Tombs
Winter Hours


4.0
excellent

Review

by Karl V.H. USER (81 Reviews)
March 6th, 2009 | 25 replies | 10,876 views


Release Date: 2009 | Tracklist

Review Summary: You would swear this is Neurosis at times, but Winter Hours is full of nifty, little surprises as well.

3 of 3 thought this review was well written

“All aboard the Relapse Records train, picking up as many Neurosis soundalikes as possible”, is what I would be spouting if it weren’t for Tombs latest assault on the ears. Fortunately, Winter Hours brings much more to the table than my statement would lead you to believe. Relapse Records has been stunning the metal community with its seemingly endless list of artists on the edge of outdoing most of their counterparts in the genre. Add Tombs to this ever growing list of artists on the label and also add Winter Hours to your “best of” for 2009 as well.

Incorporating and amalgamating more genres than I can count, Winter Hours in many ways represents the face of metal today. No one has to take a close look at the large number of bands today to realize that most metal bands on the scene are absolute genre shape-shifters of sorts. Tombs follows this trend with open arms, but instead makes everything feel fresh again (even their Neurosis impersonations). Earth splitting riffs, noisy post metal interludes, intense moments of black metal and hardcore are rarely utilized this well and songs such as ‘Golden Eyes’, ‘Merrimack’ and ‘Filled With Secrets’ capitalize on using these elements to create some of the most memorable moments of any new metal bands as of recently (Withered comes to mind but don’t quite pull it off as pristine as these guys). Vocally, Mike Hill (also performing all guitars and production on this album) powerfully belts out in his best hardcore voice while also dipping a bit into the Aaron Turner gruff vocals of Isis. Winter Hours is also lyrically bleak with poetry about the end of days, nightmares, and the reality of death that wholly completes the music/ album.

Tombs self-titled album (2007) tinkered with post-hardcore and Winter Hours finds the band taking well-aged ideas and building strongly on what has already been done before. Registering in at a mere 37 minutes, this is blackened-post metal that someone not too fond of the genres can swallow easily. Nothing overplays here; everything is memorable right down to the last second and I couldn’t have it any other way considering you’re smashing head first into great ideas that have been toyed with before. Winter Hours will tide over fans of Neurosis until the mighty godfathers of post metal drop another atom bomb on the world.



Recent reviews by this author
Horseback Piedmont ApocryphaCarcass Surgical Steel
Body Stuff Body StuffShining One One One
HellHammer Demon EntrailsDysrhythmia Test Of Submission
user ratings (64)
Chart.
3.6
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
Wizard
March 6th 2009



18793 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Another resubmit.

Digging: Triptykon - Melana Chasmata

KYZAR
March 6th 2009



513 Comments


yup. Still want to get this.

Wizard
March 11th 2009



18793 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Album is still intense.

Phantom
March 11th 2009



8930 Comments


These guys are featured in the most recent edition of Terrorizer. I'm getting more and more intrigued so I will deifnitely have to check this.

Nice review too.

Wizard
March 30th 2009



18793 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thank you Phantom. Excellent album if I might say so.

FistfulOfSteel
April 9th 2009



894 Comments


seeing these guys with pelican and isis at the beginning of june, so pumped

jingledeath
April 9th 2009



7104 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

forgot about this, definitely getting asap

Wizard
April 9th 2009



18793 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

seeing these guys with pelican and isis at the beginning of june, so pumped

Fuck, I'm so jealous.

Jingle, you will most likely love this hahaha.

jingledeath
April 11th 2009



7104 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

wadya know, i do love this

Wizard
April 11th 2009



18793 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

The first two songs off this album are everything I love about metal; post metal lean of "Gossamer" and black metal gold of "Golden Eyes".

FistfulOfSteel
April 12th 2009



894 Comments


wiz, i thought you were from the GTA amirite? the show is at the phoenix on june 7, im sure youd be able to make it out, tix are like 17 bucks. epic showThis Message Edited On 04.11.09

TricksterGRex
April 12th 2009



2087 Comments


Oh shit Pelican and Tombs are supporting? That's gonna rule.

Wizard
April 12th 2009



18793 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

wiz, i thought you were from the GTA amirite? the show is at the phoenix on june 7, im sure youd be able to make it out, tix are like 17 bucks. epic show

I was living right next store (in Ajax) and I recently quit my job and moved back to London. I will most likely try and make it down to that show. Pelican doesn't really interest me on disc but I'm sure they would kill it live.

JAV
November 25th 2009



1884 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Oh hello album stream.
http://winterhours.info/

Bleekill
April 25th 2010



832 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Just dropping by to talk about how goddamn underrated this band is.

I've seen them with Isis once and with Kylesa once, both times were amazing. I keep coming back to this album, I can't wait to hear new stuff.

SteelErectedb4you8er
April 25th 2010



2612 Comments


Yeah, this album is killer. And they are underrated.

Photon
June 13th 2010



1288 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Excellent .Review and album that is

Digging: Pink Floyd - The Final Cut

Wizard
February 1st 2011



18793 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Whole album is fantastic.

stabbler
November 30th 2011



1413 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

this is a very good album...drummer is pretty sick live.

evilford
August 21st 2012



20024 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

such a good album



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy