The Word Alive
The Word Alive


3.0
good

Review

by Tomothyy USER (1 Reviews)
June 7th, 2009 | 19 replies | 14,892 views


Release Date: 2008 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A band too much like Blessthefall in this album put up a good effort, while not sounding spectacular, they try...

0 of 5 thought this review was well written

Craig Mabbit is most famous for being the vocalist of Blessthefall, after leaving mid-tour to be a father, he was ready to return to music...to find his band didn't want him back, as such he began The Word Alive, which sounds, well, just like BTF.

The EP begins with I'm Sorry which kicks off with just the drum track playing with some sound clips alongside it, the guitars start off before breaking into a riff that seems quite familiar with other The Word Alive songs.
Mabbit can sing, his high voice, screams and low growls blend well with the music and the genre as a whole.
While the production quality of this song sounds below average, I can understand it's a demo. To be honest, this song isn't one that sounds overly Blessthefall-ish.
It didn't strike me as one of the most memorable songs from this EP but it's not bad, a pretty average post-hardcore track.

Then comes Casanova Rodeo, one of the strongest songs from the EP and the band with Craig Mabbit, however, it does sound very similar to Blessthefall's style, I don't know if this is down to the vocalist or the guiars which also ring a bell for me. The song is pretty repetitive, with most of the time, the same lyrics being repeated for the most part of the song and the marching-like drums throughout.
It stands out as, in my opinion, the best song on the EP.

The beginning scream of The Devil Inside is bearly audible, and the song's theme seems to me, in the same vein as Guys Like You Make Us Look Bad by Blessthefall, but arguably more technical, with repetitive double bass for the most part but well played guitars. However, this is another one of the stronger songs for this EP.

Are You On Drugs? starts sombrely, with a slow guitar intro before breaking into what sounds like I'm Sorry's guitars, this song is okay, but can feel a bit samey and filler-y at times in my opinion. Featuring more repetitive double bassing, I have come to terms with the fact the drumming is nothing special, but the guitars definately make up for it,with the sweep picking solo featured in this song.

The EP closes with Can't Let Up, a song which sounds quite promising guitars wise, but quickly sounds like filler and like every song on this debut. A track which is quickly forgettable, this isn't really a great way to close an EP.
A few more songs in the same vein as Casanova Rodeo and The Devil Inside (easily the CDs best songs).

You're not missing anything by not hearing Craig Mabbit with The Word Alive, if you've heard Blessthefall, you've heard the best this EP has to offer. While not a bad album, it's far from amazing, it's best to be enjoyed to bridge the gap between Mabbit's old band BTF's debut work His Last Walk and the upcoming sophomore albumwithout him.


user ratings (97)
Chart.
3.5
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
iamSeraph
June 7th 2009



857 Comments


the really _old_ tracks were unbelievably great and athmospheric. this is nothing more than overproduced common-or-garden shit. i'm sry to be so harsh, i will listen to it some more, but the first impression is sometimes right...sometimes.

Digging: Everley - The Tyger and the Lamb

Sconza
July 18th 2009



256 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Really old tracks?
I don't think there were any others aside from these.

atrink
Contributing Reviewer
July 18th 2009



2809 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

these songs are pretty tight

Fxxkit13
July 18th 2009



1559 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

i love this EP jawn

atrink
Contributing Reviewer
July 21st 2009



2809 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

i just read this review again and i noticed that you said the word alive started with craig. but they were band before craig joined them. they were just looking for a singer and craig did it

IllPromiseYouThat
May 9th 2010



427 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I love this band. Craig... how could you leave this promising band for another promising band and ruin the other promising band completely cough cough ETF

wachooo
July 24th 2010



121 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Yeah I find it pretty dumb of you to compare this to BTF just because Craig.

TWA is better than BTF in every way. This is nothing like BTF.

IllPromiseYouThat
August 29th 2010



427 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Its actualy very similair to blessthefall. In fact the guitarist is the younger brother of the guitarist in blessthefall and both bands are on the same label.

IndieOut
September 14th 2010



498 Comments


oh yeah so i guess i create the same music that my brother in a rage against the machine cover band writes.

theacademy
September 14th 2010



28239 Comments


[img]http://img3.ak.crunchyroll.com/i/spire1/e3d35dfeefca1523d19fd65d93d591cd1223681762_full.jpg[/img]

pissed off.

IllPromiseYouThat
September 14th 2010



427 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

sooo mehtuhhhl

mechatanner
September 24th 2010



269 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Very similar to bless the fall(while craig was in it HA) and i don't like it much either.
Personally, i think every band Mr. Mabbit has left, has done much better since. Every band he's joined (poor EscapeTheFate..) has gone to shit.
He's like a sad little emo raincloud: he floats on over, casts a shadow of SUCK; shrouding their potential, and attracting 12yr old scene girls in flocks.

IllPromiseYouThat
September 25th 2010



427 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

mechatanner i agree with that in escape the fates case but i really liked this ep as well as his previous work in btf.

UORawker
April 26th 2011



123 Comments


Actually... Craig started TWA... They were not a band before Craig brought them together... Just sayin...

IllPromiseYouThat
April 27th 2011



427 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

yeah thats true but the guitarists had been together a long time in previous bands. Anyway Telle has done more then an adequate job replacing him.

ThisMusicsDead
August 31st 2011



10 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

God dammit Craig..like shit i love the guy so much but I wanna kill him, why can't he do this in ETF?

ThisMusicsDead
August 31st 2011



10 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

God dammit Craig..like shit i love the guy so much but I wanna kill him, why can't he do this in ETF?

TheSpirit
October 12th 2011



17169 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

this is actually really good

Digging: Rx Bandits - Gemini, Her Majesty

Matt6233
October 15th 2011



46 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

This would have been the best band in this genre.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy