Boards of Canada
Music Has The Right To Children


5.0
classic

Review

by Meatplow USER (111 Reviews)
May 17th, 2009 | 35 replies | 4,615 views


Release Date: 1998 | Tracklist


7 of 8 thought this review was well written

Music Has The Right To Children is the debut LP from Scottish electronic music duo Boards of Canada, one of the flagship artists of Warp Records who are best known for popularising many artists under the umbrella term of music that has come to be known as Intelligent Dance Music (IDM). Whilst this label has earnt some ire, the music created is often unconventional and difficult to categorise elsewhere, BoC's Music Has The Right To Children certainly being no different.

Describing this albums parts in excruciating detail would destroy all the beauty of it. What Boards of Canada have created here is something that transcends technological barriers to appear as a living organism with an eerie heart and soul all of its own, provoking a distinct emotion in those who are willing to let it come to them. What makes this album what it is perhaps is BoC's preference of warm analogue instruments over digital synths, whilst the group were never afraid to use both here on MHTRTC this feels completely essential to what makes it as special as it is.

Personally, this album speaks best in abstract emotions which feels to me like a sadness for the simplicity of nature in a technological age. It dwells in a curious nostalgia, which is warm and full of heart but surrounded by all kinds of digital manipulations which influence it. A number of tracks are mere soundbites, exploring a simple musical motif to full effect. Others are are complex machinations, full of intricate production and choice samples. Either way, both are crucial. Whilst there are plenty of varied textures on offer MHTRTC keeps a very consistent tone throughout, a strong sense of melancholy pervades and holds your attention for it's entire duration. Not many albums of this length can do that.

Music Has The Right to Children is arguably the seminal work of Boards of Canada, whilst later efforts such as Geogaddi and The Campfire Headphase would head in somewhat different directions (all of which are of their own merit) this is a unique affair which reveals itself steadily over time, cold and uninviting at first but given a proper chance it will seduce you in the way only the best music could.



Recent reviews by this author
Moevot AbgzvoryathreKate Bush Hounds of Love
Zoviet France botanical slimmingSPK Machine Age Voodoo
7 From Life Sting of The Honey SpiderCromagnon Orgasm
user ratings (1075)
Chart.
4.3
superb
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
Athom
Staff Reviewer
May 17th 2009



17117 Comments


i really need this

Digging: Sad Lovers and Giants - Feeding the Flame

kitsch
May 17th 2009



5105 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

wow your really cranking them out meatplow.

i prefer geogaddi.

this band fills me with the child-like awe/warm nostalgia thats oddly heavy and melancholy.

animal collective does that as well, but to a much lesser degree

MassiveAttack
May 17th 2009



2684 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Meatplow is a machine.

natey
May 17th 2009



4170 Comments


http://www.beaverandsteve.com/wiki/index.php?title=Comic_241

Meatplow
May 17th 2009



5524 Comments


yeah i haven't slept since yesterday afternoon (it's currently 1 PM or so, damn those late shifts) so trying to put off going to sleep until a reasonable hour of the night. too tired to do much else rly but sit on the computer and chip away at reviews

geogaddi is incredible, I prefer it in many ways to this now though I was initially disappointed. I still love both however

YOU REALLY NEED TO SHUT UP

STEVE SPEW RULES


wat r u a wrestler or something

kitsch
May 17th 2009



5105 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

hes eliminator

CompanionCube
May 17th 2009



977 Comments


http://www.beaverandsteve.com/wiki/index.php?title=Comic_241

baahahaahahahaha

CompanionCube
May 17th 2009



977 Comments


Beaver can live without digestive organs!

thebhoy
Emeritus
May 17th 2009



4459 Comments


I like these guys, but never considered anything they've done "classic". Good review, though it's pretty unnecessary to say things like "personally..." since it's your review. Minor gripe, however.

MassiveAttack
May 18th 2009



2684 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I think Geogaddi is their best work. Their style really lets you immerse yourself within their albums, for an electronic album they're fantastic. They have yet to release any bad material.

This Message Edited On 05.18.09This Message Edited On 05.18.09

po0ty
May 18th 2009



483 Comments


Wondering why I don't have this...Campfire Headphase is fucking bomb

Merkaba33
May 18th 2009



702 Comments


I actually feel a more nostalgic feel when I listen to Aphex Twin. Songs like Rhubarb and Alberto Basalm make me feel as if I'm trancending time or something.

Meatplow
May 18th 2009



5524 Comments


I like these guys, but never considered anything they've done "classic". Good review, though it's pretty unnecessary to say things like "personally..." since it's your review. Minor gripe, however.


trying to describe this in other terms is impossible, to be honest

DoctorNurse
May 18th 2009



475 Comments


Only ever heard the campfire headphase by these guys. Peacock Tail is probably the most relaxing song i've ever heard

Mendigo
May 18th 2009



2299 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

review is a bit too short for my taste, but niiice.
this is still my favorite by them, though Boc Maxima really grows on me right now.

Yotimi
May 18th 2009



6273 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

The most nostalgic feeling album ever.

kitsch
May 18th 2009



5105 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

for me the most nostalgic is tired sounds of the stars of the lid.

Meatplow
May 18th 2009



5524 Comments


I really have to check out Stars of The Lid, i've had a few of their albums but lost them in a hard drive crash. loving ambient music of late

thebhoy
Emeritus
May 18th 2009



4459 Comments


trying to describe this in other terms is impossible, to be honest


if you mean as anything other then a classic, then yeah if it's your opinion! If you mean saying "personally" then all I mean is you can get rid of it completely "This album speaks in abstract emotions..." and so on and so forth. Again nothing big, as you've made me want to get this! Geogaddi is great.

yeah, Tippy's Demise on "...And Their Rifenement of the Decline" is one of the best ambient songs I've ever heard.This Message Edited On 05.18.09

Lucid
Contributing Reviewer
May 18th 2009



6961 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Is this the Boards of Canada album that I should listen to first?

Digging: Perfume Genius - Learning



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy