Escape the Fate
This War Is Ours


2.0
poor

Review

by Super Cat USER (8 Reviews)
April 12th, 2009 | 209 replies


Release Date: 2008 | Tracklist

Review Summary: This War Is Ours falls flat on its back.

On their second studio "effort" (I put this in quotes for a reason), Escape the Fate provide us with an album that both sucks and, in a way, is more cohesive than their first album.

On "We Won't Back Down," the band displays what would be expected of them two years earlier albeit with Craig on vox instead of Ronnie. When I first heard this, I thought the entire album would be like this.
I couldn't have been more wrong.

After the glory of "We Won't Back Down" has ended, a Used-style guitar part starts the song "On To The Next One," which is basically a stereotypical emo song with some horns thrown in on the chorus. This is where the record first shows signs of being terrible.

On the third track "Ashley," the band starts to sound like The Cab, or at least what I've heard from them. I hated this song and I still do hate it with a fiery passion, mostly because when I picked this up I thought it would be a decent CD. "Something" manages to sound close to the same as its predecessor, though slightly better do to its audible bass and not quite as ridiculous chorus. "The Flood" is basically a "We Won't Back Down" part 2, but with more screaming and also some poppier moments in the chorus of the song.
"Let It Go" and "You Are So Beautiful" follow the same code of conduct as tracks 3 and 4, though "Beautiful" manages to be even worse than "Ashley," mostly due to the grammatical error in the chorus... "You are so beautiful, you are the kind of the kind of girl that has the chemicals that makesme fall in love."

After two bad and uninspired songs in a row, Escape the Fate get back on their feet with the title track (or the Guillotine Part II), which is hands down the best song on the album. If only they could duplicate its glory on the other songs.

The next song, "Ten Miles Wide," really ends up sounding like a Buckcherry song because of Josh Todd's guest appearance on it. Overall though, an okay hard rock song.

"Harder Than You Know" sounds like it was written by some no-name who writes for Disney movies, and is perhaps the most terrible song on this record. Need I say any more?
Last but not least comes "It's Just Me," which really seems like Ludo were forced to write the song for the band. It's not anything like the rest of the album and the band plays quite well on this song. It stands out and is pretty good, save for the carousel ride sounds at the end and Craig crying and mumbling.

Overall, this album has its moments but I wouldn't recommend it to anyone coming from any musical taste. If you must, download "We Won't Back Down," "The Flood," "This War Is Ours" and maybe "10 Miles Wide."

Final Score: 2/5



Recent reviews by this author
Weezer RaditudeThe Beatles The Beatles
Skillet InvincibleSkillet Awake
Faith No More Angel DustTaproot Our Long Road Home
user ratings (946)
Chart.
2.4
average
other reviews of this album
Joshua Smith (3.5)
An underrated album that is solid, but still flawed....

xNYx1992 (3.5)
Not as bad as people make it out to be.......

Zippermouth (2)
Well first of all I would like to thank ETF for posting this album on their Myspace before its rele...

Taylor Jermolajew (1.5)
Did somebody say fail?...


Comments:Add a Comment 
upagainstthewall
April 12th 2009


839 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

This reads like more of a .5 then a 2.5

A7XEric
April 13th 2009


310 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

The inclusion of flamenco guitars in the title track doesn't mean they sound like into eternity. Polar opposite bands in terms of sound.

Zippermouth
April 13th 2009


1305 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

bashing Escape the Fate on your first review... ah that brings back memories...

Captain North
April 13th 2009


6791 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I actually found this really enjoyable. The first album sucked, and this should rightly suck, but I still had fun listening to it.

TheLatestPlague
April 13th 2009


15 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

album is pretty bad, but this is a pretty childish review...see: "suckitude" etc.

endlessartix
April 13th 2009


275 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Yeah, the score should be a lot lower I know. I've changed my mind on some things. And btw, the Into Eternity comparison was more my 19 year old brother's idea than mine. Give me a break.

LiquidVelvet
April 13th 2009


628 Comments


Practically you guys are being too harsh.
As a first review, this really isn't all that bad....although it does feel kind of childish, it's a decent first.
However, I'm pretty surprised you haven't been bashed to all hell for calling these guys Emo
Cmon Sputnik, you're losing your edge!

Zippermouth
April 13th 2009


1305 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

YOU INCORRECTLY USED EMO OMG! NEG NEG NEG NEG NEG NEG NEG NEG NEG!

IndieOut
April 15th 2009


498 Comments


This album has some catchy songs like "Something" and This War is Ours. I also like the breakdown in "The Flood"

LiquidVelvet
April 15th 2009


628 Comments


YOU INCORRECTLY USED EMO OMG! NEG NEG NEG NEG NEG NEG NEG NEG NEG!

THATS the sputnik I know
:D

Undead
June 1st 2009


144 Comments


Crappy review.

Decent band. Well produced album.

I actually enjoyed the album. Fancy that?

endlessartix
June 6th 2009


275 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Hey, this would've been track by track but I would have been negged even more for that.

AtavanHalen
June 6th 2009


17927 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

God this was a bad record.

SadButTrue
June 10th 2009


17 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Im just glad they got rid of Ronnie. Man, he could not fucking sing. Every line he finished he voice would crack.

I actually like this album, but yet some songs are annoying. This War is Ours is a kick ass song!

endlessartix
June 20th 2009


275 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

I've edited this quite a bit. It's more mature and gets my point across without me sounding like Aiden Williamson *shudder.*

AaronKhera
June 24th 2009


30 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

It's a terrible album, and you've got the right idea in the review, but you haven't really explained in much detail your thoughts of the album.

EasternLight
June 24th 2009


2700 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

THIS WAR IS OURS YEAH

bloc
June 25th 2009


34992 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

that album cover is just so so stupid.

Digging: The Birthday Massacre - Superstition

atrink
Contributing Reviewer
June 25th 2009


2845 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

the album in general is stupid and what does the cover even mean


ScorpionStan
June 27th 2009


1834 Comments


these guys should win some kind of award for having so much potential, and yet somehow still being able to suck sooo bad.

for example: ETF's guitarists seem to be much more talented than Emery's guitarists, especially with their leads. however, Emery's new album owns, whereas this album blows. it's seems like even if they had the most skilled instrumentalists in the world of rock, they'd still insist on making crappy emo kid soundtracks.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy