Karnivool
Persona


3.0
good

Review

by doug USER (78 Reviews)
May 6th, 2009 | 23 replies | 13,592 views


Release Date: 2001 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Karnivool give us some of this, and a lot of that...

3 of 3 thought this review was well written

Karnivool; a band that is one of the most phenomenally talented and structurally sound in Australia. Karnivool are on the front line and deep in the trenches with The Butterfly Effect in the great Prog Rock assault Australia is giving out at the moment. Though on their debut effort Karnivool were yet to hit their straps as one of the leading bands in this genre with a mediocre EP including a few catchy hooks, but some boring stagnant sections that they were thankfully able to iron out before having the mainstream success of Themata.

The opening track ‘Fade’ is everything Karnivool has become, with a 15 second long vocal introduction, we discover right up and down, there is talent in front man Ian Kenny, this is quickly chased by crunching guitars, bass and a very raw sounding drums. The song is extremely well created with a coherent flow from start to finish, as well as introducing an element of Karnivool that was not really that common on Themata, being a heavy ‘breakdown’ interlude. Thus showing how much they changed from Persona to Themata. 'Fade' is followed by the amazingly bland ‘Da – Reka,’ meaning? Who the hell knows! This being one of the heavier songs on the album, even having Kenny screaming some backing vocals in the opening verses, the track really doesn’t extend or vary from the opening second, and continues rolling down a hill like a proverbial ball of cheese from there on. Though thankfully ‘Headcase’ evolves out of this song, even if the first couple of minutes sound like you have been sucked up by a UFO and an alien with a anal probe is encroaching, but that’s another story. Instead an intricate bass line picks this song up, and then it soars like a butterfly with an amazing vocal showing from Kenny and some lovely guitar twiddling as such, leading into an amazing chorus section that will have you humming for days.

Unfortunately then come the ending two tracks, ‘Featherweight’ and ‘Some More of the Same,’ and we are treated to two boring generic Prog Rock efforts as both of them are quite similar sounding to earlier tracks, ‘Headcase’ and ‘Da – Reka.’ Positively we are given an insight to Karnivool’s amazing technical ability, with some interesting sections of odd time signatures and clever guitar riffs, like the ending 2 minutes or so of ‘Featherweight,’ which is lead in by a gut wrenching scream from Kenny, and then fades into nothingness. Though these moments are two few as the epically long 9 minutes track ‘Some More of the Same,’ showcases. Of those 9 minutes, the final minute before the song fades out are the only minutes that you really want to engage your ear buds with, since you get the whole song with a taste of what is to come with future Karnivool, before once again the songs fades into oblivion.

In glimpses and glances we are able to see through the strong mist and see that Karnivool always had the chance to have a brilliant future. Thankfully when they went into the studio to record Themata they also could see through that mist.

Recommended Tracks:
Just download ‘Fade’ and ‘Headcase’ and all shall be fine!



Recent reviews by this author
Flume and Chet Faker LockjawThe Naked and Famous In Rolling Waves
James Blake OvergrownTaylor Swift Red
Macklemore and Ryan Lewis The HeistChet Faker Thinking in Textures
user ratings (111)
Chart.
3
good

Comments:Add a Comment 
Douglas
May 6th 2009



9049 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

This is my first review, any constructive feedback would be lovely, cheers.

Douglas
May 6th 2009



9049 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

EDIT: Obvz someone just got banned...

Douglas
May 6th 2009



9049 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Great to hear, Thanks for the feedback!

Fugue
May 6th 2009



7351 Comments


Very tidy for a first review, well done :-)

Fugue
May 6th 2009



7351 Comments


http://www.sputnikmusic.com/forums/showthread.php?t=533862

thats the aforementioned review guide if you are interested.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
May 6th 2009



20855 Comments


Dougie, it seems you are a good writer & this is a very good 1st review since the structure is excellent and the content is also pretty good. However, you must (a) re-read and (b) spell/grammar-check your reviews before posting them as there are way too many grammatical errors here. Just a few to point out:

- with a mediocre EP with a few catchy hooks (change the second 'with' to something like containing)
- but some boring stagnant section that (I presume this should be sectionS)
- right up and down their is talent (should be there)
- and a very a raw (remove extra a)
- an element of Karnivool that I was not really that common (edit to that was uncommon OR just remove the I)
- Instead a intricate (should be an).

Ok, I think that gets my point across... That you and I are 2 sepaarte people.

Seriously though, good 1st review. I mean that. We all need spell-check to help us out.

Fugue
May 6th 2009



7351 Comments



Ok, I think that gets my point across... That you and I are 2 sepaarte people.


sepaarte huh?

AtavanHalen
May 6th 2009



17927 Comments


Sepaarte are an Aboriginal tribe; show some fucking respect.

Fugue
May 6th 2009



7351 Comments


No they aren't

Douglas
May 6th 2009



9049 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Thanks for the feedback guys. When I get home tonight I shall edit, thanks.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
May 6th 2009



20855 Comments


Yes Ross, respect the didgeridoo.

Douchebag
May 6th 2009



3624 Comments


DaveyBoy I though you were Dougie? I'm so confused!
I feel sick and im blasting queens of the stone age, not a good time to get confused! lol

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
May 6th 2009



20855 Comments


Well Croc, you know how I'm "apparently" going away for 2 months. Well, I MAY turn into Dougie during that time. That should confuse even further so that you are now listening to Kings of the Stone Age.

Fugue
May 6th 2009



7351 Comments



Yes Ross, respect the didgeridoo.


why?? I'm not Aussie

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
May 6th 2009



20855 Comments


Because it's solid & hurts if hit by it. I'll hunt you down when I'm over there if you disrespect! ;-)

Fugue
May 6th 2009



7351 Comments


Haha okay whatever - new reviews up if anyone is interested.

Douglas
May 6th 2009



9049 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Dead Letter Circus will also get a run through since all assignments are completed. Thank god.

Douglas
May 6th 2009



9049 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

FIXED. I think.

Vooligan
May 7th 2009



3541 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Haha, pretty sweet first review.
If you think this was bad, you should try find their very first self titled EP, the band now deny it even exists (if anything, find a song called Box).
But i actually really like this, only track i skip is Da Reka. Headcase and Some More of the Same are the faves. Fade is also mega catchy.
Oh and on the new album, one of the Triple J dudes said this morning he was speechless after hearing it.

Douglas
May 7th 2009



9049 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Haha swell. Hearing any knews about the upcoming album is a good. In reponse to the EP, I didnt think
it was bad, just bland.




You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy