Coalesce
0:12 Revolution in Just Listening


4.5
superb

Review

by Adam Thomas STAFF
March 10th, 2009 | 48 replies | 16,046 views


Release Date: 1999 | Tracklist

Review Summary: This will kick your ass.

1999 was a defining year for Metalcore. The Dillinger Escape Plan were pushing its technical limits with Calculating Infinity, Poison the Well were delving in to the melodic side of things with The Opposite of December, and Botch pretty much laid out the template for the next decade of the genre with their magnum opus We Are the Romans. That same year, Kansas City's Coalesce released their swansong, 0:12 Revolution In Just Listening on Relapse Records.

0:12 Revolution In Just Listening is the most cripplingly heavy 23 minutes ever graced with the “core” tag. Throughout the decade after its release, 0:12 spawned legions of imitators in bands like A Life Once Lost, Every Time I Die, and the Red Chord, neither one able to capture the schizophrenic mixture of ass-whooping brutality and eye popping technicality as the original. As soon as you press play, the album's opener “What Happens on the Road Always Comes Home” hits you like a ton of bricks. It's jagged, blisteringly fast fretboard runs cave in to an unrelenting, head banging inducing, monster of a groove. On top of it, Sean Ingram steals the show as he rips his vocal chords to shreds in the performance of a lifetime. An audio sample of children bridges “What Happens on the Road...” to “Cowards.com” as it continues the aural assault with its crushing mash up of Meshuggah style chug and jumpy Deadguy-esque tech.

As 0:12 progresses, so does the music. “While The Jackass Operation Spins It's Wheels” infuses a healthy dose of quick fire guitar runs that would feel at home on the Dillinger Escape Plan's Calculating Infinity into the Coalesce formula, creating a beautiful blend of forceful dissonance and precise skill. “Jesus in the Year 2000/Next on the Shit List” opens up with a smörgåsbord of audio samples that lull you in right before the full force of everything that is Coalesce is unleashed on your poor little eardrums. With James Dewee's skillful drumming acting as an anchor to the sledgehammer riffing and Sean Ingram's skin-shredding vocal performance, “Jesus in the Year 2000”, like 0:12 itself, is a Metalcore classic.

Coalesce's 0:12 Revolution in Just Listening is the definition of intense. It's furious blend of bludgeoning groove and scalpel-like precision makes it a landmark album not only for the genre of Metalcore, but for heavy music in general.



Recent reviews by this author
United Nations The Next Four YearsMatter Teraphim
The Hotelier Home, Like NoPlace Is ThereOwls Two
Taking Back Sunday Happiness IsGridLink Longhena
user ratings (216)
Chart.
4
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
gaslightanthem
March 10th 2009



5209 Comments


coalesce kick some serious ass, good review mang

Athom
Staff Reviewer
March 10th 2009



17204 Comments


thanks. more people need to hear this.

Relinquished
March 10th 2009



24878 Comments


This album jumpstarted my mind when I first heard it. I can't wait 'til they release Ox. Good review, dude.

mynameischan
Staff Reviewer
March 10th 2009



17920 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

sick band, all their albums are quality

DBlitz
March 10th 2009



1690 Comments


yea this is probably their best

Wizard
March 10th 2009



19304 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

YES. Excellent review and one of the best metalcore albums ever. They make Converge look like pussies hahaha.

Go and get the Relapse Records re-release of this classic album. Worth the money!

Digging: Downer - Downer

mynameischan
Staff Reviewer
March 10th 2009



17920 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i've been meaning to get the LP for like 8 months now ugh

xequalscore
March 10th 2009



437 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Good review. Namedropping Deadguy is always good. I prefer Functioning on Impatience though.This Message Edited On 03.11.09

Athom
Staff Reviewer
March 12th 2009



17204 Comments


Functioning is excellent as well, "A Disgust for Details" is massive.

Wizard
March 14th 2009



19304 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Just listening to this today and realizing its awesomeness again.

Athom
Staff Reviewer
April 6th 2009



17204 Comments


excited as hell for Ox

Cavenaghi
May 30th 2009



2 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

fucking awesome album, still going hard.

Inveigh
January 7th 2010



24863 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Wow, I picked this up today and I'm literally blown away. Now I understand why a few people on this site are constantly telling me I need to listen to this. I've only listened to a couple songs on youtube before today and the quality always kinda sucked... wish I would have gotten an actual album sooner.

Anyways, this review's awesome man (speaking of which, who neg'd this?) -- your rhetoric's super descriptive and not in a masturbatory way; it actually describes the record perfectly. This might have just rocketed into my top 10 of metalcore after one listen.

Digging: YOB - Clearing The Path To Ascend

SteelErectedb4you8er
January 8th 2010



2616 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Inveigh, yeah, this album is excellent. I remember picking this up on a whim a long time ago. I just thought the album title was awesome and when I heard the first song, I was in love. Coalesce is so awesome, and it feels good to have them back again.

Inveigh
January 8th 2010



24863 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah man as soon as that first song came on I was hooked. The main riff won't get out of my head -- I need to pick up Ox STAT.

JAV
March 13th 2010



1923 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Definitely up to the standards I expect from them. Does so much in just 23 minutes.

Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
March 13th 2010



20749 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I really should check this out.

Digging: Fallujah - The Flesh Prevails

Edwin
April 23rd 2010



1399 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Horrah, my rating lifted this up a tenth. My work here is done. Killer album.

Inveigh
April 23rd 2010



24863 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

hell yea it is. I knew from the first song that I would fall in love with this.

JAV
April 23rd 2010



1923 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

It's so damned easy to be you, it's so easy to be a coward with no name.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy