Kylesa
Static Tensions


4.0
excellent

Review

by WhatSayYou USER (3 Reviews)
March 30th, 2009 | 120 replies | 22,816 views


Release Date: 2009 | Tracklist

Review Summary: The shape of metal to come?

Metal, as an overall genre, is extremely difficult to pin down. Perhaps that is the purpose of the genre- to avoid the classifications that marginalized punk and commoditized grunge. Due to the ambiguity of the genre, it is a magnificent event when a band creates an album that defies all marginalization, all accusations of blandness and unoriginality that often plague metal and modern music as a whole. These albums must retain the aspects that make metal what it is: the fury, the sonic assault, and the grand instrumental showmanship. This, however, must be balanced with a creative ear for the new- that is to say, the shape of metal to come.

Kylesa have crafted ten songs that combine four decades worth of boiling anger: from the psychedelic, drug-addled musings of 60's guitar pioneers, to the groundbreaking thrash of Slayer and the sludge of Acid Bath, Kylesa leave no musical rock unturned. The opening song on Static Tensions- 'Scapegoat'- has an almost hardcore vibe, followed by a guitar-phaser fueled breakdown that adds a tension to the sonic assault. 'Unknown Awareness' furthers the psychedelic vibe of the album, with the guitars crafting patterns that swirl around the pounding, pseudo-tribal drum beat. Standout track 'Running Red' is the most obviously metal of the bunch: the group directly tribute Black Sabbath, and do so in the most fitting way possible. The guitars roar, and the song is about as catchy as metal gets. On album closer 'To Walk Alone', the band seems to go beyond a wall of sound, almost fusing with a music in a way usually reserved for post-rock bands. The guitars reach for the sky, and the drums drag them back down. Somewhere in the chaos, a voice reverberates like a yell during a hurricane. The voice isn't in vain; it is in fact somewhat necessary to prove that life is still here, that the musicians are in fact separate from the music.

This album is, first of all, metal. It is unmercifully heavy, with the practically zero filler or unnecessary tracks. The brutality is fused with an unmistakable confidence, as if the band knew they were creating something to be admired. The down-tuned guitars, the shimmering cymbals: every sound seems to be part of a greater whole, wrapping decades of music around the rusty spike of modern- or what is to become modern- metal. Along with fellow Georgia natives Mastodon, Kylesa have crafted one of the metal albums to beat this year.


user ratings (471)
Chart.
3.8
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
KYZAR
March 30th 2009


513 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I was going to review this you whore! o whell now i dotn have to... i really like this though...

spoon_of_grimbo
March 30th 2009


2241 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

welcome to sputnik! this is a pretty awesome first review, although i'd recommend maybe going into a little bit more detail about the band's sound - maybe mention the contrasting male/female vocals and the fact that they've got two drummers. otherwise, this is a promising start!

i actually picked this album up earlier this week and it's REET good!



kingsoby1
Emeritus
March 30th 2009


4950 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

album is solid for sure... probably their best.

WhatSayYou
March 30th 2009


16 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks for the pointers. And yeah this album definitely owns.

TrojanWhore
March 30th 2009


752 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I thought this was going to be a good album, must acquire it soon.

kingsoby1
Emeritus
March 30th 2009


4950 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

just wanted to say also... this reminds me of torche's meanderthal a lot.

gaslightanthem
March 30th 2009


5209 Comments


but better?

kingsoby1
Emeritus
March 30th 2009


4950 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

prob about the same... maybe a little bit better, and by that, i mean like 1 or 2 points out of 100.

edit: wow the recommendations aren't similar to this album at all.

This Message Edited On 03.30.09

gaslightanthem
March 30th 2009


5209 Comments


you should rec zoroaster mr reviewer

jrowa001
March 30th 2009


8750 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

album is pretty awesome and i like it a lot more than their previous album

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
March 30th 2009


8357 Comments


don't get it why this has a neg, a solid 1-st review!

JAV
March 30th 2009


1936 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I was hoping they could make a worthy follow up to Time Will Fuse Its Worth.
Still gotta finish my review for that one...

Wizard
March 30th 2009


19389 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Welcome to Sputnik. Hope you stick around for a while because this review is seriously well written. Perfect descritions too. Glad they stepped it up from their last album (which was ok, I guess). To Walk a Middle Course is insanely good!

Digging: Mistigo Varggoth Darkestra - The Key to the Gates of the Apocalypse

mynameischan
Staff Reviewer
March 30th 2009


17920 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

sick album

Wizard
March 30th 2009


19389 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Siq?

rasputin
March 30th 2009


14544 Comments


yeah the album is pretty good, haven't decided on a rating but it's probably around a 3.5

Nauseum
March 31st 2009


160 Comments


Well worded, just needs a bit more detail. Killer review still, though. Gotta check this album out.

no propellers
March 31st 2009


5 Comments


quite a few of these new experimental metal acts use a lot of buddhist terminology for names. although they spell it differently than what i'm used to. Dysrythmia has also done it a time or two

Altmer
March 31st 2009


5652 Comments


is this better than to walk a middle course between awful and godawful

Phantom
March 31st 2009


8930 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This is solid. Really liking Insomnia For Months right now.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy