped from the Underground Railroad Chain Gang in the 11th century. He invented the hot air balloon, with which he chartered the Amazon River. He invented wine. Emancipator found the formula for the crystallization of ice during a quiet Japanese winter. He perfected the art of agriculture. He can climb trees faster than you. Emancipator bleeds ambrosia. He discovered Iceland. He can breathe underwater. Emancipator lives in a fortress made of moon rock. His presence attracts songbirds. He can recite all the digits of pi.

So reads Emancipator's biography on his website. Seems like a lot for a 19 year old to handle let alone accomplish, no? Well between all that, he also managed to create one of the better trip-hop/instrumental albums I've heard.

The overall feel of Soon It Will Be Cold Enough is just that - a general chilled out vibe. Beginning on Eve, you are introduced to the frigid violin strings and piano lines that resonate throughout the album. After a slight build up, the drum beat kicks in, and retreats out and in several times over the track, and you are officially thrown into this wintry experience. The atmosphere that I visualize when hearing this is that of a forest somewhere away from civilization, during the First Snow of the season. A similar array of trip-hop drums and piano occurs on this track accompanied by some acoustic guitar furthers the journey into the wilderness. More suspenseful, the beat relaxes midway with a nostalgic sample of a man only to reminisce on another time. Many of the tracks have this sort of feeling such as With Rainy Eyes and Good Knight, incorporating light female incoherent vocals.

Next comes the best two tracks of the album, Lionheart and Maps. Much of the same formula appears, with the beat lightening and fading until the strings stop, and a sample that sounds medieval enters. Unfortunately, this ends the song and begins the next track, Maps. However, it is alright as Maps is another excellent song, incorporating some smooth electric guitar riffs over the piano line, only to relax after a brief sigh and coming to a mellow synth rhythm for a break, until it reappears until it fades again into the darkness of this wintry landscape.

The album commences on The Darkest Day Of The Year, a title foreshadowing the track and exit. A slow, rumbling build up progresses with almost an apocalyptic and chaotic feel.

Ultimately, Emancipators use of layers makes this a truly intriguing listen for any trip-hop or instrumental fan. He keeps the theme of the album in tact throughout while varying it enough to keep the listener interested, and also has movements within each song building up anticipation and calming down the listener to great effect, and ultimately relaxed and at ease.

Recommended Songs:
Maps
Lionheart
With Rainy Eyes


user ratings (218)
Chart.
4.1
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
irishmanshibby
July 2nd 2009


355 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I'm thinking about trying to start reviewing fairly consistantly, and I love this album and not many people have heard it around here. Gimme criticism, so I know if I should keep working on some stuff in the future or not.

StreetlightRock
Emeritus
July 2nd 2009


3768 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Nice to see this reviewed, this is a really pretty listen.

Digging: Interpol - El Pintor

OllieS
July 2nd 2009


2031 Comments


Am I a bad person for instantly assuming after seeing the album art this was a Black Metal album?

Crimson
July 2nd 2009


1935 Comments


thats what i thought

irishmanshibby
July 2nd 2009


355 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

haha now that you point that out, I'm surprised I didn't think that myself

Pessimist
September 26th 2009


191 Comments


I got introduced to this guy today. Excellent album, it's really inspiring.

Great review, I think I'll be seeing him in Austin on the 31st of October.

jingledeath
April 12th 2010


7104 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

album is golden

MassiveAttack
October 6th 2010


2688 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Some fantastic tracks on here, but overall its a great debut. The last few tracks are really exceptional.

ShousoStrip
December 2nd 2011


574 Comments


immense album.

BallsToTheWall
January 11th 2012


44373 Comments


This is pretty cool so far.

Digging: Pharmakon - Abandon

Trophycase
May 25th 2012


195 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Great album.

Absolutely fantastic live. If you ever get the chance to see him live, do so.

Oathbreaker
May 25th 2012


1649 Comments


great album

Trophycase
May 29th 2012


195 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Interesting, bought this on iTunes, and it's missing Maps and Father King (which are free to download off of his site). The songs are also in a different order.

Reid
June 4th 2012


8 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Great album, but surely Good Knight or Father King have to be the best tracks

Yotimi
November 16th 2012


6498 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

First Snow sounds like an Everlast song (which is not a good thing) and a lot of the guitar sounds like it could have been written by Maroon 5. The vocals, when they appear, are pretty boring. Otherwise pretty good album.

Digging: Chrome Sparks - Goddess

Yotimi
November 16th 2012


6498 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

That made no sense sis

Yotimi
November 16th 2012


6498 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I was just stating how I felt about the album. And if a guy is going to put really lame guitar in his songs, I'm not going to forgive him just cause it's an electronic album.

Sometimes I can't tell if you are kidding, but the way you flaunt your idiocy is astounding. There's not an opinion on this site that I value less. The only way you know how to attempt to discredit anything is to say really stupid things like "if you had a developed ear like me" or "this may be lame to a beginner but with superior taste it's not" or other nonsense. You obviously know nothing about anything, but like to try to remind everyone (and yourself) that you do. Silent Shout and Swim are amazing albums by artists with more control over their craft than you can ever hope to comprehend. Keep trying, maybe one day anything with a synthesized violin won't automatically impress you.

Yotimi
November 16th 2012


6498 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Man I was expecting you to try to bash me some more.....

I'll check it out tonight when I get home

Yotimi
November 17th 2012


6498 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

those weren't bad I guess

clercqie
Contributing Reviewer
January 29th 2013


6448 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

New album's reallly great.

Digging: Interpol - El Pintor



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy