Billy Talent
Billy Talent II


4.0
excellent

Review

by Davey Boy STAFF
May 11th, 2009 | 173 replies | 11,060 views


Release Date: 2006 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Gradual growth results in some inconsistency, yet Billy Talent’s underlying passion and ability to turn almost any style of song into a crowd-pleasing anthem, eventually wins out.

With punk band Billy Talent’s self-titled debut LP containing more hooks than a fisherman’s tackle box, one could have expected that record labels and the almighty dollar would have had their way when it came to the Canadian quartet’s follow-up. With bands such as Good Charlotte, Sum 41 and Simple Plan reaching heights beyond their talent, it almost seemed like a foregone conclusion that the band with the screeching lead singer would head towards the radio-friendly masses. Yet, for the most part, Billy Talent resists the temptation and sticks to their guns.

In fact, the opening few tracks (and singles) on the plainly titled ‘Billy Talent II’ suggest anything but poppy leanings. Electric opener ‘Devil In A Midnight Mass’ begins with ominous sounding and frenetic guitar that seems more (glam-)metal than anything else, before lead vocalist Ben Kowalewicz lets out a scream that fans would already be familiar with. Come chorus time, the trademark call and response vocals also return, with an alternating whispered and screamed breakdown topping off the cut effectively.

The following ‘Red Flag’ then immediately defines “anthemic punk” with an infectious sing-along chorus that is ably assisted by an exaggerated drum-beat. And when 5th single ‘This Suffering’ comes along at track 3 and impressively blends a more conventional rock sound with the band’s base punk traits, one has to wonder if Billy Talent are somehow going to better their fantastic debut.

One thing that the Canadians have done well here is found that nice balance of growth and still giving fans what they want. The inconsistent mid-section of ‘II’ displays this with individual tracks likely to be judged differently depending on the listener. Wisely however, there should be something for everyone in amongst the mix, whether it’s the bass-driven ‘Worker Bees’, methodical ‘Pins and Needles’, catchy 3rd single ‘Fallen Leaves’, or lyrically interesting ‘Covered in Cowardice’, which highlights the growing trend of internet bullying.

Of course, also part of such growth is for the band to explore their poppier/mainstream side. Three tracks especially do this and will more than likely be divisive. ‘Where Is The Line?’ and ‘Perfect World’ progress predictably both vocally and musically, while ballad ‘Surrender’ surprisingly brings sweet harmonies to the foreground. Those listeners unimpressed by these efforts need not fear however, as the album ends relatively strong with the catchy ‘In The Fall (The Navy Song)’, backing-vocal heavy ‘Sympathy’ and impressively melodic ‘Burn The Evidence’, which switches tempo throughout.

‘Billy Talent II’ may not have the consistently high level of winning hooks or memorable songs as its predecessor, but it still contains a more than sufficient amount of musical, vocal and lyrical highlights to satisfy Billy Talent’s fans. By exhibiting gradual growth on this follow-up LP, the results are a little more hit and miss, yet the band’s underlying passion and ability to turn almost any style of song into a crowd-pleasing anthem, eventually wins out.

Recommended Tracks: Red Flag, This Suffering, Fallen Leaves & Devil In A Midnight Mass.



Recent reviews by this author
Emmure Eternal EnemiesThe Pretty Reckless Going to Hell
Broods BroodsThe Jezabels The Brink
Fanfarlo Let's Go ExtinctAbandon All Ships Malocchio
user ratings (828)
Chart.
3.7
great
other reviews of this album
Vilen1025 (4)
Great piece of work, with minor flaws that don't seriously hinder the flow....

wakeupdead (4)
While "Billy Talent II" is much poppier than their self-titled debut album, it was overlooked by man...

Jeremy Price (3.5)
...

Damrod EMERITUS (3.5)
...


Comments:Add a Comment 
DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
May 12th 2009



20830 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

It will be interesting to hear what direction they head in on Billy Talent III.

There is some kind of a trailer regarding the release of that album in July on www.billytalent3.com


YouAreMySilence
May 12th 2009



3727 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

The problem I have with Billy Talent is that all of their songs sound the same. I due respect them for their obvious passion with how long they have been touring but it seems to me that they are a one trick pony who's trick isn't that great.

But great review.

MassiveAttack
May 12th 2009



2684 Comments


Hey Davey just wanted to drop this tidbit:

jebo tvoje majka

Bye!

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
May 12th 2009



20830 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

That's a fair criticism Brandon and one I touched on in the review of their debut (I didn't feel it was necessary to bring it back up in detail here). The style of music on 'II' probably lends itself a little more to the weakness being prevalent, but I personally do not think it is anywhere near overwhelming.

BUT with each passing album, one does have to wonder how long they can keep plowing the same ground. Hence why their next LP will indeed be interesting.

Marko, that is no way to teach someone a new language. But if you're asking how I am today, I am fine.

MassiveAttack
May 12th 2009



2684 Comments


lol no actually I returned your harsh language to fuck your mother =). Happy late mothers day!

marksellsuswallets
May 12th 2009



4848 Comments


I should probably have checked this out like two years ago when I heard Red Flag...such an infectious song....

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
May 12th 2009



20830 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Well, it wouldn't be you Marko, because you are a... Pedercina!

Check out this website page: http://www.insultmonger.com/swearing/croatian.htm


This Message Edited On 05.12.09

MassiveAttack
May 12th 2009



2684 Comments


lol nice I remember when I was younger I would tell my friends all the swear words it was fun times in elementary school.

----> The classic lines:
Odi (mi) u kurac Go to my dick
Jedi govna Eat shit
Odjebi Fuck off
Pizda Cunt
Kurac Dick

used to use Kurac and Pizda all the time.This Message Edited On 05.12.09

YouAreMySilence
May 12th 2009



3727 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

My opinuin is kind of biased though because living in Canada Billy Talent are crazy overplayed so anything relatively great about them have been sucked dry by the media.



marksellsuswallets
May 12th 2009



4848 Comments


"I will jump in your face with my naked a**"...hahahaha. Most of these make no sense at all.

MassiveAttack
May 12th 2009



2684 Comments


its just the general translations to English. They obviously aren't interpreted in Croatian that way.
Actually you think about it most languages that are converted word by word in English don't make sense at all and only work within that certain language (for this it would be Slavic as in Russian, Slovenian, Croatian, Serbian, lots although not all of them have the exact same translations and dialects.)

On another note I watched Star Trek tonight and it was great. Wrapped everything nicely, loved the balance of comedy and action.

This Message Edited On 05.12.09This Message Edited On 05.12.09

marksellsuswallets
May 12th 2009



4848 Comments


Yeah I meant the translations. It seems the closer you get to the bottom, the more...umm...off the translations seem.

MassiveAttack
May 12th 2009



2684 Comments


lol yea some of them I've never actually heard before and I was around lots of Serbs and Croats when I was younger. Picnics and churches (more like liquor barrage).

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
May 12th 2009



20830 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Ok, first to the comments on the album:

Brent, 'Red Flag' is by far the most catchy song on here. That's why Billy Talent use it as their gig closer. However, there are still other catchy songs on this album... Just not as manyh as on their debut. Album is at least worth checking out when you get a chance.

Brandon, that is interesting to know and I can imagine that over-playing may have watered them down. Anything resembling punk would never be over-played in Australia, even one of our own like The Living End.

jingledeath
May 12th 2009



7104 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Great review again Davey. Better album then the debut imo

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
May 12th 2009



20830 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Glad that I could bring back some memories Marko. Swearing is always funny! Haha.

And yeah, just reading some of the awkward translations gave me a laugh. And also some of the country specific put-downs, like mentions to Hitler. Where is Tito!?!?!?

You were around a lot of Serbs & Croats when you were younger? Hmm, sounds entertaining. Did you wear a referee's outfit?

And on a timely note, I'm also going to see Star Trek tonight (if things go to plan).

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
May 12th 2009



20830 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

jingledeath, you are not alone with that opinion that this is a better album, but I don't see/hear it myself. The only thing I can think of is that the music & vocals are more restrained. I am interested if that is your reasoning...

MassiveAttack
May 12th 2009



2684 Comments


It is funny you would think with all the ethnic problems that Yugoslavia faced would be difficult. But honestly its like in America every problem in the past is put to rest in one way or another because, well we're in America and no one gives a shit. Of course because of the Balkan Wars things are extremely tense with all the Ex-Yugoslavian countries, mainly people around there despise Serbians. My best friend is a Serb, the irony of the whole thing; and if Serbia, Bosnia, and Croatia all advance to the South Africa WC it will be a huge riot. Serbia will probably win their group, Bosnia is looking good and so is Croatia.This Message Edited On 05.12.09

jingledeath
May 12th 2009



7104 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

definitely because of the vocals but when i said better i didn't mean better by much, this is probably a 3.6 and the first a 3.5

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
May 12th 2009



20830 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Well, thanks for that history lesson Marko, but I just want to know how to say "hello", "please", "thanks", "one", "two", "three" and "big mac".

And LOL re: the World Cup. Imagine Croatia & Serbia in the same group? It would be a "bring your own weapons" cage match.

Yeah jingledeath, the vocals are clearly more restrained here. There is no real "What you see is what you get" moment. Having said that, Ben's voice is still polarizing & I think many casual listeners would still be put off.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy