FM Static
Dear Diary


2.0
poor

Review

by macLOFFlyn USER (4 Reviews)
April 10th, 2009 | 8 replies | 4,347 views


Release Date: 2009 | Tracklist

Review Summary: First pop punk album of the (almost) summer falls flat on its face.

When a band decides to create a concept album, it can either make the band or break the band. FM Static finds themselves doing the latter on their latest offering: <b>"Dear Diary"</b>. The album progresses with a story of a boy moving to a new town and dealing with all the drama that a teen would encounter in high school. The album is accompanied by diary entries for each song in the CD sleeve where you would typically find the lyrics.

The album is full of cliched lyrics and overused hooks (listen to "<b> The shindig</b>"). The major problem with this album is letting Trevor McNevan write the lyrics. He tries to rhyme every single word he can, which usually results in something that is extremely corny, or something any 5th grader could create.

As far as musicianship goes, this album provides nothing that we haven't heard before. Simple drum patterns and typical pop punk riffs overcrowd the album, making for a pretty boring listen. The only track that is pretty decent on this album is <b>"The Unavoidable Battle of Feeling on the Outside"</b>. Mcnevan actually succeeds in making a typical pop punk song sound inspired and tasteful.

As a whole, this is not worth the twelve dollar asking price. If you are a fan of Thousand Foot Krutch or previous FM Static albums, chances are you would like this. For the rest of you, get your pop punk fix elsewhere.

Recommended Track(s):
<b>"The Unavoidable Battle of Feeling on the Outside"</b>
<b>"Take Me As I Am"</b>


user ratings (26)
Chart.
3.2
good

Comments:Add a Comment 
macLOFFlyn
April 10th 2009


15 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

This is my first review so please leave any constructive criticism that you can.

roofi
April 10th 2009


959 Comments


since i've heard this band before i know what you're talking about, but you may want to add in a few sentences of what the band sounds like and some similar artists and all that. other than that you get your criticisms across well, just try and flesh it out a little more

i haven't heard this yet but i'm thinking it's probably pretty horrible

ninjuice
April 10th 2009


6760 Comments


I second roofi, and am guessing this is horrible just like their last two albums.

Cobbler
April 23rd 2009


2 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

To start, I have to say that the review was fairly well written. While I know part of my opinion is just personal preference, I have to say some things you wrote seem to just...mmm....fluff up the review?
To start, I have to say I do agree with you about the lyrics of "The Shindig" and I'd even say the lyrics are shaky in "Man, What'cha Doin?" The whole weird hip-hop/punk hybrid thing really doesn't work. But other than that, I would take a pretty freakin' talented fifth grader to write some of this stuff. I know that there aren't many lines that are amazing, but it isn't entirely necessary when the story behind this album flows so well. Every single song clearly progresses the story, and isn't obscure or only roughly story driven like many concept albums. It's almost hard to only listen to one song out of the album because you feel like you want the rest of the story.
And dude, if you like "The Unavoidable Battle of Feeling on the Outside" then you're looking for your typical New Found Glory song (like "My Friends Over You" which seems like it may have had its riff jacked for this song), which isn't (usually) FM Static's style.
Moving on.
About the review in general...Try including some more positive stuff, cause "The Unavoidable Battle of Feeling on the Outside" wasn't the only good thing about this album.
And to "Roofi" and "Ninjuice." You haven't heard the album...but you comment to say it's horrible...brilliant.

ninjuice
April 23rd 2009


6760 Comments


Unless you can honestly say they changed their sound for the better on this, I don't see anything wrong with our comments. Plus we offered some advice on the review.

Cobbler
April 23rd 2009


2 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

For one, there's more to the album than the sound. For two, if you said you hated the album/band, rather than saying it was terrible I wouldn't have a problem with it. And it's not that I have a problem with you commenting, so by all means give some advice, that wasn't the issue.

roofi
April 24th 2009


959 Comments


nice, the fm static fans are coming out of the woodwork!

foreverendeared
May 29th 2009


14678 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

What Are You Waiting For? was an awesome, awesome album, i think you'd probably like it roofi, but their two albums after it suck ballsack for sure (this is definitely better than critically ashamed though)



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy