The Sleeping
What It Takes


3.5
great

Review

by Ryan Williford USER (48 Reviews)
April 3rd, 2009 | 20 replies


Release Date: 2009 | Tracklist

Review Summary: The Sleeping has written a good album that will be a respectable addition to this catalog.

Long Island has been the birthplace of bands such as as Taking Back Sunday, Straylight Run, Brand New, and The Sleeping. Back in 2003, Salvatore and Cameron wanted to try something new after their time in Skycamefalling. So they created what is now known as The Sleeping. It has now been six years, and the band has just released their third full length album, What It Takes, on Victory Records. Throughout those six years the bands has shared the stage with the likes of seven label mates (including Silverstein, A Day To Remember, and Funeral For A Friend), the bands on 2006 Nintendo Fusion Tour, Senses Fail, and From Autumn To Ashes to name a few. There was some excitement surrounding the release of this album, and the two tracks posted on AP.net and the band’s MySpace caused the excitement to grow.

The album starts off with a heavier song in the form of “You’ll Be A Corpse Before Your Time”. The song features a great guitar riff and some top-notch drumming. The song then features a good guitar lead near the end. It really sets the mood for the album as it is the best of both heavy and mellow while just beginning to give the listener a great sense of what to expect from the guitars and drums. The guitarists have written some great riffs and leads and it shows as the album is almost a highlight reel of guitar parts. The drumming, on the other hand, is not as good as the guitars but is still nearby in quality.

The vocalist is the only one that drops the ball here. He is hit or miss on most of the tracks found on this album. He is absolutely amazing on “You’ll Be A Corpse Before Your Time” and the single “Bomb The World” though. On some tracks it feels like he is not in sync with the rest of the band or his voice comes off as mundane. While most of the lyrics are typical, heartbreak, homesickness, etc., they are still well written. It shows the experience of the band and shows the band still has potential and the vocals can be in sync on more of the songs.

Even with the problems with the vocals, The Sleeping has written a good album that will be a respectable addition to this catalog. It does seem that the band is sliding downhill as each album since their debut has been slightly worse than the previous. Hopefully it is just because their debut was a great album. Most of the best songs off this album are the more aggressive and/or heavier songs. Fans of The Sleeping will greatly enjoy this album, non-fans are a bit difficult to tell.

Recommended Songs: You’ll Be A Corpse Before Your Time, Bomb The World, Ripped Dress, Should Have Let Me Leave



Recent reviews by this author
Onward To Olympas This World Is Not My HomeGreeley Estates No Rain, No Rainbow
brokeNCYDE I'm Not a Fan, but the Kids Like It!Decyfer Down Crash
Arise And Ruin Night Storms HailfireDeadlock Manifesto
user ratings (47)
Chart.
3.5
great
other reviews of this album
Super Cat (4)
What It Takes definitely has what it takes....


Comments:Add a Comment 
DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
April 4th 2009


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Question: Why do you constantly put up successive reviews?

encmetalhead
April 4th 2009


744 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I had a point where i wrote like 3 a day and didn't put them up here so i'm slowly eating away at it by posting 2 a day when i can think of it

Willie
Moderator
April 4th 2009


15976 Comments


Not a good answer. Plus, it seems like you should spend a little more time working on them before posting.

Digging: Necropoli - I

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
April 4th 2009


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

To give each of the reviews the best chance of being seen by the most users, it may be of more use to you to spread them out a little... At the very least, one each day would be better than posting 2 at once.

encmetalhead
April 4th 2009


744 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Willie, I was told by a Publicist that the ideal length is near 300-400 words as no one wants to read a long review.

IRAI
April 4th 2009


1567 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

the album is pretty good.

the addition of the Theramin and keyboard player was odd at first, but it totally fits in with them after a while listening to it, and i tend to get the keyboard parts stuck in my head.


Willie
Moderator
April 4th 2009


15976 Comments


What about taking more time on them implies length? I mean there are issues with what you have here now.

I'm going to leave the whole publicist thing alone because who you choose to believe is your own thing, and there's nothing wrong with short reviews anyway.

Zippermouth
April 4th 2009


1305 Comments


I think I'll get this. Don't Hold Back is a pretty sick song.

encmetalhead
April 4th 2009


744 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I agree i should take more time, but sometimes I've had it too long where i have to rush a bit (as is the case with all these) to get it out. Next reviews i'll take a bit mroe time on them.

Willie
Moderator
April 4th 2009


15976 Comments


Why rush? Only staff has deadlines (and I use that word loosely).

thejared
April 4th 2009


199 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

There are only two good songs on the CD .. yeah it pretty much sucks

Digging: Perfume Genius - Too Bright

encmetalhead
April 5th 2009


744 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Because I'm staff at albumfreak

Willie
Moderator
April 5th 2009


15976 Comments


Ah, that makes more sense now.

encmetalhead
April 6th 2009


744 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah, Like i need to review Senica but have only listened to it twice we i try to listen to it 3 times before i even get to the review listen.

I also have 3 CDs from a smaller label I keep forgetting about. My roommate is away for a few days though so I can get some work done the next two days.

Willie
Moderator
April 6th 2009


15976 Comments


I've never heard of that website is it a small niche-site or something?

I write down thoughts and whatever the first few times I listen, but I have to write in silence. Then after the review is done I listen again and make adjustments while it's playing.

encmetalhead
April 6th 2009


744 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Me and a couple of friends started it, then the friends got too bust so it was me and one of the admins, and now it's me as it's turned into a side hobby for the other guy.

Which kinda sucks since I'm only considered staff with the software so I can't really do admin s*it even though i'm the only one doing stuff for the site and trying to promote it...whatever. and the address is www.albumfreak.net if you haven't found it out.

I mean while everyone else was "trying" to find contacts, I worked my way up by getting Warm Fuzzy and i now have:

"Current Contacts: Warm Fuzzy, Relapse Records, Victory Records, Lifeforce Records, Suburban Noize, Facedown/Strike First/Dreamt Music, Statik Factory Records, The M Collective (Decyfer Down, Mercyme), and Local and Regional Bands

Inactive Contacts: Equal Vision, Roadrunner Records "

endlessartix
June 1st 2009


275 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

I still haven't gotten this. I really need to.

endlessartix
June 6th 2009


275 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

This is pretty good...

fromtheinside
September 3rd 2009


18203 Comments


bomb the worldddddddd...

Digging: Tragedy - Vengeance

Zip
October 26th 2009


5312 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Keyboards and bass are very promising, I like this so far



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy