Pelican
The Fire in Our Throats Will Beckon...


4.5
superb

Review

by Dancin' Man USER (40 Reviews)
August 4th, 2005 | 204 replies | 33,000 views


Release Date: 2005 | Tracklist


13 of 17 thought this review was well written

Pelican do it again. With their second full length album, Pelican have succeeded in progressing and making another work of art. As the March Into The Sea EP suggested, Pelican has taken a more atmospheric turn with their music. The heavy grinding sections and constantly shifting riffs are all still there but now they are unafraid of acoustic guitars and new dynamics. Still with powerful melofies and still with that swirling sort of song structure that makes those epic 10 minute songs feel like a quarter of that. This is excellent.

Another huge plus is Pelican's ability to mesh an album together has not only stayed but been refined and perfect. The Pelican EP lacked it, Australasia had it and The Fire In Our Throats Beckons The Thaw perfects it. There is always something to be said for writing great songs but when you can write great songs that fit together like a puzzle with other great song, that is something truly special.

Another one of Pelican's strong points that has been amplified is the lack of a vocalist. They just don't need it. If it were there, I could only see one way for it to work and that would be if only for the added melodies it could contribute. I can see Pelican progressing to add new instruments and new angles to their music for their next release if this is any indication of what they are capable of.

Each song here is worth hearing so I'll not go into specifics except to say that if you are an old Pelican fan, you'll be pleasantly suprised. Like I said, there is more dynamic and acoustic guitars but the depth and thick sound of the heavy sections remains. Each song tells its own story and take a trip and then the album as a whole does the same thing.

I feel selfish taking three of the 4 Pelican releases for myself but I can't help it. Hydrahead sure knows how to pick them.



Recent reviews by this author
Verse AggressionTool 10,000 Days
Found Dead Hanging Dulling Occam's RazorJob for a Cowboy Doom
Me and Him Call It Us The (C:) Drive Of Love StoriesEphel Duath The Painter's Palette
user ratings (779)
Chart.
4
excellent
other reviews of this album
Karl V.H. (4.5)
Instrumental post-metal that reaches for breathtaking heights and ends up reaching for the stars....

Jorn van Schaïk (3.5)
...

asheroth (4.5)
Pelican's best album, [i]The Fire In Our Throats Will Beckon The Thaw[/i] combines heaviness and bea...


Comments:Add a Comment 
Justanothernimrod
August 4th 2005



478 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

i've written a review for this too at dirtyzine.

fantastic album, just stunning.

Shadows
Moderator
August 4th 2005



2530 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I'm no expert on these guys, but I've heard Australasia. These guys are very good and unique. It's heavy, melodic, ambient, and sludgy all at the same time. Well done.

EDIT: It looks like you might've made a grammar error in the word 'Fire' too.This Message Edited On 08.04.05

incubus62086
August 4th 2005



147 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

this album is absolutly amazing. thats all that needs to be said

br3ad_man
Emeritus
August 5th 2005



2125 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Pelican are the fuzz

DFelon204409
Emeritus
August 5th 2005



3995 Comments


The bee's knees man.

br3ad_man
Emeritus
August 5th 2005



2125 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

The bomb diggity.

Dancin' Man
August 5th 2005



719 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeah, I acidentally capitalized the "i" in fire. Oh well. I think I should do the EP just so that I hacve a monopoly on one band with more than one album. I could finish of Peccatum too while I'm at it.

I think I'll also go back and make a few edits in this in a few days.

Arrakakaka
August 5th 2005



685 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I love this album with every fiber of my being.

Good review too.

Dead_Trench
August 5th 2005



159 Comments


I only came in because I mistook Pelican for Hatebeak. But they sound pretty anyways, I'll download a song.

Dancin' Man
August 5th 2005



719 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Hahahaha... Pelican for Hatebeak? That would be hilarious if Pelican used a pelican as a vocalist.

Priestmetal
August 6th 2005



542 Comments


Hmm... all you guys saying how good these guys are makes me wanna check them out. Who would you say they most sound like?

Dancin' Man
August 6th 2005



719 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

...that is really hard to say. Imagine a really good jam band playing metal but not shred metal. INstead it's just really dense with these sweeping melodies and riffs that never sound the same twice. It's all instrumental too.

Priestmetal
August 6th 2005



542 Comments


O wow... that sounds cool. Ill check them out for sure.

Ace_of_Bass2112
August 8th 2005



257 Comments


im gettin these guys right now sound pretty groovy


Kage
August 8th 2005



1173 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Amazing album. By far my favorite release from Pelican. When I listen to it, I just can't get enough of it. Great atmosphere and mood on this album, all the while remaining really heavy at times.

I like how Pelican concentrates on creating soundscapes...the "heaviness" of their sound is more a means of conveying an epic story if you will...they don't play heavy riffs just to be heavy.

It's hard to pick standout tracks for this, because every single one is amazing and has a different thing to offer. I have to say, though, Autumn Into Summer is an amazingly epic journey through so many different parts, but it all works well.

br3ad_man
Emeritus
August 8th 2005



2125 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is how I'd rate all these bands that are similar:

Isis
Cult of Luna
Neurosis/Jesu
Pelican
MareThis Message Edited On 08.08.05

Kage
August 8th 2005



1173 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Hmm...I prefer instrumental, which is why Pelican is above Isis and Cult of Luna for me. I need to get more familiar with Neurosis and Mare, though, as both of them are very good.

Arrakakaka
August 8th 2005



685 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yes, I prefer instrumental bands too. I'll look into those

DFelon204409
Emeritus
August 8th 2005



3995 Comments


I almost got this album today. Then I almost got Team Sleep. Then I settled with Funeral Diner's The Underdark because it was the cheapest and rarest of all three. And they rule.

Kage, I love Pelican and Isis, but I freaking really dislike Neurosis. Everybody calls Isis a Neurosis ripoff but I find Isis and Pelican's tonal choices to be much more tasteful than Neurosis'. Neurosis is way into cacophony in individual instruments, which gives weird, almost goofy, riffing in high pitches. Pelican and Isis are more about making the cacophony between instruments and with their harmonizations. I much prefer that sound. Also the production value on a lot of Neurosis sucks since they were "the first," which consequently means they suffer as the genre of instrumental metal is pretty dependent on awesome production and tasteful flares.

Arrakakaka
August 9th 2005



685 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I actually liked Pelican EP. I might review it..



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy