Necrophobic
Death To All


2.5
average

Review

by The Green Scarf Bandit of Italy USER (17 Reviews)
June 14th, 2009 | 51 replies | 8,446 views


Release Date: 2009 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Boring and cliché blackened death metal that is an obvious impersonation of classical black metal bands such as Dissection with a touch of stale melodic death.

5 of 10 thought this review was well written

Despite their "death metal" label, Necrophobic is almost purely black metal, and reminiscent of the classic black metal bands that ushered in the second black metal wave such as Dissection and the infamous Marduk. Without even listening to the music it’s easy to pick up on Necrophobic's influences. Track titles like "Revelation 666," and "For Those Who Have Stayed Satanic" reek of the cliché Satanism that was brought to frontline of the black metal scene in the mid 90's. In essence, Death to All is an album that should have been released more than ten years ago which relegates it to impostor black metal that only has minor nostalgic value for hardcore black metal collectors.

Unlike other adaptations of blackened death metal, Necrophobic is more black metal than death metal. As is common among black metal, the guitar riffing is mostly simplistic and uninspiring, with an abundance of distortion and tremolo picking without much variety at all. The drummer also relies far too heavily on black metal style, using painfully slow blast beats and weak bass drum fills, leaving the actual music with much to be desired.

However, even a barely average album such as Death to All has its shining moments. The latter half of “Revelation 666” is marked by a soul-crushing melodic fill that trails off into possibly the best black metal themed solo I have ever heard. Despite my distaste for Satan-themed media, “Revelation 666” shows excellent song-writing capability on the part of the guitarist. Solos and actual melody are scarce throughout the rest of the album and when they are present they are rather underwhelming such as in “Temple of Damnation” and “The Tower.” "Death to All" provides a few interesting melodies but it's so late in the album that it seems like Necrophobic's attempt at staying relevant in the melodic death metal scene which they clearly do not belong in.

Vocally, Death to All is just as average as it is musically, drenched in raspy growls that betray Necrophobic’s death metal affiliations. I’d rather not delve into the lyrical concept of this album seeing as though it would just be pointless ranting with a strong bias against Satanist lyrics. The lyrics are somewhat comprehensible but to be honest, I paid them little attention due to their concept which was made painfully obvious by tracks 2-4 which are titled; “Revelation 666,” “La Satanisma Muerte,” and “For Those Who Stayed Satanic.”

I suppose my real grudge against the album is how late it was in coming. This kind of black metal has already been tried, tested and ultimately worn out by two separate waves of black metal bands. Not to mention, Necrophobic has been on the scene for nigh on twenty years now, you'd think that in such a long existence they would no longer be flogging a dead horse, but here we are. I'd rather stick with Dissection to be honest.



Recent reviews by this author
Geist GaleereNazxul Iconoclast
Altar of Plagues SolThe Crimson Armada Guardians
Malevolent Creation RetributionLegiones Demo
user ratings (38)
Chart.
3.6
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
Zip
June 14th 2009



5312 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I'm not confident of my more negative reviews so, any constructive criticism is helpful.

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
June 14th 2009



8321 Comments


good review, great ending paragraph.

Zip
June 14th 2009



5312 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Sweet, I liked that last paragraph.

Anthracks
June 14th 2009



3731 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

you present your reasons why you didnt like it well, i still think it's a great album. these guys have a right to be derivative given their influence on the genre

Digging: Devangelic - Resurrection Denied

Zip
June 14th 2009



5312 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I understand that two of their albums are quite good. Better than this I hope?

Anthracks
June 14th 2009



3731 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

their highest rated on this site is my least favorite (bloodhymns). hrimthrusum and their first are better than dis

Zip
June 14th 2009



5312 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I probably won't buy either of them but I might check them out just for comparative value, not wild about pentagrams.

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
June 14th 2009



8321 Comments


not wild about pentagrams.

haha very well said

Zip
June 14th 2009



5312 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

What do you believe my friend?

BallsToTheWall
June 14th 2009



44164 Comments


Good review unexpected rating though. However, they don't impersonate shit, they've been around for a very long time, um, 1989 bro. Also, any thrash influence, they did name themselves after Slayer song. And continuous Satan bashing FTL. If it wasnt for satan, there would be no metal so stop being a priss.

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
June 14th 2009



8321 Comments


nothing, if you mean religion. Sometimes I do believe in supernatural powers and destiny though

jrowa001
June 14th 2009



8750 Comments


album is pretty good and a nice dose of metal

BallsToTheWall
June 14th 2009



44164 Comments


Yeah, I expect a 3.5 at least. And change the last paragraph, it's both false and bothersome. Otherwise well written Zipper.

Zip
June 14th 2009



5312 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Doesn't seem like a lot of thrash here, actually just abou none at all.
They seem like impersonators to me, they aren't true black metal and they're trying to hard to sound like it. There would be metal without satan, but it would all sound like Impending Doom... which is an even worse though so I guess you're right.

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
June 14th 2009



8321 Comments


seriously Balls? I thought that the last paragraph is a good conclusion of his views on the album

BallsToTheWall
June 14th 2009



44164 Comments


They've been around 20 years and gradually built their own sound which has been copied and pasted constantly. And True, get the fuck out of here blue, what the hell is "true"? And no Satan = no metal period. Iron Maiden and Black Sabbath. If it wasnt for Sabbath's reign of terrorizing parents metal would have never expanded the way it has.

Zip
June 14th 2009



5312 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Ok I changed it for you, but its quite obvious we have conflicting opinions.

BallsToTheWall
June 14th 2009



44164 Comments


Well, I mean Necrophobic arrived at the early stage if not the earliest stage of the second wave but now that you mention it, i've never really heard Necrophobic ever being mentioned with any of the other old black metal bands. I suppose the black/death tag left them out of both scenes which is interesting. Eh, fun debate regardless but i'm currenty raging from low blood sugar so don't mind me.

Zip
June 14th 2009



5312 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Exactly, they refused to stick with either genre so they get marytred, so now twenty years later they are attempting to establish themselves as black metal which I think is kind of stupid.

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
June 14th 2009



8321 Comments


idk I think Zipper's reasons and descriptions are really solid, don't be so harsh on him Balls



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy