16
Bridges to Burn


4.0
excellent

Review

by KYZAR USER (9 Reviews)
March 12th, 2009 | 16 replies | 5,786 views


Release Date: 2009 | Tracklist

Review Summary: 16 are back... and it's loud...

Despite what Sputnik music says, 16 have been sporadically been releasing EPs for the course of their sixteen year existence, The last being 2002's Zoloft Smile, and after that I had thought that they faded away, never to sludge again. Well on the sixteenth anniversary of the band Chris Jerue (vocals), Bobby Ferry (guitar), Tony Baumeister (bass), and Jason Corley (drums) re-invigorated the band and through Relapse records (who else) released their first full length album Bridges to Burn.

Bridges is basically about how awful and unfortunate life can be, and on a semi-serious note while the vocals are well done (more on that later) you should not listen to this if you are suicidal. As usual for any 16 release the lyrics are very depressing, Chris Jerue is constantly shouting “throw in the towel!!!” or “It doesn't mater!” which can make this depressing as it never really lets up. However this not really a deterrent and most every aspect is done to great success.

For the most part the guitars on Bridges are typical, tuned downed and sludgy, but with some twists thrown in. For one there are solos, which kick huge amounts of ass, and there is some faster tempo songs like "You Let Me Down (Again)" which adds a bit of variety to the usual (glorious) drone of the slow, massive riffs. Did I not mention those? Well Bridges is packed with skull-crushingly heavy riffs all done at a moderate pace and all make my neck sore from head banging.

The drums are good and do enough to keep tempo and add great cymbal work to the sonic scape, occasionally Jason Corley will do a creative drum fill here and there to mix it up a bit. Chris Jerue's vocals are very good throughout Bridges, his yell is raspy, delivered with maximum anger and loudness, and is done to great effect, while never becoming overbearing. He fits the music very well. Bassist Tony Baumeister when heard adds a great bass melodies to fill out the already full sound even further. His intro to “Monday Bloody Monday” is, for lack of a better word, sludge-rific.

Bridges may be good technically, but it does have some problems. For instance, all of the songs are good, but most suffer by not being too memorable and some sound like another' like “Flake” and “Permanent Good One”. However not all suffer from this and there are a few standout tracks like, “Throw in the Towel”, “Skin and Bones”, “Monday Bloody Monday”, “You Let Me Down (Again), and “Thorn in Your Side.”

A quick note about the production, it is surprisingly clean for a sludge album which works as it showcases each band members abilities.

I really hope that 16 continues to put out new material because this is really good and I hope that they don't just fade away again until their next revival. If you are a fan of sludge metal promptly stop reading this review and go get it, its well performed, fun to listen to and overall it is a great comeback from a band that many thought had called it quits.



Recent reviews by this author
Naked City Torture GardenRiff Cannon Demo
Baroness SecondBaroness First
Mindsnare Disturb the HiveMunicipal Waste Hazardous Mutation
user ratings (20)
Chart.
3.4
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
KYZAR
March 12th 2009



513 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i really like the album artwork for this.

anyways thought someone would have reviewed it.

mynameischan
Staff Reviewer
March 12th 2009



17920 Comments


first sentence, course

SnackaryBinx
March 12th 2009



2309 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

the solos on this album are pretty sweet.

KYZAR
March 12th 2009



513 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"corse" whoops spelling

This Message Edited On 03.12.09

Tyler
Emeritus
March 12th 2009



7928 Comments


awkward way to open a review

KYZAR
March 12th 2009



513 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

did some editing to 1st paragraph

Burn2Burn
March 13th 2009



2378 Comments


This review is unreadable.

Zippermouth
March 13th 2009



1305 Comments


Hold up, they've been around for 16 years and this is their first full-length album? Damn.

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
March 13th 2009



8318 Comments


the review is well....interesting. On the one hand, you make good descriptions, but on the other, like Burn2Burn said, this is really hard to read. Is english not your first language too?

Zippermouth
March 14th 2009



1305 Comments


"Is english not your first language too?"
Looking for buddies?





Wizard
March 14th 2009



19223 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Despite what Sputnik music says, 16 have been sporadically been releasing EPs for the course of their sixteen year existence

Take this line out. Besides Sputnik, no on will ever know where the hell you're coming from.

The drums are good and do enough to keep tempo and add great cymbal work to the sonic scape, occasionally Jason Corley will do a creative drum fill here and there to mix it up a bit.


It seems that you have alot of these fragmented sentences/ ideas in your review. I understand what it's like to have 15 ideas coming at you all at once and the need to type them in before you forget. My suggestion to help solve this problem is to jot down point form, what your ideas are going to be about in each paragraph and then begin typing your ideas out into coherent sentences.

About your ideas themselves, you were very descript and pretty bang on about the feel of this album.


Digging: Monarch - Sabbracadaver

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
March 14th 2009



8318 Comments


To Zipper:
Yes i'm terribly desperate. BUt no, seriously it's just that he also commented in my Malefice review about that he is impressed by my english if its not my first language. Just looking to know if that's the case with him too, since some sentences are very hard to read.This Message Edited On 03.14.09

chewytapeworm
March 14th 2009



492 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This album is freaking awesome! Review could be better.

"for lack of a better word, sludge-rific."

lol.

This Message Edited On 03.14.09

Bleekill
August 14th 2009



832 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

The vocals are boring and lack any punch. The lyrics are painfully generic "I hate my life" shit. There are some cool riffs here and there but that's about it. I would much much rather listen to some Eyehategod, Weedeater, Buzzoven, Cavity or Black Cobra. There are so many other quality sludge bands out there and this band does nothing to stand out other than have horrid lyrics and boring vocals.

Urinetrouble
April 28th 2010



5754 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

all of their albums are amazing

Urinetrouble
December 14th 2010



5754 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

full of sludgy badassery goodness



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy