Wumpscut
Bunkertor 7 (Re-Sample Edition)


3.0
good

Review

by Trey Spencer STAFF
June 9th, 2009 | 25 replies | 9,733 views


Release Date: 2009 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Much more than a re-issue. This 1995 electro-industrial classic has been completely re-recorded with help from Haujobb and Stillste Stund.

Wumpscut has been churning out solid electro-industrial albums since 1991, but it wasn’t until 1995 that he really solidified his place in the genre. It was in that year that he released Bunkertor 7 to quality-starved electro fans. Since then he has released multiple albums under the Wumpscut moniker – most recently with ***it just a few months ago. Despite how recently that album was released, Wumpscut is back with yet another exercise in dark electro-industrial. Officially this is just the re-release of Bunkertor 7, but it’s not that simple. Instead of just slapping a new album cover on it or adding a few extra songs, he has completely re-recorded the entire album with a little help from friends.

While the re-recorded version improves on the original in almost every way, the most noticeable improvement is the album’s fuller sound. The beats are thick and full of bottom end, the dissonant samples cut through the mid-ranges and the various melodies dominate the upper range with plenty of clarity and separation. This enhanced clarity helps the melodies more than any other aspect of the album. They’re given more room to breathe and seem to be more adept at complimenting the songs. Despite the clearer production, though, none of the angst of the original has been lost. The beats still pound in typical EBM fashion with plenty of dark synth and distorted shouts layered over them. Unfortunately, some of the problems found on the original album can’t simply be fixed with a better sound and slight variations on the original songs.

The main problem is the very repetitive nature of the lyrics and their delivery. Almost every song seems to be comprised of a few slogan-like sentences that are repeated in the same basic distorted shout. This issue is only enhanced due to the very repetitive nature of a lot of the songs. The saving grace of every song is the strong melodies and innovative beats that form the foundation of each song. Whether the melodies are dark or soothing they provide the reason to come back to this album again and again. They range from echoing piano to layers of techno synth and are carried by imaginative and hard-hitting analog beats that maintain the album’s energy levels. The album also benefits from having two songs re-done by Haujobb and one by Stillste Stund. These bands’ versions aren’t so different that they don’t fit the Wumpscut sound, but they do put enough of themselves into the songs to provide additional distinction within the album.

Overall, it is easy to hear how this album would have been so well received back in 1995 but in 2009 it has a tendency to occasionally sound too primitive and redundant. This issue is diminished, though, by the strong melodies and solid beats that form the backbone of every song. Really, this album is much more than expected since it is ultimately just a re-issue. Instead of simply dropping the album with minimal effort, the band decided to give it a full, current sound that presents the songs in a much better light. Their decision to include Haujobb and Stillste Stund’s interpretations of a few songs is just icing on the cake and makes this worth looking into for fans of the band and/or the genre.



Recent reviews by this author
Flotsam and Jetsam No Place for Disgrace - 2014Mindcage Our Own Devices
Fates Warning Darkness in a Different LightQueensryche Queensryche
Skinny Puppy WeaponThe God Machine Scenes from the Second Storey
user ratings (5)
Chart.
3.6
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
Willie
Moderator
June 9th 2009



15779 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

It was hard to write this review because of my minimal knowledge on this band. Check out Fuckit before this.

Edit: There are two song samples listed beneath the ratings area of this review.

Digging: Teramaze - Esoteric Symbolism

Zip
June 9th 2009



5313 Comments


lol, that band haujobb got mistakenly labeled as Handjob on my site.

Willie
Moderator
June 9th 2009



15779 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

What site is that and was it really a "mistake"?

Meatplow
June 9th 2009



5524 Comments


Isn't the correct titles of this group :wumpscut: ? Or does that cause searching issues?

I'm yet to check this group out.

Willie
Moderator
June 9th 2009



15779 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

It causes searching issues. As for the review itself, I left out the extra symbols just to remain consistent with how we have the band name here.

If you do check them out, look at Fuckit first. (both reviews have song samples on the right under the ratings).

Wizard
June 9th 2009



18796 Comments


It doesn't really matter to me whether he just re-recorded this or not, I love what I've heard from them so this will most likely get ordered. But I will approach with caution ;). Excellent review.

Digging: Lord Mantis - Death Mask

Willie
Moderator
June 9th 2009



15779 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

There's no reason to approach with caution because it's pretty good just a tad redundant. I definitely like Fuckit more.

Wizard
June 9th 2009



18796 Comments


Hahahaha I just see a 3 and take a step back. But you have never failed me with quality control though ; ).

Willie
Moderator
June 9th 2009



15779 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

3 means "good". I think sometimes people look at the numbers without really remembering what they're supposed to represent on this site.

Did you listen to the song samples attached to this review? They're only 30 seconds, but that's all that was legally available.

Wizard
June 10th 2009



18796 Comments


I gave them a whirl and I was thinkin' I should order this ;). And yes, you're absolutely right about peoples misunderstandings of the rating numbers.

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
June 11th 2009



8223 Comments


excellent review Willie, I was wondering when will you do this. I might check this out, might not, depends on how much time i have. Fuckit was nice so I think I could give this a go

Willie
Moderator
June 11th 2009



15779 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Yeah, I really wasn't sure if I was going to do this since it was a re-issue but since I got it from the label and I had the time I figured I should. It's pretty good. It's great for driving.

BallsToTheWall
June 12th 2009



44164 Comments


Youtube away. Good review but if it's a classic 3.0?

Willie
Moderator
June 12th 2009



15779 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

it's considered a classic but most industrial doesn't age well and that has to be considered in my rating.

silkforcalde
June 13th 2009



404 Comments


EIN BUNKERTOR SIEBEN
EIN BUNKERTOR SIEBEN

One of the all time hard ebm classics. Complaining about a hard ebm album being repetitive is quite hilarious, btw. No shit? That's like complaining about a metal album having guitars.

Next get Music for a Slaughtering Tribe and The Dried Blood of Gomorrha. Embryodead was great too.

Willie
Moderator
June 14th 2009



15779 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

One of the all time hard ebm classics. Complaining about a hard ebm album being repetitive is quite hilarious, btw. No shit? That's like complaining about a metal album having guitars.
You have low standards if you think it has to be repetitive, and even if it does happen to be repetitive the music should be able to pull off the repetition.

silkforcalde
June 14th 2009



404 Comments


I don't see repetitive as an insult. It's industrial. Of course it's going to be repetitive, that's part of the whole aesthetic. To bring in a metal band, Neurosis is one of my favorite bands and their music has always used repetition extensively.

Bunkergate 7 is one of the best industrial albums of all time. The repetition doesn't matter. There are only a few industrial albums I would rank higher like Haujobb's Solutions for a Small Planet, Leæther Strip's Underneath the Laughter, Skinny Puppy's Too Dark Park, and so on.

Willie
Moderator
June 14th 2009



15779 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I don't see repetitive as an insult either but it should be a good repetition (and this is good repetition, just not great). Skinny Puppy's Too Dark Park is a great example of repetition done perfectly. Ministry's The Mind is a Terrible Thing to Taste is great use of repetition.

silkforcalde
June 14th 2009



404 Comments


I'd say that Ministry is a way more repetitive band than :Wumpscut: ever was.

Willie
Moderator
June 14th 2009



15779 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

And I'd agree with you.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy