mewithoutYou
It's All Crazy! It's All False! It's all


3.0
good

Review

by CaptainMcPirateton USER (1 Reviews)
May 20th, 2009 | 28 replies


Release Date: 2009 | Tracklist

Review Summary: mewithoutYou’s latest replaces the rawness and humanity of their old albums with sing-a-long styles and stories about animals.

mewithoutYou is a rare case in the world of Christian bands, for instance: they don’t suck. Despite having consistently strong religious overtones to their music mwY has managed to find a solid listening base of people of many different faiths (or no faith at all). They did this primarily through the lyrics and vocals of front man Aaron Weiss. On their first 3 albums, Aaron sang, spoke and yelled lyrics which were honest and though they came from a very clearly Christian perspective, they were delivered in such a way that anyone could relate.

Enter the new album It’s all Crazy! It’s all false! It’s all a dream! It’s alright, one which fans were warned ahead of time would be softer than their previous efforts; a continuation of the progression which began on Brother, Sister with the increased use of acoustic guitar (like on the “Yellow Spider” songs). Aaron’s impassioned screams which were the hallmark of their previous albums is gone completely, and replaced with a softer, slightly narrator-ish voice which works well in the context of the songs.

This brings me to the problem with the album: the songs themselves. The change of sound in and of itself shouldn’t be a problem for most fans of the band, they were never the heaviest band and this new sound was clearly hinted at on their previous album. The problem with the songs is that they lack the emotional urgency of their previous efforts. While in songs such as “Tie Me Up! Untie Me!” Aaron would confess that “And now I haven't even thought about killing myself in almost five months.” Or in “Bullet to Binary” from A->B Life which has a “sequel” on this album: “and when you say you love him, taste me I'm like poison on your tongue” which can be contrasted with such cringe worthy lines as “For each time you disrespect your parents!” in “Bullet to Binary (Part 2)”.

Another problem with the album is the animal lyrics, while previous albums have been distinctly human in Aaron’s confessions of his weakness and struggles with faith, this album features many songs which center on talking animal characters and food imagery. Which isn’t “bad” in any objective sense, it’s just (pardon the pun) too sugary for my taste.

All of this isn’t to say this is a bad album, it has it’s redeeming moments: the immediately catchy album opener “Every Thought a Thought of You”, the animal imagery laden “The Fox, the Crow and the Cookie”, “The Angel of Death Came to David’s Room”, and “Cattail Down” are all great songs worthy of being compared to the best in mwY’s catalog. It’s just that while this is a creative and ambitious album from a talented group of musicians, they suddenly seem like songs written for youth camp camp fires more than the confessions of the old mwY albums.


user ratings (783)
Chart.
3.8
excellent
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
scyther
May 20th 2009


1606 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Perhaps Weiss isn't in a position to confess anything any longer, and this album is a mark of his maturity and confidence?

Avirov
May 20th 2009


1206 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Review their career less, review the album more.

burnafterbreeding
May 20th 2009


1466 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

mewithoutYou is a rare case in the world of Christian bands, for instance: they don’t suck.


huh?

Knott-
Emeritus
May 20th 2009


10198 Comments


lolz review is urgh

at least get the name of the opener right

burnafterbreeding
May 20th 2009


1466 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Another problem with the album is the animal lyrics, while previous albums have been distinctly human in Aaron’s confessions of his weakness and struggles with faith, this album features many songs which center on talking animal characters and food imagery. Which isn’t “bad” in any objective sense, it’s just (pardon the pun) too sugary for my taste.


All of this isn’t to say this is a bad album, it has it’s redeeming moments: the animal imagery laden “The Fox, the Crow and the Cookie”


Well that makes no sense.This Message Edited On 05.20.09

rotterdog
May 20th 2009


489 Comments


He's actually used animals as metaphors quite a bit in their past albums. Did you not listen to Brother, Sister? Spiders, porcupines, cats, peacocks etc.

marksellsuswallets
May 20th 2009


4848 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

This whole "album is lacking in emotional urgency/inspiration" argument makes absolutely no sense. It's just a different kind of emotion being displayed.

while previous albums have been distinctly human in Aaron’s confessions of his weakness and struggles with faith,

Yeah they were, but that was when Aaron was umm...struggling with his faith...he isn't anymore so why would he keep writing about that? It seems like he's more or less completely content with his life so the album mirrors that in it's whimsical/worshipful tone.This Message Edited On 05.20.09

OllieS
May 20th 2009


2036 Comments


Review was fine; people are pissed it doesn't give the album 4.5/5

This whole "album is lacking in emotional urgency/inspiration" argument makes absolutely no sense. It's just a different kind of emotion being displayed.


His opinionThis Message Edited On 05.20.09

JokesorInsults
May 20th 2009


244 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

listen to "A Glass Can Only Spill What It Contains", "C-Minor", and "O, Porcupine". For Christ's sake, the name of the song is O, Porcupine!

edit: In reference to the animal imagery.This Message Edited On 05.20.09

natey
May 20th 2009


4170 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

CaptainMcPirateton your problem is you've never had a macaroon or boysenberry pie. you need to cheer the fuck up. life doesn't have to be just about killing yourself and poison, and maybe you should respect your parents

natey
May 20th 2009


4170 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

and LOL for recommending Michael W. Smith

JokesorInsults
May 20th 2009


244 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

I saw that and considered tracing Captain's IP so I could punch him in the face.

roofi
May 20th 2009


959 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

hahahaha at the michael w smith recommendation

CaptainMcPirateton
May 20th 2009


1 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I think the biggest thing I was trying to emphasize was how relatable and human the old stuff was and how this album is stories about talking animals. It's not that it's happy, it's not the change in sound it's that the feel went from being deeply personal to him telling you fairy tales.

(Also how do you edit the review so I can fix my "Every Thought a Though of You" boner?)

AmnesiacR
May 20th 2009


113 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Yeah, the animal metaphors never surprised me. These songs are based more around Aesop's fables rather than Weiss's own thoughts--but that's perfectly fine with me.

Your review basically boils down to "since this isn't anything like their previous albums--it must not be good."

Different =/= Bad



Gyromania
May 20th 2009


15967 Comments


Lol, this is way better than a 3.

natey
May 20th 2009


4170 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off


I think the biggest thing I was trying to emphasize was how relatable and human the old stuff was and how this album is stories about talking animals. It's not that it's happy, it's not the change in sound it's that the feel went from being deeply personal to him telling you fairy tales.

i think it's still personal to Weiss just less angsty. i get your point though

ziroth
May 20th 2009


1252 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"mewithoutYou is a rare case in the world of Christian bands, for instance: they don’t suck."

The ratio of bad and good "Christian" bands & bad and good secular bands are virtually the same.


iarescientists
May 20th 2009


5863 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

not really

Waior
May 20th 2009


11461 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah, they are.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy