Rose Funeral
The Resting Sonata


2.0
poor

Review

by Metabolica USER (4 Reviews)
May 12th, 2009 | 32 replies


Release Date: 2009 | Tracklist

Review Summary: With this halfhearted sophomore, Rose Funeral have proven to us all that they do not have the talent or creativity to stand out amongst their endless deathcore competitors.

Rose Funeral have never really been an act for appraisal, but you have to give them some credit. Back when they got started, the whole deathcore thing was just blooming. From where we come from (My, and Rose Funeral's, home town of Cincinnati), Rose Funeral were one of the bands who really got the local core scene started. Ryan, the only founding member still in the band, had just departed from a much more respectable hardcore band who I will leave unnamed for the sake of decency. This band along with Suffocate Faster LITERALLY started the Cincinnati hardcore scene, but Rose Funeral were really the fist to capitalize it with their generic but well put together songs which came complete with some very memorable breakdowns. This coupled with the very blatant brutality of the lyrics, inspired a whole new generation of "Hardcore kids" around here. So, regardless of how generic the music was, they had some classic anthems that you couldn't help but enjoy.

But what about now? Ryan has since kicked out or separated with every member who's signature styles made Rose Funeral. So with a new gang of off the streets members and a shinny new record deal to Metal Blade, the band has offered us a follow up to "Crucify. Kill. Rot" dubbed "The Resting Sonata". With this new album, Rose Funeral had to make the choice all breakthrough deathcore bands have to make. They could either make a whole new set of memorable anthems set to their style, which they no longer had the creative members for, or they could try a somewhat new direction and hope to become a better band. Well, Rose Funeral chose to attempt a slightly different direction. Unfortunately, this direction is leading nowhere really fast. We've been presented with a slightly more death metal oriented yet still breakdown clad second effort that is both unoriginal and forgettable.

So what is so what is so bad about this album?

Well for starters there have been few to no improvements, just changes. The catchy guitar riffs and memorable hooks are gone, and we are left with songs that seem too literally just be breakdowns with build ups to them. The breakdowns are indeed heavy, but they are also very boring and don't really stick in your mind. The riffs no longer stick to the basic deathcore style and have changed to a very apathetically put together collection of death metal excuses. The new vocalist has a higher to lower range, but they differ from the classic Rose Funeral style and are not very unique in any way. The drumming is really the only thing that is even remotely impressive, but definitely not enough so to save the songs. The bass is practically nonexistent, but I'm sure it's crap. All in all the songs are very boring and all sound rather similar.

Oh, and lets talk about the lyrics. As impossible as it seems, the lyrics have gotten even less creative. On the previous work, Destin's lyrics were generic, but they were executed in a way that made them stand out in you head and drew you into the song. Some of the lyrics on the last record were arguably classic. I don't know who's writing the lyrics for this album, but they are quite crude. It's very seriously as if they just looked up as many terms for killing someone or mocking god as they could, threw them all in a raffle, then matched them up for songs. Aside from a catchy little line from "Redeemer of the Flesh", these might be some of the worst deathcore I've ever heard.

Sorry for the short review, but this album doesn't have a lot to offer. All in all, this album is disappointing. If you are a hardcore tween who creams his pants at a bassy breakdown, you might get a kick out of this. But rather than buy this album, you might just want to go to the nearest dump and pick it up from where the last person with musical taste left it. Hopefully Rose Funeral with eventually die out from all the member changes before they completely eclipse the semi glory they once embraced. Until then, here's hoping! :D


user ratings (101)
Chart.
2.7
average

Comments:Add a Comment 
sspedding
May 12th 2009


4780 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

agree with the review. This album is god damn terrible.

Digging: Devil Sold His Soul - Belong ? Betray

marksellsuswallets
May 12th 2009


4848 Comments


*sigh* it seems we go through this with every new reviewer...Don't post a review while your other one is still on the front page, it's highly inconsiderate.

As for the review(s), the same things can be said about both. There's nothing really bad, you just need to concentrate on making things more focused and detailed since sometimes it almost seems like you start to ramble or get off track. Also, it seems like you miss words sometimes like "Ryan has (been) since kicked out", and insert unnecessary words in other places or use the wrong word like "The drumming is really the only thing that are (should be is) even remotely impressive." Other than that just some awkwardly put together sentences and random grammar errors. Oh and album sucks.

Metabolica
May 12th 2009


12 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Sorry
wasn't aware
but Ryan hasn't BEEn kicked out, he kicked everyone else out

marksellsuswallets
May 12th 2009


4848 Comments


Oh I see, I read the sentence wrong.

KYZAR
May 12th 2009


513 Comments


"shinny" should by shiny. Other than my little nit pick this is a solid review. No so good album afraid, also wheres the album artwork?

Also marksellsuswallets that is the freakiest avatar i've seen in awhile.This Message Edited On 05.12.09

ReturnToRock
May 13th 2009


3448 Comments


always good to have a new kid with some promise on this site.

however, you need to work on a few things. for starters: you spend too long setting up the review, then rush the evaluation proper. for a big intro like that, you need a review at least 2/3 paragraphs longer than this one.

also, your arguments seem lacking. "it sucks" ceases to be an accepted fact the moment you move out of grade school. if you state "it sucks", you need to explain WHY it sucks. justifying "it sucks" with "it sucks" is tantamount to replying to "why" with "just 'cuz!". we need better reasons!

oh yeah...and "'cuz Stone Cold said so" isn't a valid answer, either

having said that, here's hoping you bloom into a good-to-great reviewer, because the potential is certainly there.

iamthenightmare
May 13th 2009


754 Comments


i'll pos solely for the interesting introduction and because you show promise

EDIT: probably shouldn't use solely and then bring up 2 reasons, but what the hell its the internetsThis Message Edited On 05.13.09

ButcheredChildren
July 24th 2009


5591 Comments


i like this album, i find Created To Kill and Buried Beneath extremely fun to sing along to, the lyrical content is definately there although the instrumental parts are lacking via Crucify. Kill. Rot

cookiesarethebword
September 16th 2009


87 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

think im the only person that enjoyed this

promiseswept
September 17th 2009


846 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

hahaha totally agreed with cookiesarethebword. i really really like this album. glad to see something other than hate.

sspedding
October 5th 2009


4780 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

regurgitated shitty by the numbers deathcore.

sspedding
October 11th 2009


4780 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

just read something hilarious about this band. Their bassist left for Miss May I stating touring with Rose Funeral made him not want to play music anymore.

Priceless. Band is still shit.

ThePalestMexican
October 27th 2009


2816 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

wow, i don't think it's that bad at all

Faceless1387
November 1st 2009


5 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

God demise was the only good song off this album, everything else was pretty bad.

promiseswept
December 3rd 2009


846 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

and i totally disagree with the opening of the review when you said rose funeral are talentless. it truly takes talent to scream like tim or drum like dusty. maybe you're too focused on the guitars.

sspedding
December 3rd 2009


4780 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

im focused on the music they make. I can't keep it.

dansxdead
February 26th 2010


438 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Want to play UNO anyone?

sspedding
February 28th 2010


4780 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Haha UNO

These are the bottom of the barrel.

dansxdead
March 2nd 2010


438 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Rose fUNOral

SatansLittleHelper
June 8th 2010


192 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Fun.oral ya i lold by myslef there for a second



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy