Underoath
Survive Kaleidoscope


3.5
great

Review

by doug USER (78 Reviews)
May 28th, 2009 | 42 replies | 10,572 views


Release Date: 2008 | Tracklist


1 of 3 thought this review was well written

Underoath are arguably the most profound live acts out on the tour circuit, regardless of their genre, and even up there with the likes of Muse when playing a live show. Seeing Underoath live for the first time last year this statement definitely rang true.

Survive, Kaleidoscope was filmed in Philadelphia at the Electric Factory in October 2008, while the CD was recorded at many differing venues through the course of 2008.

Most live recordings are not great quality, but this one is certainly different. Instrumentation is excellent and nothing is overpowering, Spencer Chamberlain’s screams and harmonies are stronger and more powerful in delivery and Aaron Gillespie does a fantastic job playing drums and singing with pitch perfect vocals for the entirety of the concert. Though to me the CD in this package is pretty much warranted useless. It is just a mix and mash of live performances through a tour, sounding like demo recordings, with only short bursts of crowd involvement and talk from Aaron and Spencer that make you realise that this is not just a dodgy bootleg. Yes this recording shows that they are a tight live act, but why not just listen to the original recordings?

Thank goodness this package has come with a DVD. The track listing is the same for the DVD as the CD, but thankfully all from the same concert since Underoath has such a good stage presence and strong crowd interaction that it would be awkward if it was chop and changed from show to show. The DVD start’s with ‘Salmarnir’ with some interesting footage and story line about a girl has come to her death. Then the band makes their way to the stage opening with ‘Returning Empty Handed,’ then with no hesitation, straight into the popular ‘In Regards to Myself.’ The set list that the band chooses for this recording is exceptional and all the fans favourite songs are played.

After the last song from the DVD set has finished, you can hear the crowd screaming for more, and the band deliver. When they come back on stage for the now obligatory encore, and kick off with ‘Moving For The Sake Of Motion’ you almost feel that they are going to continue on into another set due to all the energy and adrenaline flowing and encompassed through the band members and crowd. The set closes with a fan favourite, ‘A Boy Brushed Red Living in Black and White’ which gets a large sing-along from the crowd.

All songs from Define the Great Line are played, while only three from They’re Only Chasing Safety which doesn’t disappoint since the three songs played are the most memorable from that album.

Survive Kaleidoscope is more for the Underoath fans who haven’t been able to see them live are trying to collect the whole discography. If it wasn’t for the DVD section of this release it would ended up being a huge disappointment and let down.

3.5/5



Recent reviews by this author
Flume and Chet Faker LockjawThe Naked and Famous In Rolling Waves
James Blake OvergrownTaylor Swift Red
Macklemore and Ryan Lewis The HeistChet Faker Thinking in Textures
user ratings (195)
Chart.
3.6
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
AtavanHalen
May 28th 2009



17927 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah, pretty shit review.

Not to be pretentious but, Underoath is arguably the most profound live acts out on the tour circuit, regardless of their genre, and even up there with the likes of Muse when playing a live show, but not only are they a great live act but one of the most popular bands at the moment. Seeing Underoath live for the first time last year this statement definitely rang true.

Complete wankery, easily deletable.

To be straight forward and frank, this DVD/CD package is Underoath doing what Underoath does best, and that is play Underoath songs

A-duhhhhh?

This is quite a breath of fresh air hearing that has become so mainstream and they are not dumping their faith just to make it.

Wait...what?

After the last song from the DVD set has finished, the crowd pleads for me, as per usual with any concert

Don't think so highly of yourself.


Douglas
May 28th 2009



8984 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I sure as well dont. And thanks for the feedback... at least now I realise my work needs to be edited.. and will do straight away.

Mordecai.
May 28th 2009



8256 Comments


review was aight. I'll pos because its hard to do CD/DVD live reviews. Anyway, its good that your taking AvantHalen's criticism's in a positive way.

AtavanHalen
May 28th 2009



17927 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Your intro is still shit; the comparison to Muse is pointless.

xNintendoCorex
May 28th 2009



1272 Comments


^^agreed, seeing muse live would do absolutely nothing for me.

@mordecai, i still dont get why you pos'd it?
the review wasnt good despite the fact that its for a live cd/dvd.




gaslightanthem
May 28th 2009



5209 Comments


muse are supposedly one of the best live acts out there

scyther
May 28th 2009



1606 Comments


Atavan I somehow doubt that a few grammar mistakes and a comparison to Muse makes this a shit review, go live in a cave.

Mordecai.
May 28th 2009



8256 Comments


sorry AtavanHalen i'm a lazy typer. And i guess it was impulse pos cause i like this DVD and his review reflected my thoughts, but perhaps in the future i'll be more sparing with my pos's

scyther
May 28th 2009



1606 Comments


Thats revolutionary, make fun of the writer to no end and hope he listens to your advice against arrogance as you bask in humor-less jokes you think speak for themselves.

AtavanHalen
May 28th 2009



17927 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Well, he sort of has. Review is less shit.
Also, what did I just say? Return to your ball.

IAmInsect
May 28th 2009



3800 Comments


might get this since they don't play boy brushed red

cvlts
May 28th 2009



8917 Comments


ehhhhh awkward read... not horrible though
muse would have no effect on me lol
underoath is aight lol

Digging: Pedro the Lion - It's Hard To Find A Friend

marksellsuswallets
May 28th 2009



4848 Comments


I've been meaning to get this for a while but never have...eh. It's actually a pretty good live album from what I've heard off it.

ThusSpokeZarathustra
May 28th 2009



293 Comments


I really hate bands like this.

Douglas
May 28th 2009



8984 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

review was aight. I'll pos because its hard to do CD/DVD live reviews. Anyway, its good that your taking AvantHalen's criticism's in a positive way.


Feedback in any shape or form is good.

the comparison to Muse is pointless.


Well not really, since they have been voted the best live band numerous times.

but meh, I tried.


KYZAR
May 28th 2009



513 Comments


not gonna pos but decent review not as shit as atavan portrays

Douglas
May 29th 2009



8984 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Thanks man

gashuffer
May 31st 2009



26 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

I love how all these Christian metal acts pretend they're so oppressed and underground when Christianity is about as mainstream as you can get. Underoath is a terrible band.

scyther
May 31st 2009



1606 Comments


There are over 30,000 denominational Christian sects in America alone.

gashuffer
May 31st 2009



26 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

Oh, I don't know...maybe that nearly 83% of Americans identify themselves as Christian...and that Christianity pervades almost all aspects of American culture?



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy