British Sea Power
Open Season


4.0
excellent

Review

by Senor_Whippy USER (22 Reviews)
August 2nd, 2005 | 16 replies


Release Date: 2005 | Tracklist


Some bands make you sad.Some make you happy.Some even make you throw yourself around like a piece of meat.Then there's British sea power.They may look like a bunch of Boy Scouts but they write blinding Indie Pop songs with chrouses that not even U2 could think of.Their 2003 debut 'The decline of British sea power' was a cult classic and a favourite of critics from all aspects of the media.Their stage show on the other hand was a very different story.Covering monitors in twigs and leaves and sticking huge trees all over the stage soon made them a strong fanbase what has been nicknamed 'The Thrid Battalion'.

Their first album was anthemic and lush, and insane hyper-rock, all at the same time.Opening track 'It ended on an oiley stage' is a more chilled out Pixies-ish track with guitar riffs the size of mountains and heartbreaking lyrics.

The epic Pop vibe rings all the way though this album from the mysterious 'Be Gone' to the trippy,spaced out 'Victorian Ice' and even in more filler tracks like 'Please Stand Up' there are big stadium moments that will win you over.Album closer 'True Adventures' is dramatic booming close to an even more dramatic and powerful album.

The album does have some dry moments and some songs go off the tracks a bit but when it all comes down to it you realize that British Sea Power have created one of the freshest and most original album since probably The Flaming Lips 'Yoshimi Battles The Pink Robots'.Even if they still look like a bunch of Boy Scouts.

Download:
It Ended On An Oiley Stage
Oh Larsen B
Victoria Ice

If You Like This,Try This:
The Flaming Lips-
Yoshimi Battles The Pink Robots (8/10)

British Sea Power-
The Decline Of British Sea Power (8/10)

The Thrills-
So Much For The City (9/10)



Recent reviews by this author
The Rapture EchoesArctic Monkeys Who The Fuck Are Arctic Monkeys?
Yeah Yeah Yeahs Show Your BonesThe Strokes Is This It
Kings of Leon Youth and Young ManhoodThe Prodigy Their Law:The Single 1990-2005
user ratings (38)
Chart.
3.5
great
other reviews of this album
Tokyochuchu (4)
Great guitar pop for a sunny day....


Comments:Add a Comment 
Scott Herren
August 2nd 2005


192 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This review sucked.

Senor_Whippy
August 2nd 2005


367 Comments


My review sucks!.This coming from a man who gave a Jamiroquia album 3 and a half stars.As for Constant good call on 'Stanley Road' i was thinking i was the only person who had it.But why Dido (4/5 why? she's toilet)This Message Edited On 08.02.05

Iai
Emeritus
August 2nd 2005


3553 Comments


GEE OMG THAT WAS THE BEST COMEBACK EVER k

masada
August 2nd 2005


2733 Comments


Is "lushiness" even a word?

Senor_Whippy
August 2nd 2005


367 Comments


Lushiness is a word yeah.I don't think it's the correct spelling mind.

masada
August 2nd 2005


2733 Comments


Well you could re-phrase it to say "Their first album was anthemic and lush, and insane hyper-rock, all at the same time."

Senor_Whippy
August 2nd 2005


367 Comments


Why is it at number 2 on this weeks chart?

Scott Herren
August 2nd 2005


192 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

The review sucks because it barely even reviews the album. The first paragraph is about the band and first album, the second paragraph (I use this term loosely) is about the first album. The third and fourth paragraphs are 2 or 3 sentences. This doesn't help me at all if I am looking into purchasing the album. Not to mention that they sound nothing like the Flaming Lips and the Dido album is a good album. I agree though that Jamiroquai should be a bit higher as it is a grower.

Senor_Whippy
August 9th 2005


367 Comments


Did you read the review Scott i never said that British Sea Power sounded like The Flaming Lips i said (and i've pasted this)''British Sea Power have created one of the freshest and most original album since probably The Flaming Lips 'Yoshimi Battles The Pink Robots'''.For god sake.

Scott Herren
August 9th 2005


192 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Fair enough. I guess it is feasible to suggest a band that sounds nothing like the reviewed band in your "If you liked this try this" section. I just don't understand the comparison at all.

Neoteric
October 1st 2005


3243 Comments


"
My review sucks!.This coming from a man who gave a Jamiroquia album 3 and a half stars.As for Constant good call on 'Stanley Road' i was thinking i was the only person who had it.But why Dido (4/5 why? she's toilet)"

I'm not a big personal fan of both but I reviewed them on musicianship (oh and btw this is constant's other account)

Senor_Whippy
October 1st 2005


367 Comments


I'll let you off because you're a SFA fan

Zebra
Moderator
October 1st 2005


2647 Comments


I hate to say this but your review wasn't very good, you need a lot more detail and I agree that they do not sound like the Flaming Lips.

Mad.
February 5th 2014


4218 Comments


Best 2005 thread I've seen. Shit kicked off.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy