Evereve
Seasons


4.5
superb

Review

by fireaboveicebelow USER (108 Reviews)
May 31st, 2009 | 24 replies | 6,282 views


Release Date: 1997 | Tracklist


2 of 2 thought this review was well written

Suicide isn’t exactly a universal understanding of something beautiful. The musical language of such feelings can’t be either as very very…very few bands manage to capture a wholly individual sound that embeds a myriad of sonic agony and carefree terror flowing like waves through your comatose as a guest to this barren and unexplored realm. Evereve, disregarding their current (***) status, unveiled such sounds for two records only, the individualism due to every element on the two records, as it should be, for the music is entwined in sublime orchestration and the vocals are personified with untrained roars. Seasons loves to put you down in the worst way, in its own way.

Firstly, this is gothic/doom metal like you haven’t heard before. Seriously, how many times can you say that? The way the album flows mostly as a single track, you must notice the fluid transitions between each song, let alone between each section of the songs. The band uses dynamics to the extreme with unique arrangements of the traditional instruments while incorporating older classical and neofolk influence in the symphonic elements as they breathe on their own time throughout their eclectic parts. The piano especially plays a very important role in switching the mood from melancholic to horrific, doing so by rising out of the melodious sections with low pulsations that quickly and fiercly turn the atmosphere to much darker meditations.

Seasons uses layers to their full extent whenever it fits, usually as the chord progressions are continued while other elements, either bass, guitar, or strings, build upon and feed off each other to gather that much more imagination to the sound. Every time an instrument adds something interesting to the songs it gives off a new feel, also due to the keyboardist using much more effects than a standard gothic metal outfit, making the whole album fairly easy to listen to in full. The vocals, while incredibly raspy, maintain a listenable status due to the even production, and when the vocalist turns to clean vocals, it sounds like a different person until he turns the singing into screaming. He also incorporates spoken word sporadically, bearing an uncanny resemblance to Current 93, so either way the vocalist is basically schizophrenic, but genuinely talented.

Evereve have reinvented not only gothic music but introduced a fresh, blood-soaked delusion to depressing music. Seasons, even when you haven’t heard it before, sounds uncomfortably familiar if you’re in the right mindset, and that alone is an outstanding constituent for a debut record. What better time than summer to wallow and rage in desolation, kids? It never gets old.



Recent reviews by this author
Thrice Major/MinorMournful Congregation The Book of Kings
Blut Aus Nord 777 - Sect(s)Nightwish Imaginaerum
Tom Waits Bad As MeDevin Townsend Project Ghost
user ratings (9)
Chart.
3.9
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
Wizard
May 31st 2009



19333 Comments


What better time than summer to wallow and rage in desolation, kids? It never gets old.

I fear for your life hahahaha. Review was damn good and is this easy to find?

Digging: YOB - Clearing The Path To Ascend

fireaboveicebelow
May 31st 2009



6837 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

for under $20 yeah no problem

Willie
Moderator
May 31st 2009



15909 Comments

Album Rating: 4.3

This is a great album. The review lost me in a few places, but it got it's point across. Too bad the vocalist killed himself after the next album.

ConorMichaelJoseph
May 31st 2009



1870 Comments


Great review, I'll be checking this out

KYZAR
May 31st 2009



513 Comments


This is a great album. The review lost me in a few places, but it got it's point across. Too bad the vocalist killed himself after the next album.

Really?! crap

fireaboveicebelow
May 31st 2009



6837 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

yeah, then the band died even worse, but it really is a shame because he was so so good for this sound

Willie
Moderator
May 31st 2009



15909 Comments

Album Rating: 4.3

He was awesome. He definitely had a unique voice. The band's music did get worse after their original vocalist killed himself, but it's still pretty good.

KYZAR
May 31st 2009



513 Comments


too bad...

Willie
Moderator
May 31st 2009



15909 Comments

Album Rating: 4.3

Yeah, but you should definitely check out this and Stormbirds.

BallsToTheWall
May 31st 2009



44164 Comments


Track 9 came off rather dull and meh but maybe it's just because I came back from a hedonistic, 4 day near all nighters in S.F. Good review, i will pursue this more tomorrow.

rasputin
May 31st 2009



14538 Comments


Good review, Willie told me about these guys ages ago but I think it was either him or someone else who told me that I wouldn't like it.

Willie
Moderator
May 31st 2009



15909 Comments

Album Rating: 4.3

If it came off as boring it's probably because you're listening to one of the last songs on an album that's meant to be taken as a whole.

BallsToTheWall
May 31st 2009



44164 Comments


Could be. The singing came off as really angsty and never really took off from there. I'll se what happens tomorrow.

Willie
Moderator
May 31st 2009



15909 Comments

Album Rating: 4.3

In order to really give it a chance you've got to listen from start to finish. Rasputin, I don't know if I told you that or not. There's a chance you'd enjoy it.

fireaboveicebelow
June 1st 2009



6837 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

angsty isn't the way I would describe it, morbid is a bit better term

Willie
Moderator
June 1st 2009



15909 Comments

Album Rating: 4.3

Yeah, that's a good description and Stormbirds is even more of that, plus he somehow got another vocal style out on that album.

fireaboveicebelow
June 1st 2009



6837 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Stormbirds might be as good as this I can't tell, but the cover art is making me biased

Willie
Moderator
June 1st 2009



15909 Comments

Album Rating: 4.3

Well, I don't know if it's making you biased in a good or bad way, but in their defense (or not) the label forced that album cover on them.

fireaboveicebelow
June 1st 2009



6837 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I love the cover

Willie
Moderator
June 1st 2009



15909 Comments

Album Rating: 4.3

Oh ok. I'm trying to find the original.

Anyway, I just added three songs from this album to the review - they're located under the ratings distribution graph to the right of the review. So check them out damn it!



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy