Baron Noir
L'epoque Exige De Bons Gestionnaires


5.0
classic

Review

by finedaytodie USER (2 Reviews)
June 14th, 2009 | 31 replies | 5,077 views


Release Date: 2006 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Giving big names like La Quiete, and Raein a run for their money and screamo glory.

1 of 1 thought this review was well written

L'epoque Exige De Bons Gestionnaires is many things: explosive, passionate, sincere, inspiring, but above all it's an excellent piece of work. Baron Noir do not disappoint in the least while firing through the EP's six songs, each of which containing the same excitement and urgency as the last.

Where a number of screamo releases struggle L'epoque Exige De Bons Gestionnaires excels, and it all hinges on the incredible musical balance Baron Noir have crafted. The songs are shaped by twinkly, lightly distorted, very melodic guitar work played at a galloping pace. Likewise the clear, delightfully catchy bass lines along with tight, energetic drumming work to further add character and accent to BN's spastic musical assault. Driving the whole EP forward are the vocals; heart felt screams and yells which are sure to have you singing along in no time.

All the parts and pieces which make up L'epoque Exige De Bons Gestionnaires fit together flawlessly while complementing one another beautifully. Your interest will be pegged from start to finish with each and every listen. L'epoque Exige De Bons Gestionnaires truly exemplifies what a screamo release should be. Baron Noir have succeeded in creating an EP which is both refreshing as well as absolutely irresistible.


user ratings (11)
Chart.
4.3
superb

Comments:Add a Comment 
Prophet178
June 15th 2009



6397 Comments


So which member of the band are you?

EasternLight
June 15th 2009



2700 Comments


141.12

Douglas
June 15th 2009



9061 Comments


You go in depth about how 'explosive, passionate, sincere and inspiring'
the band is, though I really dont really know how they sound. Just add one or two more paragraphs about the songs and this review would read better.

finedaytodie
June 15th 2009



35 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I prefer to keep things short and sweet... besides, I did my very best to hint that Baron Noir's sound is very similar to La Quiete or Raein (it's in the title after all). I'm sure you get some idea of what to expect.




Douglas
June 15th 2009



9061 Comments


Fair enough, I am not saying that the review is at all bad. You write extremely well, though its just short, which is why there is the sound off feature and you can express your thoughts in a shorter form.



finedaytodie
June 15th 2009



35 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I'm not really a fan of song by song reviews, and I feel a long review (for most people) isn't exactly going to make any difference. If a person wants to check out a band, they will, all there is to it.

Think about it, no matter what a review says whether it be bad or good, most people will have the urge to find out, 'is this as good/bad as they say it is?'

I see where you're coming from though, it's just not my style to go into extreme depth. From my personal stand point really in depth reviews take a lot of the surprise and fun out of listening to something new... it's like reading the cliff notes before you read the book... for the most part you already know what will happen.


Douglas
June 15th 2009



9061 Comments


Just that most people on this site like in depth reviews. Though I can see what you're saying.

finedaytodie
June 15th 2009



35 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

well, it is my first review here... hopefully I'll hear some trainwreck of an album soon and be compelled to write an extremely long review on every reason why it's lolbad/fail. I've noticed that sort of thing is pretty popular here and all things considered, I'm very good at writing "those" kind of reviews.

Douglas
June 15th 2009



9061 Comments


Yeah as a first it is solid, unlike mine.
Haha, yeah there is a lot of elitist and pretentious people, but some times it's worth it for the laugh (see crazy frog review)

finedaytodie
June 15th 2009



35 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

my favorite lolbad reviews are all of the ones cutting down garbage like brokencyde and breathe carolina... those are always good for laughs.

someone reviewed crazy frog? that was that stupid thing that started out as an annoying cell phone ringtone right?

Douglas
June 15th 2009



9061 Comments


It was, but it was done mainly for mass lols.

finedaytodie
June 15th 2009



35 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I just read the review, I laughed out loud many times. Another hilarious lolbad review was the one for Soulja Boy ...but that retard had it coming.

ClearTheLane
June 15th 2009



990 Comments


I find it interesting that these obscure screamo-albums always get reviewed as an instant classic on sputnik.

finedaytodie
June 15th 2009



35 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Well the only screamo albums that get endless amounts of praise (here at least) seem to be Envy 'A Dead Sinking Story,' Circle Takes The Square 'As The Roots Undo,' On The Might Of Princes 'Where You Are And Where You Want To Be' and Pg.99 documents 5 and 8.

But really these albums all get high marks because they are truly deserving of such... and ironically, none of these are very 'obscure' as they are all basically staples in the genre.

finedaytodie
June 15th 2009



35 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

and also... before it's brought up I didn't include Saetia in that list because personally, they actually don't deserve the endless praise... just sayin'

BallsToTheWall
June 15th 2009



44164 Comments


Lol at all the complaints of short reviews. Nothing wrong with the length man, good review. This isnt my bag though.

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
June 15th 2009



8318 Comments


nice, short review, but you may want to delete that link you have up here, posting illegal links is prohibited here (believe me i know lol) so you may get banned for that.

Athom
Staff Reviewer
June 15th 2009



17200 Comments


review length is fine. long reviews are overrated.

rasputin
June 16th 2009



14520 Comments


yeah good review, might check this out

gaslightanthem
June 16th 2009



5209 Comments


probably not though too deep in man chow



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy