Long Distance Calling
Avoid The Light


3.5
great

Review

by Sobhi Youssef EMERITUS
May 4th, 2009 | 33 replies | 16,718 views


Release Date: 2009 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Equal parts prog- and post-rock amidst a German psychadelic framework.

Post-rock is difficult; the sub-genre is amorphous and loosely defined at best. For the sake of simplification, take a spectrum with the "Gods" at either end; that is, put God Is An Astronaut on one side and Godspeed You! Black Emperor on the other. You'll find Long Distance Calling right in the middle, with an explosive rhythm section typical of the former and lengthy crescendos courtesy of the latter. But this is only a generality. Avoid the Light is a lot more complex than at face value, not only taking cues from art- and post-rock contemporaries, but also psychadelic and progressive German-rock forebears.

"Apparitions" would have you think twice about the namesake with deceptively typical melodic picking - but stay tuned, it's well worth it. The opener culminates beautifully into some of the most technical drum-work and reverb-laced sound-walls this side of Enter and El Cielo, respectively. Russian Circles and, no surprises here, ex tour-mates Dredg are obvious influences on this long distance amalgam. But it's still difficult to firmly categorize the sound here; just when they make a convincing display of post-rock songwriting aptitude, they turn off the burners and throw it in the oven: "Black Paper Planes" and "359" are proggy, rock-and-roll anthems, while "I Know You, Stanley Milgram!" double-kicks whatever it was to pieces and puts it back together as delicately (and effectively) as any bonding agent could.

These one-dimensional offerings, and the surprisingly out of place guest performance by Katatonia's Jonas Renske (read: this sounds like a Katatonia song) are only an opening course in preparation for the main event. "Sundown Highway" assembles these dimensions together to form a truly cohesive and earth-shattering experience, while throwing out all of the ill-begotten repetition (progressive or not), comparisons, and convention. Avoid The Light's final cut climaxes into a thick, syncopated finale, whistles a complacent acoustic jangle, then fades into the sunset.

Long Distance Calling may not appear fresh or exciting at first listen, but give it a chance; this is some seriously unique and decidedly European post-rock. In a genre full of imitators, there's not much more one can ask for.



Recent reviews by this author
Nacho Picasso and Avatar Darko VampsterdamGorguts Colored Sands
Run the Jewels Run the JewelsThe-Dream IV Play
James Blake OvergrownTyler the Creator Wolf
user ratings (108)
Chart.
3.9
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
kingsoby1
Emeritus
May 4th 2009



4939 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

hey it's not a hip-hop review

Athom
Staff Reviewer
May 4th 2009



17197 Comments


this looks right up my alley. you should review that Spires album.

kingsoby1
Emeritus
May 5th 2009



4939 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

i know almost nothing about emo... i got EC to do it, hopefully.

ninjuice
May 5th 2009



6759 Comments


hey it's not a hip-hop review

Surprise of the year

Digging: Robin Skouteris - The King of ArtPOP

fireaboveicebelow
May 5th 2009



6837 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I was gonna do this dammit, but still amazing review. I can't rate this any higher as 359 and I Know You are so boring for me

jingledeath
May 5th 2009



7104 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

great review, excellent album

taylormemer
May 5th 2009



4913 Comments


Yeah, stick to hip-hop reviews cuz your typecast now.

BallsToTheWall
May 5th 2009



44164 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Nice to see this reviewed. Is good. The Nearing Grave rules.

Crimson
May 5th 2009



1935 Comments


i have their split with leech, its v good

Altmer
May 5th 2009



5652 Comments


I have to track down the Katatonia song

Minus The Flair
Emeritus
May 5th 2009



862 Comments


Yeah, this was alright but didn't do much for me. Good review anyways.

kingsoby1
Emeritus
May 5th 2009



4939 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I can definitely see more of the lighter post-rock fans not really digging this... and more of the post-metal fans jizzing. I didn't really like it much at first, but had to give the 3.5 since it was definitely something I'd come back to at least a few times. Plus "Sundown Highway" rules.

jrowa001
May 5th 2009



8750 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

i absolutely love this album. might go down to a 4 but ive listened to this many times since i got it and it i still love it

Electric City
Staff Reviewer
May 5th 2009



15727 Comments


i know almost nothing about emo... i got EC to do it, hopefully.


lol irony

should be out by the end of the week

Digging: Joyce Manor - Never Hungover Again

Meatplow
May 5th 2009



5524 Comments


sounds cool, even if the genre is stagnant like some people say I haven't fully looked it

Electric City
Staff Reviewer
May 5th 2009



15727 Comments


nearing grave is the best thing here

kingsoby1
Emeritus
May 5th 2009



4939 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

i think it's a great tune, but doesn't fit in well with the rest of the album.

Doppelganger
May 6th 2009



3124 Comments


can calling post-rock stagnant be stagnant yet

lobby
May 7th 2009



1251 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I was so excited for this when it came out...Now I am still excited but less so, after hearing a few songs...

Slimjim367
May 10th 2009



512 Comments


ive heard much about these guys
but still hesistant to move in for the kill and try them out
any convincers?



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy