The-Dream
Love vs. Money


3.5
great

Review

by Terron Moore USER (15 Reviews)
March 11th, 2009 | 13 replies


Release Date: 2009 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Dirty, dirty space sex. Lots.

It would certainly seem like love battles cash on The-Dream's sophomore album, but don't be misled- it's the out-of-control sex that runs rampant. Seems like the guy brought to fame for penning the smash "Umbrella" had just one thing on his mind the whole time. And while his first album was all about making babies as well, this time things are taken to infinity and beyond: almost every song is packed with space-synth and echoing drums.

Dream isn't the most diverse singer in the world, but he's definitely one of the more unique, and outside of that, his musicality is excellent. A large part of the album is filled with slow jams about one thing. Some work: "Put It Down" and "Sweat It Out" are both solid tracks that (ahem) satisfy you, and "Kelly's 12 Play" is a great play off of a classic R&B album. But the formula gets old, fast: While "Right Side Of My Brain" and "Take You Home 2 My Mama" are passable, "Mr. Yeah" is readily forgettable, and "Fancy" drags in the worst way.

There's some standout tracks, though: with songs like "Rockin' That ***" and "Walkin' On The Moon" he knows just how to show off an incredible production as well as solid vocals: both feature little to no singing on the chorus and yet still work, with Kanye contributing on the latter. "My Love" is formulaic but will win you over, thanks to Mariah Carey. The one-two title track "Love Vs. Money" is the home run here though; he loses his girl to a guy who doesn't just spend cash on her, and he's pissed about it: the space-beat is on edge, the drums hit like machine guns and where part of it drowns in misery ("he took my heart from me / he took my soul"), the other part is madman status, the chorus filled with strange cackling ("ah-hey-yeah, hey-yeah!"). "Let Me See The Booty" ends the album right, with a dirty space crunk feel to it, and for once Lil' Jon isn't too intrusive.

There may not be enough diversity here: there's not too much to dance to, and it's not the fair battle the title would lead you to believe. Arguably, an album with the large majority of tracks about the same thing is questionable- but as far as baby-making music goes, Dream succeeds in cutting right to the chase.



Recent reviews by this author
Jay-Z and Kanye West Watch the ThroneTimbaland Timbaland Presents Shock Value II
Chris Brown GraffitiRihanna Rated R
Ciara Fantasy RideAsher Roth Asleep In The Bread Aisle
user ratings (49)
Chart.
3.8
excellent
related reviews

IV Play

Love Hate

Comments:Add a Comment 
bastard
March 11th 2009


3435 Comments


i thought about listening to this, but meh.

good review, i migth check it out now.

ruby red
March 19th 2009


18 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

i havent got to give it a good listening to but good review!

Darkman1
April 24th 2009


48 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

This album is a classic....deserves atleast a 4.5 dude

If u gave it a 3.5..its only cauz you dig the 'mainstream' same ol RnB crap all over the radio..
This is literally a music revolution

But u discussed the prominent features well..good job

NewYorkZoo
April 25th 2009


95 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

i'm going to hate myself for even admitting this... but i've been listening to the album more and more especially recently. and i honestly feel like i didnt give it enough time! it's at least a 4 if not more, and i didnt give it enough credit. it is a really, really solid album.

although i stand strong on the fact that i'm not entirely a 'mainstream RnB crap' lover. gonna defend myself there.

supercooper
March 29th 2010


145 Comments


the dream is my guilty pleasure, i think he's the best RnB artist by a mile. Falsetto, while not on this album is one of my favorite songs ever. good review, i don't understand why this guy doesn't get more credit.

MUNGOLOID
June 22nd 2010


4333 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Amazing album.

supercooper
June 23rd 2010


145 Comments


indeed.

robertsona
Staff Reviewer
September 24th 2010


15050 Comments


this dude's songs are constantly split between really chill and awesome and relaly annoying

explosionsinmyeye
January 20th 2011


51 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

One of my favorite R&B artists as of late. This album has so many hits, but also a few misses. Overall, a great CD for some late night sexy time with your lady, haha.

robertsona
Staff Reviewer
August 24th 2011


15050 Comments


not sure what the reviewer here was talking about, "fancy" is awesome

i sorta dig this, not sure how much

gabethepiratesquid
November 30th 2011


4521 Comments


This is so good chopped and screwed.
so good.

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
December 10th 2011


50500 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This fucking rules

DrJokke
February 8th 2013


6 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Love Vs. Money is definitely a classic in my humble opinion. I just love how The-Dream can produce such a varied album (production wise - all songs are about love). The singles from the album are remarkable, catchy and fun to listen to.

However the album is not just all flashy singles, which is proved by the atmospheric "Fancy" and "Mr. Yeah".

Personally I love how Mr. Yeah turns into a really soft ballad mainly driven by strings and pianos, which is why I disagree with the reviewer implying "Mr. Yeah" being forgettable.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy