Cymbals Eat Guitars
Why There Are Mountains


4.5
superb

Review

by Kiran EMERITUS
March 21st, 2009 | 180 replies | 21,162 views


Release Date: 2009 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Indie rock gets a strong shove in the right direction with this tremendous debut album.

In a slew of outrageous claims, hype, and hyperbole there’s usually some truth behind the force of the Internet's blog machine. Staten Island-based Cymbals Eat Guitars are the latest act to be consumed by the exhaustive succubus of what it means to be a 'hyped band' but Why There Are Mountains is a record that stacks up against its doubters.

For a band that has been immediately likened to Pavement and Built to Spill, it’s surprising that whilst they draw their most significant comparisons to sources that have shown up on every indie rock band's Myspace ‘influences’ list, they manage to create a sound quite unlike any of their forebearers. This isn’t just a throwback to the indie rock giants of the 90s; Cymbals Eat Guitars are blowing the dust off a genre that has been growing steadily more stagnant since. Delightfully melodic hooks can just as quickly be turned into sweeping moments of chaos and beautifully disorienting clashes of noise are just as easily silenced for a moment of soft piano crooning, displayed in the latter half of album closer “Like Blood Does.”

If this isn’t the debut album of the year, it’s going to take a pretty bold effort to top what Cymbals Eat Guitars have created. Don't sleep on this one. Put your re-issued, deluxe version of Crooked Rain, Crooked Rain to the side. Your Built To Spill discography can wait. Open the damaged part of your heart that couldn't handle a world with a bad Modest Mouse album. There is hope here, and it is gleaming.



Recent reviews by this author
Unknown Mortal Orchestra IIBeirut The Rip Tide
Alex Turner Submarine OSTClive Tanaka y Su Orquesta Jet Set Siempre No. 1
Robyn Body TalkThe Concretes WYWH
user ratings (304)
Chart.
3.8
excellent
other reviews of this album
tollanddrummer (5)
Cymbals Eat Guitars have managed to create one of the best indie rock debut albums in the past decad...


Comments:Add a Comment 
Kiran
Emeritus
March 21st 2009



6000 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yeeeaaa

Digging: Spoon - They Want My Soul

mynameischan
Staff Reviewer
March 21st 2009



17920 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

second to lsat sentence is best

Kiran
Emeritus
March 21st 2009



6000 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

thanks. i think you'd like this.

StreetlightRock
Emeritus
March 21st 2009



3762 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

:hi5: dude, well written and this really is great.

Digging: Towers - Bel Air Highrise Plantation

KritikalMotion
March 21st 2009



2261 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

D:

good review

Electric City
Staff Reviewer
March 21st 2009



15727 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

alright lets see here

Digging: Alvvays - Alvvays

Kiran
Emeritus
March 21st 2009



6000 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

so good

Minus The Flair
Emeritus
March 21st 2009



862 Comments


Review has me very, very interested. Really nicely written. Will be checking this out for sure.

astrel
March 21st 2009



2614 Comments


I don't really like this very much. *sad faic*

Athom
Staff Reviewer
March 21st 2009



17200 Comments


Holy crap this is amazing.

DFelon204409
Emeritus
March 21st 2009



3995 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Ya this album is really good.

Kiran
Emeritus
March 21st 2009



6000 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

astrel
more people need to jump on this bandwagon.

thebhoy
Emeritus
March 21st 2009



4459 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

these guys are pretty wicked cool.

natey
March 21st 2009



4170 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

response is getting me excited.

IsItLuck?
Emeritus
March 21st 2009



4926 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

swooooooop

Digging: Joyce Manor - Never Hungover Again

Minus The Flair
Emeritus
March 22nd 2009



862 Comments


Yeah this is pretty great, not sure if I'd rate it this highly though. Noice one Kirgasm.

Kiran
Emeritus
March 22nd 2009



6000 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Heh, yeah, looks like I'm enjoying this a bit more than everyone else, but hey, at least everyone seems to agree this is solid. :D

natey
March 22nd 2009



4170 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"Share" is making this album come alive for me

natey
March 22nd 2009



4170 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Also "What Dogs See" is amazing

BlackMarketReview
March 24th 2009



157 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

NEVER HEARD OF THEM BUT LIKE I READ ABOVE THE SECOND TO LAST LINE IN THE REVIEW IS WHAT IS GETTING ME TO GO LISTEN TO THIE RIGHT NOW....



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy