Have Heart
Songs to Scream at the Sun


2.5
average

Review

by Taylor Jermolajew USER (39 Reviews)
May 17th, 2009 | 27 replies | 3,056 views


Release Date: 2008 | Tracklist

Review Summary: YAWN.

0 of 4 thought this review was well written

Hardcore is a touchy genre, generally speaking the most mild forms of experimentation can result in a band being referred to in any number of derogatory terms. Now granted this isn’t always unjustified but the big issue is that Hardcore as a genre has bred a lot of redundancy and nowhere is this more obvious than in bands like Have Heart.

From the most basic of viewpoints I can see that Have Heart’s members are energetic and obviously capable musicians, but capable doesn’t mean good. Each song more or less follows the same patterns, there’s nothing particularly awe-inspiring throughout the album. The instrumental work is standard fare for the genre, obviously this isn’t the type of music you’re going to hear odd-time signatures and shred-filled riff passages, but it’s incredibly boring when you’re assailed with chugging riffs and breakdowns and little else.

Similarly the rhythm work isn’t anything to be wowed by; basic drumming patterns and uninteresting bass lines permeate the album and give the album a very dull feel. In fact dullness is the major problem with the album, a ton of the songs just blend together into a big mess of by-the-book hardcore and they leave the listener in a state of boredom and confusion.

However, the average musicianship could be overlooked if the band’s vocalist wasn’t a bargain bin singer. I’m not sure if he actually aims for monotonous harsh vocals but it certainly came out that way, there’s little to no variation throughout the album and the rare moments of change are so fleeting you could be forgiven for not noticing them. Effectively you’ve got stock-standard Hardcore music (Not as if there’s a shortage of that) and not much else. What makes the album so much more dissapointing isn't the fact that it's bad so much as it is boring and it's genuninely disheartening to see a band that is clearly talented fall so flat on their face.

So at the end of the day what Have Heart have put out is your average hardcore album, for genre nuts it’ll probably seem like some revolutionary piece of music but if you’re looking for interesting song writing or just something outside of the box you may want to look elsewhere.

FINAL VERDICT: 2.5/5

SUGGESTION: Listen to Verse instead.



Recent reviews by this author
Johnny Truant In the Library of Horrific EventsDead Kings Dead Kings
Blackhole Dead HeartsNorma Jean O' God The Aftermath
From First To Last Throne To The WolvesThe Dillinger Escape Plan Calculating Infinity
user ratings (392)
Chart.
3.9
excellent
other reviews of this album
Serpento (3)
Come listen to the ballad of a brocore band that doesn’t have (or necessarily need) bros....

Lee Carlson (4)
Combine Minor Threat's straight edge lifestyle with Modern Life is War's epic song writing, and you ...

related reviews

The Things We Carry
recommended by reviewer
Verse Aggression
Bane Give Blood

Comments:Add a Comment 
kitsch
May 17th 2009



5105 Comments


YES

kitsch
May 17th 2009



5105 Comments


i wish i could scream this record into the sun

jrowa001
May 17th 2009



8749 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

i actually really enjoyed this album

IsItLuck?
Emeritus
May 17th 2009



4925 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I think it's better than average

mynameischan
Staff Reviewer
May 17th 2009



17911 Comments


have heart more like i have to fart

Acre
May 17th 2009



847 Comments


have heart more like have NOT heart BOOOOOOM!!!

DaveBum69
May 17th 2009



699 Comments


i like your suggestion

Lucid
Contributing Reviewer
May 17th 2009



6956 Comments


For Those Who Have Heart

Digging: Wild Beasts - Present Tense

Zippermouth
May 17th 2009



1305 Comments


Lol @ summary, makes perfect sense.

FailureOnMyLips
May 17th 2009



75 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

at least it's not another hardcore album about "I AM STRONG, MY FRIENDS ARE MY FAMILY" etc blah blah blah. Anyone no matter how tough or soft they are go through shit. Anger is an emotion to.

Zippermouth
May 17th 2009



1305 Comments


*too

natey
May 17th 2009



4170 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

to me this is worthy of a four because i ENJOY it

Verse is a 4.5 tho

natey
May 17th 2009



4170 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

yeah that was a stupid argument on his part. i don't even remember any of the lyrics on this

Degausser
December 2nd 2009



1 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Just another review by someone who doesn't know much about what they're talking about.
And to the dudes below.

Have Heart is not emo, exact opposite actually
.
Get it straight.

IRAI
January 13th 2010



1567 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"if you’re looking for interesting song writing or just something outside of the box you may want to look elsewhere."

you couldnt be more wrong, but if you dont see the relevance of pat flynn's lyrics as they reflect upon his life and what he sees from others, as interesting or outside of the box, then i guess youre living in a hole.

"However, the average musicianship could be overlooked if the band’s vocalist wasn’t a bargain bin singer. I’m not sure if he actually aims for monotonous harsh vocals but it certainly came out that way, there’s little to no variation throughout the album and the rare moments of change are so fleeting you could be forgiven for not noticing them"

if you dont hear the emotion, anger, and sense of severity and anguish in his vocal delivery, i might have to call you deaf, but hey, its not for everyone.

i just respectfully disagree with almost everything you have to say about this release.

p.s. Verse is great, but i wouldnt skip HH up altogether and just listen to Verse instead. theyre both VERY important for Contemporary Hardcore.

ThePalaceOfWisdom
January 13th 2010



1134 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

you couldnt be more wrong, but if you dont see the relevance of pat flynn's lyrics as they reflect upon his life and what he sees from others, as interesting or outside of the box, then i guess youre living in a hole.


He sings songs about drunk irishmen coming into his room at night, naked and beating him. That isn't any different from the piles of hardcore bands who like to sing about how tough life is.

if you dont hear the emotion, anger, and sense of severity and anguish in his vocal delivery, i might have to call you deaf, but hey, its not for everyone.


All I hear from this guy's voice is "Hey guyz, who likes Bane? I like Bane, so much that I'm gonna try and be like the guy from Bane." The only emotion this guy has as far as I can tell is "angry face" and he's not even that good at conveying it.

IRAI
January 13th 2010



1567 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Aaron Bedard and Pat Flynn Are nothing like each other in hardcore...

and Bane is more metal with a heavy hardcore influence, outlook, and group chants. i mean Aaron Dalbec is one of their guitar players(ex-Converge).

All im saying is while you might not think HH is that good, or at least this album, it is still more of a reflective piece than something to try and pick apart for originality. this album has found a lot of relevance in my life (maybe not Bostons, like you so happily tried to interpret), and that is the real value that most people find in this music. that's what hardcore is all about...Passion for what you live for. Pure fucking Intensity and Passion.


and if you dont see any passion in this, then still, i will respectfully disagree with you.

Transient
January 13th 2010



1461 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

bane is in no way metal lmao

having said that, i disagree that aaron and pat sound anything like each other at all

IRAI
January 13th 2010



1567 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i forgot the -ish, or the 'has more metal-ish tedencies.

my bad.

ThePalaceOfWisdom
January 14th 2010



1134 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

All im saying is while you might not think HH is that good, or at least this album, it is still more of a reflective piece than something to try and pick apart for originality. this album has found a lot of relevance in my life (maybe not Bostons, like you so happily tried to interpret), and that is the real value that most people find in this music. that's what hardcore is all about...Passion for what you live for. Pure fucking Intensity and Passion.


Thing is Mantra by Shelter is a passionate and reflective album. The difference is I actually like listening to Shelter, Have Heart do nothing for me, they're just another band singing about the same thing that's been sung about by hardcore bands for years. It's just not interesting.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy