The Audition
Self-Titled Album


1.0
awful

Review

by David James Young USER (181 Reviews)
May 26th, 2009 | 40 replies | 7,342 views


Release Date: 2009 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Watching Paint Dry: The Pop-Punk Musical

6 of 6 thought this review was well written

Ever read the press release for upcoming albums? Here’s a tip if you never have - it’s perfectly normal for the bullshit alarms to be wailing inside your mind whilst skimming through the chuckle-worthy, hyperbole-laden paragraphs. However, after taking a minute to read through the press release for possibly the dumbest album title of the year – Self-Titled Album (that’s seriously what it’s called) – it really does seem there are few that can bullshit better than Victory Records. In this instance, they’re talking about pop-punk band All-Time Low…sorry, The Higher…wait, no, that’s not it…The Cab?...nope; but we’re getting closer…ahh, here it is.
The Audition. Where faceless, whiny modern pop-punk is the name of the game.
But back to the press release. “The band refused to use the digital audio workstation to fix the little mistakes, making this album a derivative of their actual live performance”, boasts the second paragraph. “No frills, no fakery – just rock & roll”.

Balderdash.

Not only is this about twenty-six kilometres down the road from “rock & roll”, but this album has got to be one of the most overproduced and very cleanly polished albums this side of your little brother’s fringe. Not a foot is put out of line – every guitar straight to-the-point with precious little distortion, every click-track drumline free of any ringing snares or loud cymbals and every vocal harmony symmetrically aligned with that soulless magic that makes bands like these so damn memorable and distinctive. In other words, it’s unmemorable fluff. No fun, no authenticity – just rubbish.

The saving grace of a lot of modern pop-punk bands is some kind of bite or integrity, or even a distinctive singer. No such luck for the Audition- Danny Stevens sounds like every other one of his contemporaries, except he doesn’t even sound happy to be there. Think Patrick Stump with absolutely no talent – and if you’re of the opinion that Stump already has no talent, then you can only imagine just how bad Stevens is. Even the lyrics have absolutely no substance – “I don’t ever want to fall in love again/Don’t wait for me, I’m no saint you see” is just a taster from the idiotically titled “Stand on Your Feet” (as opposed to what other part of your anatomy?). The attempt at a heart-felt ballad a la Anberlin on “Los Angeles” really does appear to be the only song on the record remotely close to being a decent listen…and this is only the case because it sounds so much like an Anberlin song.

Self-Titled Album is bad. Really bad. And it’s not just because it’s completely unoriginal and completely soulless music. It’s the fact that pop-punk, even the mediocre stuff, is supposed to be about fun and having a good time. This album not only has no energetic spark, it’s practically a cure for insomnia. Avoid at all costs – unless you still use MySpace regularly, only know one dance move in mosh pits (jumping up and down in time with the song), and are waiting for Pete Wentz to divorce Ashlee so that he will come and marry you instead.



Recent reviews by this author
The Presets PacificaLast Dinosaurs In A Million Years
Every Time I Die Ex LivesDarren Hayes Secret Codes and Battleships
Wanda Jackson The Party Ain't OverPhrase Babylon
user ratings (57)
Chart.
2.9
good

Comments:Add a Comment 
devsol
May 26th 2009



347 Comments


are these guys australian?

AtavanHalen
May 26th 2009



17927 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0 | Sound Off

American. Chicago, Illinois.

devsol
May 26th 2009



347 Comments


oh okay, was just curious

Knott-
Emeritus
May 26th 2009



10194 Comments


a) album title rules

b) approach the bench is an awesome song, i think that's by these guys

c) you should change balderdash to bullshit

d) review ruled

AtavanHalen
May 26th 2009



17927 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0 | Sound Off

a) No it doesn't
b) Yep
c) No way
d) Cheers

Bfhurricane
May 26th 2009



6194 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

This was a great review. Album is such a disappointment, and I actually spent money on it. In my review for Champion, I predicted this band would get better with time, but they threw away any form of fun, funk, and musical ingenuity that they had before this album. They're melting away into the indistinguishable mesh of blase pop punk.

Bfhurricane
May 26th 2009



6194 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

By the way, you left out Sign. Steal. Deliver. It's style sticks out like a sore thumb on the album, and it's definitely better than Los Angeles.

Phil
May 26th 2009



1473 Comments


I agree with that you shouldnt read anything into press releases. On Josh Pykes website it says the album is about harpooning and fishing and stuff. Well, he apparently said but anyway, its a load of crap. If I read that I'd be hoping for some metuhl or something.

AtavanHalen
May 26th 2009



17927 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0 | Sound Off

Nah, I didn't like that track much at all - or any of them to be honest.
Thanks for checking it out, though. 'Ppreciated.

Knott-
Emeritus
May 26th 2009



10194 Comments


I SHOULD BE ASHAMED OF THJIS I'M NOTTTTTT

AtavanHalen
May 26th 2009



17927 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0 | Sound Off

I agree with that you shouldnt read anything into press releases. On Josh Pykes website it says the album is about harpooning and fishing and stuff. Well, he apparently said but anyway, its a load of crap.

What he actually said was that the title of his album, Chimney's Afire, was the call whalers made when they harpooned a whale. And the album does have nautical and maritime themes, so it's not entirely bullshit.

Phil
May 26th 2009



1473 Comments


Oh, ok. That does make sense and I guess it does have a bit of beachy theme but still, I would want a metuhl album. I think this shows how much research I do.

Iluvatar
Staff Reviewer
May 26th 2009



16081 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This is actually really great but ATAVAN

AtavanHalen
May 26th 2009



17927 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0 | Sound Off

Oh sup. Didn't pick you as the generic-crap type.

Iluvatar
Staff Reviewer
May 26th 2009



16081 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I'm not hence the rating

burnafterbreeding
May 26th 2009



1466 Comments


Spectacular review, concise as can be. I really wanna listen to this to make myself angry, I hate everything that "pop-punk" has become. Shit, even blink 182 sucks.

Bfhurricane
May 26th 2009



6194 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Their last album wasn't even a 3.5, and it was better than this.

turnip90210
May 26th 2009



308 Comments


mighty fine review, I'll make sure to not come near this. The few pop-punk acts I listened to a number of years ago did at least have the sense of fun, and that was about all that the music had to offer...

[...] the idiotically titled “Stand on Your Feet” (as opposed to what other part of your anatomy?) - Tenacious D beg to differ ;]

Fugue
May 26th 2009



7352 Comments


Great review, and extra points for using the word Balderdash.

ConorMichaelJoseph
May 26th 2009



1870 Comments


Good review Mr. Young
I gave this album a brief listen and barely remember it already, but I'm pretty sure it sucked really badly.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy